We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely self catering place”
Review of Prado Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prado Villas
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a lovely little place if you only need somewhere to sleep and cook a few meals. We stayed for a week at the end of October with our 4yr old son who loved it.

Yes it is a bit old and dated like the reviewers have said, however, that doesn't stop you getting a good night's sleep, or cooking a meal. The 2 bedroom villas are open plan and are quite spacious. The bedrooms are large too, and you have one with an en-suite and then there is a main bathroom with double sink. Remember this is no frills, and although extra blankets are provided in the closets, you will not get extra pillows, only one per twin bed, so depending on your preferences, you may want to bring along a few. Towels are provided. There are heaters, however one did not work in Villa no. 13 where we stayed, and we did need some heating at night considering the time of year. The swimming pool is very clean but not heated, so not ideal at this time of year. We braved it one day, but said that was enough for the rest of the holiday.

Isabel on reception is lovely, and does her best to accommodate any requests that you may have. There is also free wi-fi access in and around the reception area.

It is a little far from the shops and marina for litlle legs, but he did well to walk down every down most days, and then we got a taxi back for around 5 euros. There are plenty of buses that can take you to Faro or neighbouring towns. All in all, we had a lovely time, and cannot complain. We would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MedusaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Prado Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Isobel in the office. The villa was spacious and had good features of 2 hand basins in family bathroom, bath with shower over and bidet and wc. The apartment needs some TLC. Doors and fittings need mending or renewing, including patio sliding door and perhaps repainting. However, none of these things were major and didn't stopped us having a wonderful holiday at Prado villas. The walk to the marina was very pleasant with a pathway through a park in the central reservation of the dual carriageway. The park is used by walkers, bikers and joggers all courteous to each other. The walk was a good half hour to the marina. The tourist bus/train back was only €2 with a stop at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabsRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at midnight and our first impressions were not good. The route to our villa (number 9) was not well illuminated and it took our party of four a little while to find it. Inside the villa, we soon discovered that the villa is looking very tired, and in need of updating. The tv is CRT, fridge had been well used, and the patio door shutters were very difficult to operate. Inside one of the bathrooms, a toilet seat was rotting away, and despite showing it to the manager, it was not replaced during our stay. Also, one of the bathroom ceilings had water dripping through. This must have been going for sometime, as a crack was the length of the ceiling. Rusty heater in bedroom, sliding wardrobe doors very dirty on handle. However, the outside area and pool was very clean, despite a lack of sunshades. All in all, the villas are a good size and location, but do not expect too much else. If the owners were to spend a little more time and attention to the interiors then I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turns-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Prado Villas is a delightful place, and offers excellent value for money. The grounds are beautiful, and the villas are spacious. The furniture is fine, though the fittings (doors, windows, lights) need attention. Perhaps that is why it has fewer than five stars. The pool is clean; rarely empty but never full of people. The staff are helpful and very friendly. It is a bit isolated: it’s a fair way to the nearest shop, and the bright lights of Vilamoura are even further. All in all, a great place to chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmzmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The staff were lovely . But I have to admit the first impression I got when I entered the villa was shock. No Air-Con. That's like coming to a hotel Scotland in the winter and finding out you room has no heater, In these modern times when travellers are more savvy air con is a must. Also found the kitchen was so out dated and the fridge condition despicable. Also the cooker was not directly fed from a separate spur unit , but was a 110v plug. Not safe by any standards . When returning to the villa at night there was no lights on the walk way. Take a torch with you just to be on the safe side. Only two umbrella's at the pool side, this is unacceptable. There was a juice bottle that was at the pool area for 6days while I was there . Nobody made any attempt to clean it up and the bin next to the pool shower was never emptied. Cracked and broken tiles in both bathrooms . Had trouble trying to get the door open. The handle was broken. The patio doors did not lock and the seals were hard and brittle. I did notice one apartment has been modernised but that should have been done 20 years ago.

Room Tip: Ask for the modernised villa if booking up.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank johnhay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the prado villas from 27 July to the 07 August this year 2013 and had a very relaxing holiday.We had booked two villas as we were travelling with another couple and both were poolside.
The villas are huge with two bedrooms one being en suite and had everything you needed for self catering however they are suffering from the lack of maintenance with ill fitting doors and very dated.The pool area was never crowded and plenty of sunbeds at any time of the day but the most enjoyable thing was the utter peace and quiet with no pool bar or any distractions.
The weather was very hot and we did suffer a few nights due to no air con or fans but with the windows open and the shutters locked it remained fairly cool most nights.
The nearest shop was a good 15 minute walk and the marina at least 30 minute but the taxi was on average around 5 euro so we were able to do a big shop at Jeffers supermarket and loaded the taxi to the brim which meant we only had to carry small amounts for the rest of our stay.
The marina was lovely and we ate at parkeys bar most nights as the food was great and reasonably priced but there is plenty to choose from.
If you want to escape the world for a while the prado villas is ideal but expect to do a lot of walking to get around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to Prado villas again as it was a good price. We stayed at Prado Villas 7 years ago and for the price it is good value BUT needs so much updating. The villa was exactly as it was years before. Very tired and old fixtures and fittings. Complex is really nice and pool lovely. If they spent some money updating the place they could make it perfect. We stayed when the 40 degree heatwave struck and had the worst sleep ever. Bedroom was 30 degrees and you couldn't have a window open because of the mosquitos so be aware of that! For £412 in a 2 bedroom i'd say go for it but for the price being charged now, no way. Isobela is lovely by the way. The Portuguese are all so friendly and the cats were sweet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 522depeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.6 mi away
Nautilus Apartments
Nautilus Apartments
#28 of 36 in Vilamoura
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#35 of 36 in Vilamoura
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prado do Golf
Prado do Golf
#31 of 36 in Vilamoura
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prado Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prado Villas

Address: Volta da Manha, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-518, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $36 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prado Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prado Villas is a small, private development of 18 well appointed two bedroom linked villas, ideal for those seeking a self catering holiday in Vilamoura. The villas are set out in extensive grounds, with the communal swimming pool (unheated) and its large terrace area at the heart of the complex and framed by landscaped gardens. With only 18 villas, guests are ensured that their stay will be quiet, relaxed and free from the noise and disruptions of larger resorts. Located at the end of a cul de sac and bordering the 13th Fairway of the Old Course the tranquility of Prado Villas is retained even in the busier summer months. Each villa offers:•2 spacious bedrooms with twin beds with fitted wardrobes and drawers•One en suite shower room and a separate bathroom with a bath/shower, bidet, toilet & sink•A well equipped kitchen including oven, hob, fridge/freezer, kettle, crockery and utensils•A generous open plan lounge/dining room with defined areas including dining table and chairs and relaxed seating•A private sun terrace through sliding doors from the lounge, with table and chairs. Additional features include:•Satellite TV•A safety deposit box (2 euros per day)•Full length mirrors in the bedrooms•Hair drier•Ironing board and iron•Shutters on the windows•Maid service is twice a week, change of towels mid week (pool/beach towels are not provided), change of linen (more than 7 nights). Our friendly reception team will endeavour to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and are able to assist with all requests including:•Booking airport transfers•Booking taxis, car hire and bicycle hire•Booking of green fees across the Algarve with up to a 30% discount•Organisation of excursions•Local information, advice and assistance. Within walking distance or a short drive away:•Falesia Beach and the Marina (Central Vilamoura)•Old Course, Pinhal, Laguna & Millennium Golf Courses•Brown’s Sports & Leisure Centre (promotional rates available)•Health Spa•Family Golf Park (Mini Golf)•Lawn Bowling•Horse riding•Nature Reserve•Water Sports & boat trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Prado Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prado Villas Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Resort Vilamoura
Prado Villas Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing