We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon in vilamoura”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“honeymoon in vilamoura”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

stayed at the old village apartments for three weeks during our honeymoon and could not fault the place. we booked the holiday with lastminute.com, arrived at the village and were shown to our apartment by a lady from village4ulettings, it was lovely, two balconies a sun terrace on the roof and everything we could ever need inside. the whole village is kept immaculately clean and looks beautiful also. there are several bars and a supermarket, also three swimming pools in the village area but it is only a short walk to the front of vilamoura or to quateria. had a great time and met lots of lovely people, highly reccomend this place!

Room Tip: if booking on the internet ask for a balcony, it worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    160
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
184
157
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked this trip with On The Beach, all booking details went smoothly, as this was the first time I have used them I would again.

Transfers to The Old Village via Yellow Fish Transfers - 50 Euros (return) and got a free bottle of wine - nice little touch. Met as agreed, driver was courteous and helpful - would highly recommend them.

Old Village areas to eat/drink:-
Village Café - nice staff, especially the guy who works at night, good selection of house wines. Doesn't seem much from the outside but nice and clean inside, didn't eat here but they did snacks, which were reasonably priced.

Princess Gardens - nice food, but very slow service, nice wine here too

Zanzibar - great food especially the fish dishes, this was my favourite restaurant out of the ones we tried, good service and not slow. Food was excellent - I had the fish trilogy - amazing

Casa do largo - okay food, English mainly. Seemed to wait for food and drink here when very few people in. Had fillet steak here but not sure where they get their beef from but not meat I am used to, poor quality I wouldn't recommend the steaks

Villas are clean and more than enough facilities for cooking, included hair dryer, iron and board, washing machine, oven, toaster, kettle, microwave and a huge fridge. Eating out is expensive but don't go to supermarket on site for your food, it is expensive and they have very little choice. Walk to the local Spar about 10 mins walk. To use the pools here you had to purchase a pass for 20 euros, this is however returnable, from the 1st April 2013 you had to pay for the use of the sunbeds at the pool 1.50 euros for half a day for each sunbed used. Didn't get a safety deposit box so don't know how much these were. Lots of cctv cameras around the area so very secure, on site security too. The area is very quiet and very well maintained and clean and tidy. Vilamoura doesn't really have a lot to offer but enough for the few days we were there.

Found eating out and general snacks expensive, however they do offer happy hour were you can get a glass of wine for 1 euro and a beer for 2 euros between 3-7pm. Full breakfasts 5.50 euros. Meals start from 5 euros for burgers up to 15-20 euros for fish and meat dishes, coffees and soft drinks from 2 euros.

Vilamoura marina as you can expect lots of fancy boats and expensive restaurants, a few shops selling local crafts but not much else really - mainly lots of cafés and restaurants. Beach not far from the marina, looked clean but didn't use as not hot enough for that - was quite breezy

Room Tip: Try to get a villa/apartment that isn't ground level - we found ours cold in the afternoon as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misterm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Ola Village and we had a wonderful time! The apartments are all set out in a small "village" and the whole area is so pretty and spotlessly clean. The gardens are all well cared for and all the communal areas are extremely well kept. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a patio area and everything we needed was provided. The kitchen had a full size washing machine and full sized cooker with oven and grill. We also had a large fridge/freezer. On arrival the whole apartment was immaculately clean and they had electric heaters in the living area and bedrooms if we needed them, we used them occasionally in the evening when the temperature dropped and they were very effective.
The Old Village has 8 or 9 bars/restaurants some of which have happy hours and are very reasonable. The small supermarket has most things you need and the prices are very similar to the surrounding supermarkets so its not really worth lugging heavy shopping back from town to save a few cents here and there.
The walk to the marina is approx 20 mins or so if you cut through the park and its a nice leisurely walk on a sunny day. We never felt the need for a taxi but there are plenty about if you need them. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly and will arrange cabs or transfers if you need them. They even allowed me to use their computer when the internet cafe wouldn't work!
All in all, a lovely peaceful break in the sun at this time of year

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hola!
I have stayed in these apartments since 1987 and the last time I visited was 2011. I have such wonderful childhood memories here, my father brought us all here after visiting on a golf holiday with friends and me my mum, sister and brother came here every year since we were little.
The management will look after you and make sure you're very welcome, on site pools, and few cafes and restaurants. With walking 15min you're down on the marina. It's self contained but nice base to come back to after exploring more of Vilamoura & Algarve. Super hot in summer months. The gardens with the apartments are wonderful and colourful and romantic. My favourite part is having a villa with a top floor balcony & sipping wine and star gazing. There's shops & phone boxes on site too where you can fill up your own kitchen.
Just lovely. Enjoy this cute & quaint little part of town.
Charlotte x

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CharlotteHubbard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trofa, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

For starters, I love Algarve and Vilamoura is one of my favorite cities. I had already been in Vilamoura but never at this hotel/village. But what a Lovely surprise! I'The village is so clean, so refurbished, so tidy. It is really pretty! The houses and garden are well cared of. The house I stayed had a well equipped kitchen. But the house had no air conditioning. It's got lots of gardens and three swimming pools. All the staff were very helpful. The village had good restaurants and nice pubs. The village has very little car traffic. It's situated 15min of walking distance from the marina, by car it's just 2min. I LOVED staying here!!! I DO recommend these houses!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Second time at the Old Village and we (a group of four ladies) were lucky enough to be allocated a pool side apartment with lovely patio and garden area with beautiful flowers. Like a previous reviewer said, this seems to be luck of the draw at this apartment complex. Very clean and with a well stocked kitchen containing every utensil you could want plus lots of crockery/cutlery. We visit Vilamoura quite regularly and spent more time around the pool on this particular trip due to the fantastic locatioin rather than going down to the marina during the day. Staff at the rental office very helpful too. We always used taxis rather than walked to the marina as they were readily available and cheap too (4 euros).

Room Tip: Not sure you can choose a room - seems to be pot luck but we would definitely give it a try and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdviserreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend for a friends 50th and I must admit I was pleasantly surprised, it was one of the more reasonably priced accommodation in Vilamoura the place had a real good feel, no cars in the complex and cobble streets just like an old village, The staff in the office could not have been more helpful and polite, The restaurant and bars in the complex were good and the studio apartment we rented had everything you need, bed area, kitchenette and seating area with TV. Plus of course a bathroom.
This is not a compliment but an observation, the apartments seem varied, although I was happy with our ground floor apartment it had no ware to sit out but the couple we traveled with paid exactly the same and they got a room with separate bedroom, small living room, kitchen, bathroom small balcony with a table to dine on and roof top balcony with barbecue and sun beds, luck of the draw I guess . Maybe when you book request a roof top balcony?
The pools are good (cold) this place is a 20 Minuit walk or a taxi ride from the beach and the harbour but if that is not a problem to you perfect for the price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,049 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Property: The Old Village Apartments
Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing