We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”
Review of Rio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Apartments
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed June 19, 2008

was a cheap holiday £392 for 2 for 1 week so you could say we got what we paid for ,glad we didnt pay £700 like another couple we spoke to. stayed in a studio which was dark and in desperate need of upgrading the balcony was very small the folding washing line could not be put out whilst the chairs were there. there was no kettle , no plug socket near mirror , only one brolly by the pool, the area was way to quiet no night life whatsoever,glad we only went for a week

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurnleyMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Rio Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 384 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2008

Was a slight bit worried the night prior leaving after reading the reviews but now back home I can honestly say the place is nice and the staff really good people.

Ok so some peoples reviews are just that of silly little issues but the place is run in a manner thats safe relaxed and easy going all you want. The rooms are really basic but nice n clean, ok not the Hilton but certanly worthy of a good right up from someone like me thats hard to please.

No crazy people were there on our stay just middle aged people that seemed to lay by the pool all day long reading paperbacks.

YES ! Get yourself booked in as its a nice wee place in a hush hush location with only £4 euros to get you down to the Marina thats whare all the bargo is.

Oh by the way, Food is 100% good... Try the Stake on a hot plate its so, so, so best ever by a mile.

Would certanly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cameron0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

When we arrived at our studio apartment we noticed how dark it was, this we because the kitchen occupied 2/3 of the outside wall which included 2/3 of the windows, leaving only 1/3 of them for the larger bed/sitting room.

The kitchen was a separate room with a run of cupboards, sink, cooker, worktop and fridge on one wall and nothing on the opposite side. Nothing that is except a serving hatch and the only accessible electrical socket in the room, and for that matter the whole apartment. This meant that either the kettle or the toaster, but not both, had to be balanced on the serving hatch in order to be used.

Inside one of the cupboards were some electrical connections where someone had cut into the wires feeding the water heater to provide an electrical supply to the cooker hood. As there didn't seem enough room to connect the earth wire, it was simply left unconnected. This together with the wires being un-insulated was “very dangerous” I pointed out to my wife. She readily agreed, insisting that it was better that we eat out all week than cook in a dangerous kitchen.

The bed/sitting area was quite large and contained a coupe of single sofa beds with foam mattresses. It would appear that the occupants generally sat in the centre, as the foam was more compacted there. This meant that when used for sleeping, the occupant’s head and feet were raised higher than their torso. These “banana” beds we imagine were of a similar vintage to their middle aged occupants, however their joints creaked considerably more (the bed’s that is, not their occupant’s)

According to the brochure, the Rio contains 64 apartments. We were concerned that there were only 6 sunbeds around the pool and several of these were broken. A seventh could be found lurking on the stairs in some strange sort of “menage a trois” with two sun umbrellas. As a result, latecomers to the pool had to sit on plastic chairs borrowed from the bar area. We however need not have worried. After a day of heavy rain 2” of water collected on our balcony and we had our own private pool. The cleaners kindly didn’t sweep it away, so we were able to enjoy it for several days.

Our balcony originally only had a plastic table with just one chair. As enquires at the reception didn’t yield any result, I surreptitiously removed one from the pool bar undercover of darkness and seconded it away to our balcony.

The entrance to our apartment was fitted with a doorbell, or more correctly a door “buzzer”. The usefulness of this was soon manifest, as the door was so loose in its latch that it rattled as if someone were knocking. We knew of course that there was no one there, as any real visitors would have “buzzed” and “buzz” they did. Not actual visitors, but guests that mistakenly took our doorbell located at the end of the passageway, for the light switch that was of an identical shape, size and height, but on the other side of the door.

Our bathroom was small but equipped with what I can honestly say was the best “holiday shower” I have ever encountered. The water flow and temperature were easily controllable as well as stable. The showerhead remained in the position selected and emitted a complete spray of water exactly where it should go. The occupant! Rather than the wall, ceiling, towel, toilet roll etc as is my usual experience. In addition, there was no black mould visible anywhere, including the curtain. Incredible!

Whilst not eating in the restaurant much, (like the apartment, we found it dark, dismal and aged inside) The food was reasonable though and the service good. Unlike some, we preferred the walk into Vilamoura to eat and despite having a car, only used it one evening when it was raining.

In summary, the Rio is neither the Ritz nor Faulty Towers, although I think it's closer to the second. We found it tired and in need of refurbishment, however, it’s not expensive and it’s clean.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Stem_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

Had the Rio runaround on arrival, waiting for key to apartment. No receptionist at this time of year complicated matters. Driver dropped off wrong people at wrong complex, which was closed anyway.

Apartments are OK, everything worked and was cleaned every day by very noisy cleaners who seemed to be having a party as they worked.

Location is very quiet, hiring a car essential, but Marina and beaches are only 30- minutes walk away.

Small heaters, we left a gas cooker on when we were in, not very safe but kept the rooms warm. The beds in our room were single bunks type things, not very comfortable, we pushed them together to make a passable double bed.

Make sure you get room overlooking the pool, otherwise the ones at the back are dark and get no sunlight at all.

On last day a German accordion player moved in and proceeded to play German folk songs at full volume with door wide open. No receptionist makes this sort of situation tricky. Fortunately he stopped before the accordion was inserted somewhere. If we had had any major porblems on site I don't think we could have got it sorted quickly.

Everyone we met at these apartments was also left waiting for someone to turn up with key to let them into the rooms. After a long trip this is no start to a relaxing holiday but seems to be the norm here.

I wouldn't stay here again, but would pay extra and stay somewhere like Loule, which has bags of atmosphere and life. My partner described the Rio location as desolate, and that's about right.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank georgeSouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Just got back from a weeks stay at Rio Apartments. Found my room very dark and depressing. The white plastic chair on the balcony collapsed when I sat on it for the first time. Had to ask twice for a replacement chair, and the guy on reception was a bit rude on the 2nd request, and they didn't take the broken chair away. Most of the sunbeds are broken, and a couple of the are at the point of being dangerous. Also the pool area is not that clean, found cig butts all over. The staff running the bar and restaurant are friendly, and had a couple of good nights in there, but spent most of my time in Grogans Bar in the town.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

not very impressed with the hotel very basic!!!!! we hired a car which is a must ther is not much room around the pool area so we spent our time on viila moura beach the hotel restraunt is ok if u order sizzling steak on a stone but nothinkelse

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suzi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We had 2 good weeks here with friendly bar and resturant staff and polite and efficient maid service.
The place was not perfect itself but i would return here without hesitation as we spent some good times at the bar and had some spot on meals in the resturant and were put off last year by the bad reviews and took a chance this year and were pleased we did as we had a one bed apartment on the second floor overlooking the entrance and were happy with it.
30 min walk into town which was easy and cheap cabs also a choice of different levels of food at the marina with Albafuerer only a 15 euro cab its all so close so in our opinion it is a place we wouid return to again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank notmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#35 of 36 in Vilamoura
56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scalabis Apartments
Scalabis Apartments
#26 of 36 in Vilamoura
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-476, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $20 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing