We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our first trip to Portuga/Vilamoura. Excellent transfers to and from the airport via A to B shuttle service. The hotel is in a great location, booked B&B, which was ideal because there are some fab restaurants all around the marina and in the small squares just behind which were quite reasonably priced. The room which was on the 6th floor and overlooked the tennis courts, was very clean and and towels/linen changed every day - just wish we had booked a room with a balcony/sea view,although this didn't really matter as we were only there for seven days.Hotel staff very helpful and efficient. Ample choice of food at breakfast. Lovely pool area and no problem finding sunbeds, clean towels available with tokens from reception. We stayed there at the end of September and there wasn't much going on in the way of entertainment in the evenings at the hotel - the 'Fun Team' weren't having much luck encouraging people to participate in the karaoke evening and the performing parrots were a bit naff - don't like to see animals exploited in this way - but each to his own! The spa area/gym and pool was lovely and free although we didn't make much use of it due to our short stay, enjoyed a very relaxing facial.Saw some signs advertising Vilamoura round and about saying "You weren't born here but this is where your belong" - that's exactly how we felt! We had a really lovely time and would most definitely return to Vilamoura and this hotel. Had read a few other reviews in which people complained about the noise from the Puro Beach Club - even packed ear plugs, just in case but this wasn't a problem as it was closed at the time we were there.

Room Tip: Book a high floor with a balcony and if you are visiting late September, check if there are any upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antilees7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    700
    257
    61
    28
See reviews for
462
670
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just back from this hotel, fab location, was upgraded to junior suite which was brilliant
45ft long and 22 ft wide, with amazing sea veiws. Breakfast was good and plenty of food to choose from. Dinner was okay, when we go again i think i would book B&B,
not half board. Overall a very enjoyable stay, the staff where very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastBrowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean and tidy hotel. Excellent position on beach close to marina and with provided transport to all local golf courses. 3 people sharing junior suite - not really enough space but wonderful view from balcony overlooking the sea. No tea/coffee facilities in room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 74record
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

To start with the positives... it's very conveniently located to the Marina with it's bars, restaurants and shops. The rooms and bathrooms are fine, the bar area is good and the breakfast is good. On the negative side however, the hotel needs a bit of a facelift. Some of the carpets are a bit threadbare, the leather sofas in the foyer are peeling on the arms. The bed was very hard and the sheets didn't fit to the end of the bed. The real thing that annoyed me was charging 2 Euros for half an hour internet use in the foyer and charging to use the safe in your room! Also the room wasn't cleaned until 3.30pm to 4.00pm which made a siesta impossible. The rest of my party all agreed it was a three star hotel and not four star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon in August and it was a pleasant stay overall. The hotel staff were very accomodating and upgraded us to a seaview when they discovered we had just been married. we found the accomodation to be clean and tidy with daily cleaning service. The bathroom was particularly clean and fresh. My only critisism was that we asked for a double room but got two signle beds shoved together(Not tied) so if anyone ventured toward the middle, the beds could seperate easily on the tiled floor.

Breakfast was a highlight for me with the HUGE array of food on offer, sometimes it was a case of queuing for a table in the morning but we learned to avoid the peak times.

The pool is clean but small so I would recommend getting a chair early to avoid disappointment but what I didnt appreciate was people going and staking claim on a chair at 8am and then heading off about their business. I heard one person lament this to the reception staff who said there was little that could be done about this. There was also a lack of someone around the pool to keep the kids at bay so they were running and jumping and generally taking over the pool area. (Im not a killjoy but it was quiet dangerous with wet feet on wet stone leaping into the pool and soaking passers by).

I would recommend the hotel whole heartedly as I look for an efficent and clean hotel. The pool issue was not a major problem for us but its worth noting all the same. Its location is a mere 5 minutes from the hub of the marina and 2 minutes from the beach. There is a myriad of food choices in Vilamoura and I would highly recommend this hotel as a base to discover the area from. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: There is a nite-club across the road so you could ask for an inside room or a room with a balcony fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillaxer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durhan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Portugal and we found Vilamoura a very good purpose built resort. The Marina and surrounding restaurants were excellent but not very much more to interest us apart from walking to Quartaira where we found an excellent patisserie and coffee shop on the corner of a small square. The hotel room at the Vila Gale Ampalius was a superior room with sea view but would benefit from a revamp, it just looked tired, although it was clean and adequate. Breakfast at the hotel was good if a little boring after a week, the pool and surrounding area clean and pleasant and staff very good.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view on the upper floors, it adds some interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have just returned from staying at this hotel with my boyfriend and as we had never been to Portugal we weren't sure what to expect. This hotel and the surrounding area were great and just what we were looking for. The staff were all so helpful and friendly and we loved our room with a sea view on the 6th floor. We spent many evenings sitting there watching the sun go down with a bottle of wine. The beds were really comfortable and we didn't hear a thing at night so always had a great nights sleep. The health spa was so relaxing and it was never busy. We loved that we could use it free of charge and visited every day. We were bed and breakfast and there was plenty of choice. The hotel was only a short walk to the marina where we enjoyed some lovely meals, all of which were better value than I expected. All in all, we had a perfect holiday and the hotel and friendliness of the people really contributed to that, We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room with a balcony, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing