We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday at Old Village, Vilamoura”
Review of The Old Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Village
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great family holiday at Old Village, Vilamoura”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in a fantastic 3-bedroom townhouse backing onto the main pool provided by Mike Jenkins ( and Emma ) at http://www.jenkinsproperties.co.uk/ and everything was superb. The children loved the main pool and the play area and it was so easy to go out in the evening whether to an onsite restaurant/bar or further a field. With the little train, and loads of taxi's, you don't need to have a car which keeps the cost of the holiday a little lower. The resort was very safe, very clean and quiet in the evenings. We would happily recommend and wil return again soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Old village has a very relaxing atmosphere, our apartment was spacious, clean & very quiet, with a roof terrace & small garden. The Old Village has 3 pools, 3 restaurants, 2 bars & a mini mart, it also has a train that runs down to the beach or Marina! The staff were extremely helpful & friendly. If you want to get away from the big resort type apartments the this is the place to book!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment (5A)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertFox4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Sometimes going back to a place after a few years can be a bad idea but returning to The Old Village in Vilamoura in April this year was a really good experience and we will be going back again and again and again. The Old Village- building started many years ago when the Marina had only just been rescued from marshland and unlike many places that develops quickly the architects took their time thought it out kept it low and focused on quality.
Now after 20 years The Old Village is mature well kept well managed and a really beautiful place for singles,couples and families alike. My first grandson is only 18mths old and this April he had his first holiday abroad. My son, his father wanted to take him to the place where he had many happy holidays as a youngster so two sets of grandparents, mum, dad and Rocco set off to The Old Village. The villa had been made "child friendly" and if you have ever taken a toddler on holiday you know how being abroad can be fraught with danger, you will need to check out what child friendly means exactly. We went with Cosmos, the rep was English, helpful and provided child gates and plug covers on the day of request. The Old Village has a very well stocked supermarket if you don't have a car then you dont need to worry as everything is there. Taxi to the larger Market at the Marina was only 3 euros, the taxis all line up just behind the marina on a road that runs parallel with it. We found Henry, a cheerful helpful driver with a large taxi so we all fitted in with pushchair. We got his card so used him all the time this way we got a prompt service he picked us from Quateria beach with only a ten minute wait.
The Central Square in the Old Village has a lovely Gazebo next to the Casa de Largo, here we had breakfast, sometimes lunch and quite often dinner.
Very child friendly, food is excellent fresh hot and well presented. The whole place is very clean and Casa de Largo is no exception. If you want sport there is a small pub like place with a sport TV. Grandad and son love their sport so we could all sit close together and all enjoy our own entertainment without being stuck in the pub and Rocco could toddle around the Square ( with watchful eyes) without harm and without having to tether him down. Saying all that, the place is quiet and restful the restaurants and a couple of bars are all together in and around the Square. The large pool is only for those staying at The Old Village and is fully gated and you need a card for entry this makes it very safe for children and stops any late night antics from the younger set. If you go to Vilamoura take a walk around The Old Village it's surrounded by golf courses 10 minute slow stroll from the Marina - it's an oasis take a look you won't be disappointed no matter what your style or budget.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzannaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

2 out of the 3 rooms we had were privately owned. Room 8A was excellent with full kitchen and appliances, shower and bath, 2 bedrooms and a good sized plasma with all english channels and all sky sports.Next door had a small kitchen a portable and only Spanish TV.
We had table and chairs and 2 loungers on our outside space.
The pools are really good (1.5 euros a bed per day though) and there are few bars on site if you dont want to go out.
The marina is fabulous but pricey, one restaurant selling lobster at 99E. Figo's bar is great and a full english with tea or coffee for 5E. Average pint is about 3E.
If you walk to the marina (10mins) when you get to bottom of the complex turn left and over the road is a park,walk through the park go straight over the road past spar then bear right until you get to chico's bar, bear right and the marina is behind the buildings facing you.
The place is really lovely and if you are happy with your room you will have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,051 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village

Property: The Old Village
Address: 10A Church Square, Old Village, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-429, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Old Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing