We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid March - Great hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my partner booked a few nights away and choose Villamoura. The hotel was lovely, clean and a great location with it being on the beach and minutes from the Marina. Unfortunately the weather wasn't so great so I would avoid March as your holiday month. Breakfast was great and the spa area was a good way to chill out. I would return to this hotel and could imagine it being very busy in the summer as it is a huge hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CherrieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were delighted by our whole stay at the Ampalius, sister hotel to the Vila Gale Marina which we have stayed in twice before. The staff welcomed us on arrival after using the Green Bus Resort Hoppa for a transfer from Faro to Vilamoura (only £18 Euros for 2 of us return trip and very efficient).

We used our Avios Air miles to book this 5 night trip and asked for a double room with sea view, we were allocated a 6th floor room with large balcony overlooking the sea. The room was large, with a kitchenette and two twin beds, flat screen TV, table and chairs very clean and beautiful furnishings.

There was no noise from the Casino, only the sea which could still be heard with windows and curtains drawn. A safe in the room was an optional 2.5 euros extra for peace of mind! Breakfast was plentiful and open from 7.30 - 10.30, so much choice, catering for all nationalities. We didn't take dinner in the hotel as we love the Tai restaurant overlooking the Marina so much and went there every evening where we were given complimentary drinks every night.

The weather was mixed, warm but very windy. Would certainly recommend to blow away those winter cobwebs.

Room Tip: Didn't use the Spa. Always ask for a room with balcony and sea view and preferably a kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Got a deal with a sea view Junior suite, and the room was enormous. with a large balcony with floor to ceiling large windows. Great marble bathroom too and a dining area. Maid cleaned it every day so it was very clean as was the whole hotel. Large choice in the buffet breakfast catering for all tastes, you can even get a glass of champagne! The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is on the beach so had a great view - it's worth paying for a sea view as the rooms at the back look onto the casino. The only downside is there is no kettle in the room so no possibility of making tea/coffee but there is a fridge for the essential bottles of wine/beer. TV has a huge variety of channels to choose from with many english speaking ones plus good sports channels.
Didn't use the pool or spa but the bar is reasonable with a glass of wine for 2 euros. Safe in room must be rented. Hotel has discounts for golf courses ( which are VERY expensive - one is 200 euros per round!) and have shuttle buses to take you there, but these must be booked in advance.
The resort is very quiet in February but plenty of great restaurants to choose from. Beware - there is no smoking ban in Portugal so some pubs are very smoky when busy, especially as the winter population seems to be middle aged male golfers! Found Vilamoura to be reasonably priced for food & drinks at this time of year. Beach was deserted until Sat morning for surfing classes! Only other downside was that the Portuguese don't "poop scoop" and many walk their dogs on the beach!! Take a walk up to the Old Village for a look around. It's not really a genuine old town just more apartments but is very picturesque and there are some bars and restaurants. A day trip to Faro is 45 mins away on the bus for 4 euros each way, the bus stop is next to the hotel luckily!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, sea view, away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovingreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a great time very lucky with the weather but must say it was cold at night. Only two veryminor faults with the hotel, more front desk staff needed and the indoor pool temperature turned up a little, otherwise this hotel is in a great spot and really clean. Booking the seaview terrace room really made a difference.

Room Tip: Seaview at the front of the hotel with a terrace is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 full weeks, enjoyed every day. Very fortunate with the weather, no rain at all, just a gentle breeze on the nearby beach. My wife does not like sand between her toes the wooden walkways prevented this. She also liked the sun loungers which had a built in sun roof similar to the 'old fashioned' prams. The hotel is very clean,had a room on the top floor facing the marina, the sunsets on the balcony were amazing, managed some beautiful photographs, not on a digital camera so cannot show them. Breakfast was very similar to most good hotels in Portugal and Spain, bacon swimming in fat (or oil) etc.etc.Only went B&B so had to eat out each night. We always went to the marina where there are plenty of eateries. The first night i ordered gammon and chips, expecting a gammon steak, imagine my face when it arrived, a square of compressed meat with a few french fries, obviously from a tin.Did not go there again!! Lunch on the beach most days was half a french stick each with lots of different fillings from the very friendly butty bar on the beach itself. I had taken £500 of euros and £500 sterling for 'spends' but had used the euros and £200 in the first week, The second week we found a small english run 'greasy spoon' cafe which was reasonably priced, unlike the posh places in the marina. We then returned to the hotel for drinks and had everything booked to the room and paid up when leaving, hence the review title, thank goodness for credit cards!!! Vilamoura and the hotel are very expensive!! Be warned. regards to all, ibizaian.

Room Tip: get a room on the main entrance side ie, facing west, you get the sun afternoon and evenings with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ibizaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for seven nights from 15th jan 2013. great location very clean . the buffet breakfast was not bad at all . we stayed on the 8th floor room 820 . great sea and marina views. only a couple of minutes walk to the marina resturants bars and transport. staff very helpfull. i still feel that paying 2.50 euros per day for the room safe is a bit cheeky . unfortunetely due to the weather high winds we were restricted. even when the wind was low it was draughty out front coming from the sea. just up the road was grogans bar. food great but bar prices a bit high . hotel all in all i'd return without question hoping the weather better . i just wish people would close the room doors a bit quieter considering other residents . we were told we got a free seaview room up grade it actually cost me 25 pounds on booking .

Room Tip: choose a high sea facing room. beware of free up grade you may have already paid for it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bestfriendted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short golf weekend in January. Very clean, good staff, breakfast buffet excellent, rooms well appointed. Pool and sauna were very nice. Very quiet in January and the hotel and whole town was lacking in atmosphere as a result.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $76 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing