We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous resort but apartment was a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous resort but apartment was a disappointment”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked the Old Village for myself, my husband and 5 month old baby for 9 nights. Resort is stunning and very well kept and manicured, definite WOW factor. All staff from supermarket to reception to restaurants were brilliant, so friendly and helpful. However the apartment we were given (13a Scottish Road) although roomy and perfectly located, was grotty and in a serious need of an update. Cleaning was sporadic and floors were never cleaned properly, dust bunnies under beds and sofa, smell from toilet, dirty throws on the sofa etc, towels changed once, bed linen never changed. I actually went out and bought detergent and cleaned the kitchen and bathroom (1st time I've ever had to do that on hols). I would stay at the Old Village again in a heartbeat but would be a bit more choosy about the apartment.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonnser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    160
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
184
157
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A last minute holiday on an exchange with RCI. Upgraded to a1 bed having reserved a studio. Top floor great views back and front. Well furnished and well kept. Old Village superb with amenities for all you need,nice restaurants, supermarket delightful setting. Four Seasons was a great choice,especially being located in the Old Village, we were stunned by its beauty and charm. All you would want on your doorstep, but only a 15minute easy walk to the Marina. We can absolutely say what a great spot and choice, as this was out first trip to the western Algarve last year it was to the east (Cabanas) were we chilled, this year we were chilled with charm and comfort. For young families its an ideal location as the
Four Seasons has all the facilities you could want to keep them occupied and happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Arrived at the old village on the 3/06/13 and was perfect from start to finish. Had booked a two bedroom apartment with pool view. Apartment was basic yet fully functional. Such pretty views all over the old village. Like a little bit of heaven, set in a tranquil area. Lovely restaurants as well, especially the Zanzibar. Would recommend to everyone looking for a peaceful, beautiful apartment. Can't wait to return in a year or so. Easy access o vilamoura marina by taxi, approx 4-5 euros. Stunning old village :) so glad I choose it for my holiday accommodation.

Room Tip: Book a pool room view. All apartments and town houses are spread out. Be careful of your location wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Old Village is a really beautiful, quiet place for a relaxing holiday. There are a few very good restaurants, a couple of cafes and bars. Food and drink to suit all tastes and a supermarket so you never really need to leave the complex. If you want a bit more life, the Marina is a pleasant stroll away. After reading previous reviews about the varying standard of the accommodation I went through Holiday Lettings and picked an apartment in the Old Village Prestige. It is a secure gated complex next to the Old Village. We had all the comforts of home (even a dishwasher!). There is a shared private pool and the gardens are beautiful and well kept. We found it so peaceful and we had a large roof top terrace which got the sun all day and the other half got Sky sport on the telly. We used Yellowfish transfers, as recommended in a few previous reviews, and were pleased with the efficient and friendly service. The owner of our apartment had given us directions as to where to get dropped off and our driver made sure we were in the right place and that the key we had fitted the gate before he left us, assuring us we would be picked up in the same place. The driver for our return journey was also friendly and willing to talk about the area. It cost 50 euros for the return journey. Don't think we would have gotten anything cheaper and could not fault the service. All in all we had a peaceful relaxing holiday which is what we were after although one of the bar owners said that it was early in the season and did get a bit hectic during July and August. PS all the restaurants and cafes we visited in the Old Village had free wi fi so good for my other half to download his daily newspaper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelynC318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice apartments overall. Our studio was a little dated but it had absolutely everything you could want or need. Sky Sports and a wide range of english channels was a big plus. The pools, grounds etc of the old village are great (very well kept) and the staff seem friendly and helpful.

However you have to keep asking for clean towels/new bed sheets and the rooms are not ever really cleaned properly. The cleaning staff are either overworked or just lazy because I tipped them on the first day but they were still fairly useless. The other frustration is paying to use the swimming pools. I know its only 1:50 EUR per half day but its annoying. I never had to do it anywhere else.

Vilamoura itself is boring and more suited to families or groups of golfers. Its not great for couples. Very little fun to be had there. I like the Algarve but would not return to Vilamoura.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 09_04_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the "old village".
We arrived late at night and where given the key by the security guard. (The reception closes at 6.30pm so if you are arriving out of these hrs you will need to call security to obtain your key) very straight forward!
We stayed in a 2 bed ground floor apartment (6a) village street.
To the right of the property a sports bar and to the left a restaurant (Zanzibar). The apartment was clean and basic (little dated) good size seperate kitchen, 2 small bedrooms, good sized living room and a good terrace. However the terrace furniture was dated with no sun loungers. From looking around the village there is nicer properties, with sun loungers but this apartment did us just fine (not complaining). All the pools can be accessed by a swipe card which you need to pay a 20 euro refundable deposit for. You do need to purchase the beds at the pool too. I think they where 1.50 for half the day. Dolphin pool was just outside our apartment so we went there mostly. Not over crowded at all! We ate in the village nearly every day night. Plenty to choose from, Casa de largo do a great breakfast, lunch and dinner. 5 euro for a full english, great lunch choices, something for everyone in here. Large beer 2 euro before 6pm. Staff very freandly including (Stella the dog) who kept our 3 year old occupied. Its only15 mins walk to the marina. Taxi is 3.50. Most places didnt open until 10am ish down there, so if you want and early breakfast stay at the village. Great kids play area on the marina. Cant remember the name but you cant miss it. It has a huge rainbow outside! Kids can play for 5 euro for an hr in a shaded area however parents can sit outside in the sun and still observe the kids and have a drink too!!!! the old village is perfect for a family holiday, with everything you need right around you. Have already looked at booking for next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kenfDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We rented a two-bedroomed apartment for a long weekend and were pleasantly surprised at the lovely architecture and the pools. It is spotless and well cared for. The 'village' (it is self-contained) is about a 15 minute walk to Vilamoura marina; just about right after a meal - although we ate in one of the restaurants in the village once, which was also good. The apartment was well-furnished,. Lots of English people here, so no problems with language.
We arrived and left out of hours, but the staff were really helpful - and the driving directions from Faro airport were spot-on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Property: The Old Village Apartments
Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing