We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights, half board and had a junior suite. Food was very good at both breakfast and dinner with a good selection of meats, fish, veg, salads. Room was huge and would recommend paying extra for it. Staff very friendly and service was excellent. My girlfriend had a candle massage at the spa and thought it was nice and relaxing. Great location, 1 minute walk to beach and under 5 min walk o Marina where there was a huge selection of good restaurants to choose from. Also only 2 mins walk to the casino which was fun. In the evening there are a number of bars to choose from in the marina for a drink. Fairly quiet as we went off season though it is a big enough hotel to accommodate all ages when busy. We didnt have any problems and cannot understand how people in previous posts got mugged when its such a safe relaxing place. I only have one negative and that would be the rooms dont have double beds but 2 singles pushed together and no wifi, you have to purchase a payg card and use their computers. Used my phone on GSM and the data charge are low compared to other countries. Other than that would definately recommend to couples and famlies and would go back again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junkyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

One of the best hotels we have stayed at. Worth paying extra for superior room with sea view. Plenty of choice at breakfast and staff were always very helpful and polite. Didn't eat in hotel at night but found Concorde Reataurant about 10 mins walk from hotel- run by Tony-the food and choice was excellent and considerably cheaper than restaurants on marina front.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AberdeenAberdonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

3 of our party of 8 were mugged on first evening outside the hotel. 2 hospitalised and 1 with quite severe injuries. Everything taken, mobile phones, cash, wallets etc.
Strongly advise people to pay for the safe in the rooms.
Hotel staff and police uninterested in incident.
Otherwise hotel ok but would not return!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wyneandsoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

We were informed by the clients and the police of the incidents occurred with them 1.5 km away from the hotel, at 04.30 am. In the morning by 09.30am our Manager on Duty contacted the Tour Leader of the group to offer all assistance. He asked us to get more information of his hospitalized friend. That was done and as well in the following days. The hospitalized client return to the hotel 2 days after, and was received by our Manager on duty that promptly offer all our assistance to him.
Obviously, we regret the unfortunate incident but believe that all the measures were taken in order to support our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Three members of our party of 20 golfers were attacked and robbed on two separate occasions, within 20 feet of the hotel entrance. Until the hotel provides security for it's guests I would avoid this location. The hotel and police were not interested - Vilamoura is not the place it once was, which is a great shame.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Scuffer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

We were informed by the clients of the incidents occurred with them outside the hotel. Dully and promptly, as agreed with the clients, the manager on duty contact the medical assistance as well as the local Police department who came, without delay, to the hotel giving their assistance and being the clients transported to the police department by these authorities for formalisation of the complaint.
Obviously, we regret the unfortunate incident but believe that all the measures were taken in order to support our clients. Also add that, since then no other incidents were reported and believe that Vilamoura and the Algarve in general continues to be a safe destination as is well known by the thousands of visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Our second trip to this one. It is really a lovely spot. Balconies with best views can get very hot, evening sun, but good aircon. Felt slightly unwelcome on arrival at reception, but you can't win them all. our room faced quartiera this time, stunning sunrise/views to Faro. Room was smaller though, 6th floor.No kettle, leaves you with an expensive mini bar, but you can fill it up with your own drinks, so not entirely useless. Breakfast was OK, but not great. Tea was of 'old socks' I suspect tap water, which is pretty much undrinkable. Boil a pan dry one day and see what you get. Bacon was tough, streaky, fatty, rubbish really. But plenty of other. Some tinned fruits etc. It is only very average, can often get better here in UK . AND everything, everything's an extra! Price of stay alright, but never pay top.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomb2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were delighted with our room on the 9th floor. Views of the marina and beach were fantastic! Bedrooms cleaned daily with fresh towels - if required - we decided to keep towels over two days on two occasions. Breakfast catered for every taste. The staff were always courteous and friendly. The location was perfect, 10 minutes walk to marina and beach on doorstep! Bus stop just outside the hotel for buses to Faro and Albuferia. Not sure what the nightlife would be like. Casino on doorstep. We had a fantastic time there and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Great hotel, have stayed there every year for the last 7 years. Staff are eceptionally friendly. Location is great for many reasons; firstly if you like the beach it is only a few metres from the gate by the pool. There is no need to leave the resort as there are 100's of restaurants within walking distance. There is nightly entertainment in the bar which is very relaxing. In high season there is also entertainment around or near the pool - great fun (doesn't matter if you do or do not want to get involved)

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_dubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $82 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing