We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Godd value accomodation, not much going on about it tho!”
Review of Rio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rio Apartments
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stared for a week in the Rio Apertments at the end of August. The transfer was about 40 minutes and the reception was bright clean and open. We arrived at about 1pm but the reception seems to be closed often (even when guests are expected). This it my main tip for them. Check what flights people are on and be at reception to greet them. The lady was very nice and the room was smallish but clean. The balcony was very small and there was a big branch of one of the many trees trying to take ofver the space. The grounds maintenance really need to cut back the trees as they block light and encroach on living space.
The rooms was never cleaned while we were there but as there was only two of us and we never at in the apartment this wasn't such a big deal to us.
The pool was small and the loungers were constantly booked with peoples towels (many of who never come down and used them) it was very smokey and n ot very nice. There was a large grass area with trees for the rest of us. It was beautiful. Quiet and bright. You could either lie under the shade of a tree or enjoy the sunshine. If you visit skip the pool area and lie out here away from the smokers and rude people. (p.s. Most of htese towel leaving, lounger stealing, no showers were british!)
There wasn't much around. A supermarket at the bottom of the street to the left next to the newsagent. It had most things and wasn't anymore expensive than the supermarkets by the marina or in the small town area.
There was a pizza Restaurnat a little further downt he road but i wouldn't recomend it as the service was terrible and the pizza was only ok at best.
The restaurant attached to the Rio Apartment was very good. It was always open and the food was very very tasty. It appeared to be a family run restaurnat with mum and dad as front of house and the daughters cooking etc. The food was very good and i recoment the steak portuguese style. It was one of the bes t dishes i have ever had. The Piri Piri Chicken was also very good. We hapily at at this restaurant 3 or 4 times and the food was consistantly good. The prices were on par for the region and a fraction of the price you would pay at the marina.
All in all if you fancy a quiet break to recharge you batteries this is deffinately a place to go, quiet friendly and relaxing. If you want a more lively holiday perhaps stay by the marina or book a cab down as it's about 20 minutes of a walk and there isn't really a very direct route you will only find it by trial and error. Never the less it makes for an enjoyable walk.
p.s. If you arer into fitness there is an area between the main road that has fitness areas about every 100 metres apart with bars to do push-up and sit-up etc. It's very clever and i think they should do this in more places (even in Scotland!)
I'm looking forward to going back to Villamoura and Portugal

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trigger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 400 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

stayed at rio apartments at beginning of october, apartment was clean and well equipped, the only complaint would be the lack of power points, especially in the kitchen, asked at reception and was given an extension lead, which was fine for us as we had our teenagers with us but would have been worried if had toddlers as wire was plugged in across the kitchen...all in all, we had a lovely relaxing time,,,,reception,pool,restaurant etc were all spot on......first few days we found it difficult to find many good placesto eat nearby,,,,,although we did have the wierdest meal ever at pizza loca...sweet pizza's anyone?including one with a scoop of ice cream on top!!!!!still it was worth it for the giggles :))))) some other guests then told us about the old village which is about a 10 min walk and it is beautiful, with lovely restaurants , well worth a visit..it helped that the weather was perfect during our stay but would definetely stay there again :)))

Room Tip: we stayed on the 2nd floor at the front, which was lovely for sitting on the balcony and watching su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just back from a 9 night stay here. We paid £171 for 9 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment that was capable of sleeping 4. The apartment was pretty basic but it was adequate for our needs with a proper gas cooker with grill and oven, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Reception is only manned for about 3 hours everyday but these are self catering apartments and not a hotel with room service. We tried the restaurant twice and the food was of a very good standard and reasonably priced. We got a flyer when checking in that gave us a free bottle of wine with our first meal. My top tip would be the shortcut through the tennis academy that takes you on the main path down to the marina. Going this way the marina is only a 15 minute walk away. A taxi back from the marina never cost any more than 5 Euros and that was late at night

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The apartment was basic but clean if not a little worn.Paid just over £300 each for fortnight mid September so good value for money. Used the place as a base to go out most days.Didn't sit around pool much .Stone Steakhouse and bar on site reasonably priced decent food.Had fillet steak hot stone style and pork medallions both very tasty.Good location About 15 to 20 mins walk to Marina and about 1hour to Quarteria.Lovely beaches close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good value for money. We really paid small price for this hotel so can't really complain.
The apartment is spacey and has all basic stuff you need for self-catered holiday. It is also cleaned every few days and the towels are changed frequently as well. The beaches and town centre are pretty far from the hotel (30 min normal walk) so feel prepared for that. Don't forget that 30 min walk in hot weather conditions is much more exhausting than a walk in mild conditions. This is where I overestimated our abilities although I walk a lot in UK.
The only down side is that the receptionist, although very polite, was not very helpful with advice on how to get to different places. All she was suggesting was the taxi although there were cheaper options available.

Room Tip: If you want a fairly quiet room, ask for a room with balcony at the side of the hotel, which is oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 7 days mid September , rooms were clean & had everything required for a S/C holiday , nice pool & pool area & the on site steak house bar/restaraunt serves excellent food with good service to boot . A nice 15-20 minute walk to the wonderful marina or beach where there is a vast selection of restaraunts & bars to choose from depending on your taste . Would recommend the Rio Apartments to anyone looking for a value for money holiday but just remember that it is a 3 star & not a 5 star which going by some of the reviews i have read is what some people are expecting .

Room Tip: Had a room facing gardens which seemed to be a lot cooler than those facing pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my husband Dave were apprehensive about staying here because of the mixed reviews. However i would say we got what we paid for. We paid approximately £500 for the accommodation for a fortnights stay. I wonder what we could get in the UK for this price (if we could get anything). Rooms were basic but clean and well equipped. We would have more liked more sunbeds around the pool as we had to be up early to get one. Vilamoura is fabulous and i would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
198 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#34 of 36 in Vilamoura
59 reviews
1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-476, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Price Range: $20 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Tourist complex consisting of 64 apartments of typology T0, T1 and T2, recently remodeled, all have kitchen, bedroom, balcony, bathroom and television. They are integrated in green areas, which include swimming pool, restaurant / bar and reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing