We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My sister an i have been coming to the old village for over 20 years atleast once if not twice a year. We have used agents alternativas-algarve (maria) who is wonderful an OV International. All staff in restarants remember you from one year to the next . the whole complex is so friendy with Heather and Dave at the Casa De Largo restaurant. We have stayed in several apartments ranging from 2 bedrooms to a studio and all have been to our liking. they all have washing machines, tv microwave, toaster etc and are cleaned 3 times a week if not more. The gardens are immaculate and a credit to the gardner who has been there for as long as we can remember !!. The marina is a 10 -15 min pleasant stroll across the pathway which is well lit a nights but we used to get a taxi back for approx 4 euros . Abudance of different nationality bars and restarants around the marina. We can recommend Petunia and Figo for lunch at a very reasonable price. Wednesdays venture to Quartera for the market it is a bit out of town but worth a visit and whilst in Quartera go to Buondi coffee shop for tea/coffee and gorgeous cake for only 2 euros.

This is our getaway place for relaxation and would not hesitate in recommending it .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank madcownw5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for The Old Village Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 506 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed at 17bc Church Street. It is a 2 bedroom apartment with a flight of steps to front door. There is another flight to the bedrooms and yet another flight to the roof terrace. If there is any disability at all an upstairs apartment would not be suitable. We loved the Old Village, reminded me of Porthmerion. There is no traffic allowed around the interior of the village, car parking is around the outside of the complex, however still near to apartment. There is a Jasmin shrub growing up the wall and the smell is glorious. The Supermarket, restaurants, pools etc are a stones throw away. The land train runs every hour, where you can go to the marina, it costs 3.50euro each for all day, hop on and off. It is worth going on as it travels down a different way to the public road and is well worth seeing. The roof terrace was a bonus, there are sunbeds with cushions, plus table and chairs where you can have your lunch. It really is a sun trap. The apartment is well equipped with what I believe was a cot folded up on the landing. Really enjoyed our stay, we had a dinner party one night with friends who stay at the old village 5 months of the year, and had everything that I needed to use. Plenty of pots and pans and crockery. I would recommend the old village to stay rather than down at the marina. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: I would say Church Street is easy for all your needs and it is so quaint.
Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Woodlands19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here 5 years ago went back due to the standard of accomadtion and booked a 2 Bed apartment, which again was lovely. We never used the swimming pools due to the weather Easter breaks we find are just too cold for swimming.
We hired a car again from the same company (Green Auto's) as before, we found to be the cheapest and just hassle free, they are based down the road from Mcdonalds cost for 7 days and full insurance 175 Euros, please be aware though petrol is more expensive there than in England at the moment, although does work out cheaper than the organised trips.
Restaurants can work out expensive, always ask for the prices of drinks if not stated on the menu as in one restaurant 3 diet cokes came to 15 Euros! and if you are offered bread & butter you will be charged an extra 2.00 Euros each, so be aware as drinks and bread & butter can cost more than your main meal!
The Chinese Buffet Restaurant called The Sun House I would advise not to eat there, you help yourself to the food only to sit down and find it warm nearly cold, when I complained I was shown a microwave to reheat all the food which I refused to do because didn't want food poisoning reheating chicken? avoid this restaurant at all costs. We found a lovely Indian in the Marina and we ate there most of the time.
The old village is a lovely place to stay, we never ate out in the complex, just due to the prices really. There is free wifi in the bar next to reception so can take laptops etc the prices for drinks are very reasonable diet coke 1.75 Euros and could stay in there an hour or so using our laptops which was brilliant for our teenager son. There is an internet cafe on the complex but costs 1.00 for 10 Mins.
Enjoy your holiday ~ we did!

Room Tip: Higher apartments tend to have their own roof terrace, sunbathing in private we loved x
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwildbore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The old village is situated on an incline about 15 walk from the marina. It has 3 swimming pools (1 shut during our visit)
6 cafe/ restaurants (1 shut during visit)
We ate at de largo. Ok food, lovely people, but Lots microwaved. Also princess. Better but pricey. Stick to marina (£3 taxi fare) for nicer food
What every visitor should be aware is that every apartment/ house is privately owned. Meaning up keep,style etc differs widely. Our two bed. Two bathroom house (13bc ) was grotty, old and tatty. Broken old dirty furniture. Mouldy showers. Horrendous beds, 3 lounge chairs for 4 people ? etc etc. Desperately in need of a refurb. No more than a 2 star at best.
But we saw some that looked clean and modern.
Very much a lottery
Our house had two sets of very steep stone narrow winding staircases that would have terrified me if I had younger children.
The maid service is sporadic. Our sheets were not changed during our week stay.
Towels changed once and the middle of the lounge and kitchen area swept and mopped just in the centre.leaving drifts of ancient dirt in the corners.
I liked the resort, but 13bc is horrid.
Wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ferris5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Old village is a lovely complex . Apartments and small town houses.
We book directly with the complex now after travelling many years wih a tour operator. It works out cheaper for us and we can usualy choose which apartment we want ,with a travel agent you can,t.
It is a big complex on the outskirts of Vilamoura and is set out like a villag with shops,supermarket and bars and restaurants.
2 swimming pools and a childrens play area.
There is a little train which picks up at the entrance to take you into the main town.
We travel to the complex using a private transfer company called yellowfish transfers, they are the cheapest we have managed to find and are very good.
Vilamoura is known for its golf courses but it is not just suitable for golf as it has lovely beaches and a beautyful marina.
Next door is the older resort of quarteria which you can walk along the beach to , here you will find it much cheaper in the restaurants as it is where the locals live. GOOD FISH RESTAURANTS. Wednesday they have a massive market..
All the low cost flight companys go to the Algarve most days now.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Old Village Apartments 20A. Firstly I would like to say a big thank you to Celia and Belinha from Villages 4 U letting agents, they could not do enough for me. I looked at all the reviews and decided on The Old Village, after going through the normal travel agents and other letting companies Village 4 U came tops every time. From the moment of booking direct with them to handing the keys in on departure everything went smoothly. They called me taxis everyday to go out and visit places, sorted out 2 trips for me way cheaper that the travel agents and advised me of the surrounding area and where to go. The Old Village has a few bars/restaurants on site and a very reasonable supermarket - large container of water 99cents, wine from 2 Euros and beers pack of 6 at 3 Euros, what more could you ask for! They do also stock food :-) but I ate out every night as it is a very short pleasant walk to the Marina which has so many restaurants and bars you could live out every night for a year and still not get to see them all. Taxis to the Marina varied from 4 Euros to 6 Euros but I suppose which end of town/marina you went to or got picked up from.The Old Village itself is great for families and children as no cars are allowed only into the car parks but not through the village itself. The gardens are so manicured they can look unreal, the gardener came round to my apartment nearly every day cleaning and tidying the lawned area. I was in apartment 20A very modern, double bedroom and a twin room, one bathroom with a shower with great pressure (turn it on slowly to start with)great little private terrace and garden overlooking main pool therefore no need for the pool passes that people mention for this main pool if in the same apartment. There are 3 pools and you can use them all (but need a deposit which you get back at the end of your stay). Maid came 5 out of the 7 days I was there she cleaned floors made beds emptied the bins and changed towels if needed. The apartment has fridge/freezer, air conditioning, cooker and hob, washing machine, microwave, plenty of utensils and cutlery, tonnes of crockery for all occasions, toaster, juicer, coffe machine, kettle, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, TV, books the list could go on Ate at 3 of the restaurants on site ( cafe bar, Zanzibar and Casa largo - not sure I got the right all excellent) Did not do the Princess restaurant that overlooks a pool as this was more a romantic setting - would be great for couples. It is a flat walkway through the village if you take the right route or you can cut through using the passageways and steps. This is one place i would definitely visit again - providing I can get the same room :-) If you want the same apartment as mine (20A) book early there is one next door too 19A but not sure if it belongs to Villages 4 U ( enquiries@villagelettings.eu ) as it would appear that a lot of them are privately owned. 20A is actually at the side of the road but its a quiet road and you get your own parking spot at the back. I will load pictures when I can - you won't be disappointed.
All in all I cannot fault the place

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Penelope1harleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Parts of the Algarve can suffer in atmosphere, the golfers and Irish/English ex-pats and their over development, especially around Vilamoura but the Old Village retains a lovely blend of charm, quality and night-life. Its incredible value, and fun little self contained development. Theres a choice of pools, bars and restaurants. Its certainly not a place for gangs of lads on tour, but its a great location that will offer lots for groups of friends, families and couples of any ages on a holiday. It adds to the experience of Vilamoura allowing you to enjoy the Marina and surrounding area safe in the knowledge that you are staying somewhere fun with its own unique atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dookie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.0 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
753 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $51 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing