We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old Village”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Quaint place to stay, lovely village with cobbled pathways (no vehicles allowed). Restaurants and bars but not noisy at all. Only 20 mins. stroll to marina and there is a "train" which runs there and back if required. Reasonable rental prices. Will certainly return soon.

Room Tip: attempt to "bargain" to stay in the Prestige area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    162
    60
    23
    14
See reviews for
188
160
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just home from a 10 night stay in The Old Village, Vilamoura. The resort itself is absolutely spotless.
There was a large group of us staying for a wedding and we had 11 apartments rented in total, from studios up to 2 beds and everybody was happy with what they got. We booked thru different letting agencies and via owners direct so cleaning and maid services were different for everyone. Some services were better than others but all the apartments were of a high standard with no complaints from anyone.
The 3 pools were well kept but we stuck to the main pool as it was more kid friendly with a large shallow end. The food and drinks at the pool bar were fine, nothing special but as good as you could expect from any pool bar. The staff here were brilliant. Friendly to the adults and brilliant with the kids.
The marina took us about 20 mins to stroll down to but that was with a buggy and a 4yo in tow so for an adult to walk down it was probably about 14/15mins.
Food around the Old Village was very good. Casa da Largo was very good. Service was a little slow but the food was well worth waiting for. We ate here a good few nights.
The Princess Garden was lovely but booking is needed. We turned up without a booking and the restaurant was full but they said we could eat on a balcony if we wanted. They advised that it might be a little chilly out there but said they would show us the seats and let us decide ourselves. We went for it as it wasn't too bad but by time desserts came out it was a little cold. The staff were brilliant and brought us out blankets to wrap up in. This place was 10/10. We couldn't find fault.
The snack bar was also decent. Breakfasts and lunches were good and well priced. The staff were friendly but the dinners weren't the best. Fine for a quick bite with kids but there are better places to eat if you want a good meal. Drinks here were fairly well priced with a large variety of local and imported drinks.
The Buccaneer Pub was awful. I don't like to write a bad review but this place was just the pits. Staff were ignorant and added 50c to price of your drinks and popped it in the tip jar. We had a drink here once and didn't go back again. Buggies and children were not welcome here either which was strange in a family resort.
The supermarket is well stocked, prices are a little higher than larger shops down the town as you would expect but still cheaper than home.
The only downside is having to pay €1.50 for a sun lounger every morning and evening. Plenty of grass around to lay a towel out if you don't want to pay it.
All in all, we had a great holiday in the Old Village. We will definitely be back and most of our large group said they would like to go back at some stage.

Room Tip: Shop around thru the different letting agencies or go direct thru the owners. Get emails from them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redmouseCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a gorgeous place! We visited May 2014 for our sons wedding and stayed for 10 days with several family members We fell instantly in love with the setting and the gorgeous grounds which are constantly tended to and looked stunning. Our 4 bedroom town house was clean and sizeable, and had good facilities for cooking (should you wish to!) With a roof terrace which had barbie built in ...The wedding was carried out in the centre of the village in 'Church Square'. The setting is gorgeous, flowers in abundance, the staff are super helpful, do everything and anything they can for you, and the food provided was excellent. . Thank you so much Heather and Team! They even arranged a horse and carriage A very romantic touch. There were lovely bars/restaurants on site, a little supermarket <,which as always a little on the expensive side> and three clean pools with friendly staff. Vilamoura itself is a 15 minute stroll away where you will find a gorgeous Marina, lovely beaches, excellent restaurants and bars. I'd Highly recommend this place and i will be returning for a longer holiday! We had the perfect stay and we were gutted to go home. Get booking!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank marilyn200355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

WOW! What a gorgeous place! We visited May 2014 for my best friends wedding and stayed for 4 nights/ 5 days. We were instantly blown away by he gorgeous grounds which are constantly tended to and look simply stunning. Our apartment was clean and sizeable, and had good facilities for cooking (should you wish to!) There were lovely bars/restaurants on site, a little supermarket and three clean pools with friendly staff. Vilamoura itself is a 15 minute stroll away where you will find a gorgeous Marina, excellent restaurants and bars.
The wedding- Set in the centre of the village in 'Church Square'. If you're reading this review whilst being engaged...this could be the one! The setting is gorgeous, flowers in abundance, the staff are super helpful, do everything and anything they can for you, and the food provided was delicious. They catered for 52 people and did an incredible job. Thank you so much Heather and Team! They even arranged a horse and carriage (look on the website for photo's) A very romantic touch.
The only niggle i could possibly mention is the expensive prices in the supermarket (take your own coffee and essentials!) and the lack of local food on site. But on the whole I'd 100% recommend this place and i will be returning for a longer holiday! We had the perfect stay and we were gutted to go home. Get booking!!

Room Tip: Generally it's quiet wherever you stay. Choose a first/second floor for a balcony or a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeighBear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just back from another visit to the old village apartments. This time we took our parents as a surprise and they we're so impressed and instantly fell in love with the place. Beautiful grounds, clean, immaculate and incredible weather. If you are looking for a break then this comes highly recommended. You have an excellent choice of a few bars and restaurants (with happy hours) a supermarket , choice of swimming pools and golf courses on your doorstep. Ten minutes away is the beautiful marina where you have lots of bars and restaurants. Definitely worth a visit. Thank you to all the staff at cafe o, casa largo, Zanzibar and especially Princess Gardens restaurant - they made our Saturday night very special, which was for a special occasion and thank you for your honesty and looking after us so so well. Looking to come back very soon. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Social_butterfly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights, should have been 5, but had our flight cancelled due to EMA being shut down for 24hrs.
Amazing apartments set in beautiful grounds with lovely staff, plenty of places to eat and drink and a small supermarket onsite.
The staff were brilliant when we had our flight cancelled and needed accomadation for a extra night, we kept the same room and allowed us to use their office and internet to book further flights for the following day. The whole of the village is clean and set in beautiful colourful gardens.
Vilamoura is approx 15mins walk and 4 euros by taxi, lovely clean beaches.
We will be returning to the Old Village Apartments again hopefully in September

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights. Vilamoura was lovely. Great resturants and bars and not too young which suited us. Having been to Albufiera before, Vilamoura is much more up market. The old village is approx 15 walk to the marina. €4.00 at night in a taxi. We had a two bed duplex. Bedrooms are downstairs, with lounge and kitchen upstairs, sun balcony on the next floor. Very well equipt, everything you need and sky tv.The resturants around the complex are lovely. Bedrooms a little small. Cleaning was supposed to be done daily however ours was not done at all while we were there. Would go back though.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
733 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.9 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Property: The Old Village Apartments
Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing