We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked a last minute trip to recharge our batteries, but were a little concerned by some of the reviews. We needn't have worried. The hotel was not brand new, but it was very clean, and in a great location. twenty minutes from faro airport and less than five minutes stroll from the Marina, and the old town square.
we had a fabulous seaview room with a large balcony overlooking the beach and the pool. The bathroom was a little tired and the hairdryer lacked power, but it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was excellent, and plentiful, and the staff in the spa were knowledgable, and the treatments varied and good value for money. An excellent trip and will definately return to the hotel.
Our November break was not disturbed in any way by noisy entertainment, and the warm sunny days were an added bonus.

Room Tip: third floor seaview rooms have excellent balconies getting the sun all day long.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Ampalius
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked a very late holiday at the Ampalius hotel , we had Never been to Portugal before so everything was a chance and really all the info regarding our trip was deemed from trip adversor.
We found the holiday on a hotel site the prices were good for the standard of hotel. And we were very happy with our choice we had read positive reviews through so were confident there.
The reviews on trip adversor about the Algarve suggested to give the shuttle services a miss as they are poor and taxis from Faro expensive so we chose a private transfer .we found there are lots to choose from but one kept being mentioned and getting good reviews- yellow fish transfers. so we went with it . We were suited with our choice , got a bottle of wine too and free wifi on board.
We visited the market in Quarteira as advised on trip advisor it was very Nice and atmospheric .
We went to the mountains as suggested , very pretty it was a Lovely day out.
Trip advisor also suggested a trip to Seville which we thouroughly enjoyed and would consider returning.
All in all we had agreat time and would lime to think everyone for there great sugestiones

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was here for a business conference and some golf. Everything laid on by the hotel was great and cant fault the place. 5 mins from the port where there are lots of bars and restaurants as well as complimentary shuttles to the golf courses.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank open2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

just had a week in a sea view room, excellent stay, very clean, buffet breakfast good.
All area immaculate, very impressed. Only downside was the noise on 2 nights from the casino next door, which went on till 4 a.m. Did not put us of though and already sorting next years return there. The golf in the area good but pricey and the buggies were 45 euros a day.

Room Tip: sea view, high floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a great holiday in Vilamoura. Whilst some of the decor in the hotel is a bit dated, the room was clean and quiet. The hotel is really well situated for the Marina, beach and restaurants. Sometimes my husband and I struggle to do a beach holiday for more than a week, but we can certainly say that we had a great time here and never struggled for things to do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I loved this hotel . We usually stay in vila gale marina but could' nt get the dates. Im glad as we will return here from now on.
And we can use Vila gale Marina facilities if we like anyway as its same chain.
Reception are friendlier and its a more inviting area as it leads into the sitting/bar area .
I golf, my wife doesn,'t its a great area for her to socialise, read , people watch while i,'m out.
It closer to the beach and marina (only marginaly) .
It seems more classy somehow. Has a great mix of golfers and non golfers.

I have to mention the taxi company as they are the best i found in all my hols. Yellow fishtransfers .reliable ,friendly and imperative, punctual.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service, very helpful reception staff (helped with initial booking, room viewing, taxi booking). We had a Junior Suite which we booked after moving out of an awful villa mid way through our stay. Everyone was very accommodating and got us settled in quickly. Breakfast was okay- as other have said the sausages were a bit odd (but the kids liked them) other than that there was a good choice of food. Brilliant location for beach and marina. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youngs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#15 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $84 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing