We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of Rio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Apartments
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Having read other reviews, I think it's pot luck with these apartments. They aren't horrendous by any means, but I wouldn't go back.

The accommodation:
1. Our room was boiling hot - no air conditioning and no fans available. I can't imagine how bad this must be in August (we were there mid-July).

2. Mediocre cleaning - we found a full ashtray under the bed when we arrived, and you wouldn't want to be walking on the floor without shoes on - it wasn't swept at all during the ten days we were there.

3. Variable facilities - some of the reviews mention toasters, bottle openers etc, but we were supplied with a kettle (which continued to boil until you pulled it the plug out of the wall - I don't think health and safety are high on the list of the management's priorities)and the most basic of utensils only (as in, knives, forks and spoons of all one size - no sharp knives, no tin opener). Also, we had a balcony with a table but no chairs - we had to ask four times before we were given two chairs so that we could sit outside.

4. The shower runs out of hot water after about ten minutes.

5. We also thought it was really cheeky to ask for 20 euro for use of the safe (you get 10 back, if there is someone around to give it to you when you check out); surely, a free safe should be standard.

6. Surly receptionist.

The location:

1. A good 30 minute walk to Vilamoura town - which feels more like 45 in the baking heat. There is nothing going on around the apartments, which is good in one sense because it means that it is quiet (although you can hear everything the people in the apartments above and next door are doing), but it is a real bind that the nearest supermarket (and think local Co-op, rather than Tesco Extra) is in Vilamoura town. This means that everytime you need anything - milk, bread, kitchen towel - you have to walk into Vilamoura; not too bad until you have to walk back, laden with bags. All the shops near the apartments have closed down as a result of the recession. We booked this accommodation because it was cheap, but it turned out to be a false economy, because we ended up hiring a car to open up our holiday beyond the local environs of the apartment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    163
    87
    43
    31
See reviews for
65
218
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I would not recommend the rio apartments due to several reasons, we stayed there for four days at the beginning of july and the rooms were unbearably hot, there is no air con available so unless you can handle 90 - 100 degrees in your room i wouldnt advise it. Subsequently we requested a fan of which the receptionist was kind enough to supply but it was not much use due to the excessive heat in the apartment. Our room was located on the front of the hotel so im not sure if it may be cooler at other parts of the building.
We didnt manage any sleep on our 2nd and third nights stay due to very very loud guests in one of the lower level apartments.
The decor and furniture in the apartments is clean but very dated and is in serious need of a refurb. The kitchen layout was rather bizzare as there is only one power terminal which is on the opposing wall to all of the electrical appliances in the kitchen, we had to ask at reception for a extension cable which was only long enough to reach to one of the appliances!
The pool is small and whilst used only once it had several dead flies and leaves floating about in it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vilamoura hotels

Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Although we were told we were in the middle of nowere and it was a long walk 2 the centre it was only a 15min walk and most of the walk was through grassed area with a pond and plenty of wildlife 2 keep you amoused while you walked.The apartment was clean,tidy and well equipped.The kitchen had kettle,toaster,microwave,oven and hob it even had an iron and ironing board.The food was excellant especially the stone steak.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyhaslam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2010

After having read a couple of poor reviews about the Rio Apartments, I found my own experience quite the reverse. The apartment was clean and contained everything that you would expect from a self-catering set up, even down to a bottle opener. Yes, it is true that the accomodation could do with an up-date but was by no means drab. There are two pools on site which are quite cool, but again this was fine as the weather was v.hot, so needed cooling down. The restaurant offers cooked meals, however my only gripe with this is the sizes. They don't seem to like giving vegetables with the meat which I find unusual. Easy walking distance from the marina which is lovely. The handy supermarket which is supposed to be at the end of the road was closed down by the recession and am not sure if it will reopen as we noticed on our travels other branches also closed. We did find a very nice restaurant with very reasonable prices (and plenty of vegetables) next to Sparky's bar and the Cactus bar which is situated about half and hours walk away. You would have to ask hotel for directions as I am not very good at that, but well worth the little walk. The restaurant is called A CARPA. you can visit their web page www.a-carpa.com. Only one other comment to make about our visit to Vilamoura is that although a very pretty place they have a worse graffiti problem than we do and many buildings were an eye-sore because of this, such a shame.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Very basic apartments, The bed was a sleeper couch... a little odd. Room is clean.
The staff are friendly.
The food in the restaurant is brilliant.
If you don't mind roughing it a little you will enjoy it.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank petzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We booked a golf holiday here, 2 minutes walk from Pinhal (which also has a really good driving range), a few minutes from a supermaket and a nice walk from the Marina which has some very nice places to eat and drink. The room was much better than we were expecting, had everything we needed and more. The price was better than we could of hoped for and if they stay this low we will be returning every year from now on!.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrybarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We got a great deal on this place and amazing sun-shine to boot! Apartments are clean and neat, location is great and we and our kids thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Everyone in Portugal is so friendly and it is a great destination for families

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krabikrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scalabis Apartments
Scalabis Apartments
#30 of 36 in Vilamoura
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#34 of 36 in Vilamoura
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
331 reviews
18.9 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Property: Rio Apartments
Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-476, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing