We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent... you get what you pay for!!”
Review of Rio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Apartments
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent... you get what you pay for!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We arrived at Rio at around 10-11pm and reception was manned, we got our keys, dropped our bags in the apartment and went for a well deserved beer in the downstairs bar after driving (another story)!!! The boss in the bar is cool and very helpful .....and the food is good :) The studio was clean and tidy.... basic but great... who cares if we have to move a kettle or toaster to a serving hatch to plug them in... not us!!!! The pool was clean and I went in a few times so was not cold. I am basically answering bad reviews in this review..... but if you want 5* pay for 5*.... we will definately go back! Oh and look to the back of the apartments and the garden area is quiet and we loved it there....chill time!! Enjoy your holiday x I could write lots more :) I do have photos but haven't uploaded them yet :(

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Karen203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    159
    85
    43
    29
See reviews for
65
208
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

As mentioned previously, Reception desk not always manned. 10 minute wait for room key to be delivered to us once we arrived, as well as the welcome news that since they had no 1 bedroom apartments left, we'd been allocated a 2 bed instead. (Odd since there were very few people in the whole block, but we weren't going to argue!)
Lots of space for 2 adults and 2 kids, including 2 bathrooms and HUGE sitting area, plus clean, well equipped kitchen. Furniture was VERY old fashioned, but perfectly fine.
Pool area clean and quiet. Pool was small and freezing, but kids didn't mind. Enough loungers for the small number of guests, but left out in all weathers, so not in the best condition. Not sure if this would be different in peak season.
Very quiet - other guests were mainly older couples. In fact, there were no other children at all apart from a Portuguese family staying over the weekend.
Around a 15 minute walk to the marina, which was lovely, with lots of reasonable cafes and restaurants. 10 mins to the crazy golf, which was expensive but worthwhile, taking about 90 minutes to play 18 holes. Nice cafe, too.
Restaurant within the apartment block serves snacks and dinner, which was quite expensive compared to marina prices. Cheap internet access and pool table for kids though, so a good option for the odd night. Pizza restaurant nearby - an 'all you can eat' type, with the most bizarre sweet pizzas, including rice pudding (!) Delicious!
Never taken the kids abroad at this time of year before, but wouldn't hesitate to do it again. One week is enough though - just a bit too quiet otherwise, but may be different in high season.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leigh74Howitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Again similar to a customer review in June 2010. we arrived at 8.45pm on a Tuesday. Reception closed nobody about extremely quiet location. We phoned the number left on reception shutter. A man said he would arrive shortly, this never happend after 30mins I walked to the back of hotel and spoke to the owners of the bar, they explained the apartments are run seperate to the bar and this was the NORM senario. They were not impressed by the way guests are treated . They eventually rang again for me and after another 20 minutes a man arrived and opend the rerception.
Room comfortable although very basic, nails left on walls were pictures once where. 2 pans, microwave in kitchen although no plug unless you carried the microwave across the kitchen to the serving hatch next to a plug, then couldnt use serving hatch.
Noisy neibourghs room above (locals ). Pool nice. Location a bit of a walk to main marina 15 mins. Our taxi cost 4.50 euro. Area very clean. Best price for a pint was 150 euro. most expensive was 250 euro. Would recommend Parkys bar at the far end of Marina for best drink prices. Food good Indian on the Marina fab. If visiting May-June-July be aware alot of road improvements happening. Alot of drills and diggers along pavements around Marina area and beach area..... Overall good value £267 a couple we paid 4 nights.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiedickinson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed here in June 2010 and got off to a bad start - we arrived around midnight and had been assured by our travel agent that there would be someone on reception to let us in, however this was not the case - there was a notice on the closed up reception giving you a phone number to ring, and someone would then come and let you in. When we rang the lady she was having dinner in the next town, but got there after about 20 minutes. We thought this was dreadful as if you didnt have a mobile you would be stuck! The room was fine, but unfortunately we had noisy neighbours so struggled to sleep the first night - we mentioned this to the receptionist the next morning - she was very very helpful and moved us to another room - we had no problems with noise from thereon!
The hotel is basic but you get what you pay for - the rooms were clean and had the basic essentials - colour tv, pots and pans etc in the kitchen area, and a fan if you requested it (though the rooms were nice and cool at night so we didnt need this).
The harbour in Vilamoura was lovely - a 20 minute leisurely walk or a taxi wasnt over expensive if you couldnt face the walk. The harbour is beautiful and was the highlight of our stay - we ate there each night, there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. There are two waterparks on the island, Aqualand was really quiet though not as well advertised as the other - we found that both were very good, but if you go June time there were hardly any queues at Aqualand which was great! The beach in Vilamoura is nice. We also did a boat trip which we took from the harbour which was well worth doing. Buses are easy to catch and plentiful if you want to visit other places.
To sum up - the hotel was clean, and adequate but dont stay there if walking is not your thing!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milsta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We have had a great 5 days at Rio apartments arriving Moday 4th Oct and returnin on Fri 8th Oct, there were 3 of us travelling there so we booked a one bedroomed apartment and a studio apartment too as my mum had previously been there last year! On arrival reception was shut for 1 hour due to the receptionist being called way to another Garvetur apartment block. When she returned she was quick to process us with our keys and and even gave us a room upgrade as our room was not yet cleaned and ready.

The studio apartments have had new (comfy) beds and decor and are currently awaiting new kitchens, whilst the one & two bedroomed apartments have had brand new kitchens and are currently awaiting new beds and decor throughout.
The outside of the building has also been repainted a bright welcoming (orange/yellow) colour and had a new sign and lighting put outside the entrance. (any pictures that are already posted on here will now most probably be outdated due to the refurbishment)

Beds in the one and two bedroomed apartments are very hard and quite uncomfortable . . . however, no matter where we have stayed in Vilamoura over the last 10 years all the beds have been the same, even when we stayed in a 5* hotel near to the marina.

Pool was cleaned every morning, and although very cold it was extremely clean. There are only about 30 beds round the pool (some with blue matresses), so if you are planning to sunbathe by the pool all day it is advisable to get down to the pool quite early, with the excpetion of a Wenesday when the pool will most likey be very quiet due to most people going to the local market in Quarteira.

Overall a brilliant 5 day gettaway, which will be made even better when all rooms are completely refurbished. Will definately be returning early next year!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We will have stayed at these apartments for the last 3 years when we arrive there on Sunday 3/10. The hotel staff are very friendly, apartments are well equipped if you need to cook for yourself. We stayed there last year in a one bedroomed apartment - we did not request a fan as one was supplied already, together with iron, ironing board!
Balcony overlooked the pool with table and four chairs. You go on holiday to relax and chill out and do sightseeing, tours etc. If you expect your accommodation to be exceptional and upmarket then you pay for it. Everybody's tastes differ. You cannot rely on what you read unless you try it for yourself. We will continue to stay at the Rio Apartments for the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwattsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Apartment was adequate, although the balcony was very small and we thought the kitchen was too big. Clean.
The replacement of sheets and towels seemed a bit hit and miss. We only had one change of sheets in 10 nights.
All the staff were very helpful.
About a 15 minute walk to the marina, a taxi ride was @8 euro eavch way if you wanted it.
Did not eat in the restaurant , but the alcohol prices were very reasonable. Ther was a lot of noise from the bar area until very late (3.30am) on Saturday nights
The TV could only recieve 4 Portuguese channels, although I must say we did not miss being able to watch as there is plenty of entertainment in Vilamoura. (Try O'Sheas Bar).
All in all we got what we paid for and were quite happy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leesm109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#35 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scalabis Apartments
Scalabis Apartments
#31 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Village Apartments
The Old Village Apartments
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pinhal da Marina
Pinhal da Marina
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Property: Rio Apartments
Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-476, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing