We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week - not quite 4 star”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One week - not quite 4 star”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I hope this is an honest review that highlights the good and the bad. I have just returned from a one week stay in a double room with my three year old daughter, with sea view and request to be away from club pura. Well started rocky as the first night on the 8th floor we discovered with overlooked the club and had mentioned in the beginning at reception we clearly wanted to be away from that. The staff changed us to the back of the hotel overlooking carpark, playground and part sea view so it was quiet at least. The rooms are very clean but this is clearly not 4 star standard as the rooms are old and tired looking. Cleaning was done each day but could be 4 p.m. by the time they cleaned the room! Next time I would stay as a family in the family, junior suite as the double is more suited to a couple and no more. Balcony I never used as we ended up on the 9th floor and it was scary with a three year old so locked it at all times.
On a positive note, breakfast is good, dinner has plenty of choice for half boarders and service good. Staff especially Sarah and Nuno (who had good english) were helpful and the rest had poor english so didnt really help that much. The childrens pool area was lovely and grass landscaped areas but the large pool section, the pool guys dont set you up with your beds or unbrellas nor do the come and serve drinks so if you are looking for a real customer service around the pool for your holiday this is not going to happen in this hotel. The pool bar closes at 530 sharp! OVerall I had a great holiday but it wasnt because of this hotel, it was more the people I met and Villamoura is just lovely within walking distance so location of the hotel is great. There is also a train that you can get with your children for round trip of one hour outside the hotel and it takes you around Villamoura, worth doing. Zoomarine is a must do with small children over the water parks who has slides that are too large for toddlers. Hope this helps all.

Room Tip: Rooms for quieter and good sleep, back of hotel away from Club Pura
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    685
    254
    56
    28
See reviews for
443
657
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends at the beginning of June. We had a short wait when we arrived, because there were several other people checking in, but the staff were very pleasant and dealt with the queue as quickly as possible. The hotel was generally very busy at breakfast time but there was no problem getting a table and the hot buffet was constantly refilled. We also enjoyed an evening meal here and this was good value for money. We enjoyed the food which was hot, varied and plentiful.
During the day there were plenty of sun beds available and we used the pool bar for lunch where again the service was good and very friendly.
The only problem that I had with my stay was the lack of a balcony. The room itself was large, clean and comfortable but having no outside space to sit was a real disappointment.
The hotel is in a good position and I would recommend this hotel …but only if you upgrade the room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WirralAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel very clean and staff friendly and helpful especially Patricia on the desk and the deputy manager his name I cannot recall.
Food
Breakfast is good except the cereals are exceptionally poor.
Evening meals well I would say just okay - could be warmer.
Entertainment
Not worth staying in to see as what is offered is very poor and guests with children use the small area to dance and play in order that parents can enjoy a drink. Advise to go to the Marina with everything on offer which is a stroll away which is a great asset to this hotels location.

Room Tip: Choose a Sea view this is well worth it as you can also see the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just been for a week at this Hotel during the May Half Term Week with my wife, daughter and Mother-in-law and partner. We had a Junior Suite which was massive with 2 single beds, camp bed and a sofa-bed. Hotel is clean and well maintained and is ideally placed for the beach which is 30 meters from the front doors, and the marina is less than 300 meters away. Food choice and quality is excellent and the Staff are friendly and welcoming, especially Sarah on reception and Hugo in the dinning room. We were all very sad to leave and plan to go back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are Sea front facing and a massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve_collins1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed with a party of 12 for a golf society trip playing at 4 local courses. The standard rooms are basic and on the small side but fine for 2 golfers and their limited luggage and golf gear. Amenities in the room amount to en-suite with bath and shower, a small fridge, a couple of mains sockets and a flat screen TV. Aircon is FOC but not very effective, there is no tea/coffee or kettle etc. and use of the safe costs €2.50 per day. No real surprises either way.
Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. I use an ice pack every morning on my back muscles and after a little bit of explanation they were happy to put my ice pack in the freezer every evening and provide it in the morning via room service - we ordered coffee at the same time so that they got some return for their kindness. Excellent service.
Breakfast was good with a great assortment and plenty of it. No problems with over crowding. The indoor pool, sauna etc. were also very good with the exception of the jacuzzi which was out of order.
All in all, a good place to stay with friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guitarman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just like to say my family would definetly stay at this hotel again. We spent 2 weeks there at the end of April and we loved it. We booked a suite for the 3 of us which was huge and had a lovely view. Breakfast was varied and the staff were very nice. Hotel was spotless and the pool area was very well kept. Kids pool was great surrounded by grass which was safe for all concerned, unfortunetly wasnt heated. Only real complaint was the noise from Pura beach club next door but it wasnt every night but id say high season could be a problem. Overall would reccommend this hotel. Also they sell lovely wine at reception at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: Get a suite away from the beach club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1972graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. antrim
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to this hotel at the end of May for 7 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Its a lovely hotel. Would recommend to upgrade to a seaview room. The view is breathtaking from balcony. The staff in hotel are very friendly. The breakfast was five star plenty of choice. There are plenty of sunbeds. This was our first time at this hotel and would stay in it again. However my main concern would be when you go out to the main entrance there is a small road to the left of the hotel. Please avoid this road at night-time because my husband and I were confronted by muggers with a knife looking for money only they were disturbed by a car thankfully they were startled and ran off. This was a horrible experience and would hate for anyone else to experience this. We reported it to reception who phoned Police. They came out very quickly. This is when we learned it happened to another couple two weeks prior to us but they succeeded in robbing the other couple. This incident would not put us off going back it would make us more aware.

Room Tip: Definately upgrade to a seaview room its breathtaking from the balcony!! We were on the 5th floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sangriacoantrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing