We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pinhal da Marina
Nearby Hotels
$207
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Gale Marina(Vilamoura)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dom Pedro Marina(Vilamoura)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$291
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Four Seasons Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
$241
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Gale Ampalius(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
$119
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$258
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Old Village Apartments(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
$306
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
241
177
48
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
177
48
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkself cateringsmaller poolslight hillstudio apartmentsun loungersthese apartmentsonsite shopspar supermarketpool viewmini marketon arrivaltable chairstaxi homea quiet residential arealovely complexfree safe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 484 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Nice apartment complex with restaurant/bar and 2 swimming pools, sunloungers, table tennis, pool table etc sited in a large fenced area with spacious gardens. There is a reception area to cater for the guests and the staff were very helpful. We were a party of 2 families with 4 kids in total. It worked very well and we spent a lot of time at the pool and used the bar/restaurant a lot. The receptionist (Claudia) gave us good advise where to eat, where to buy shopping, and she booked us taxis etc and helped us have an enjoyable stay. It is well located, around a 15 min walk to the marina and 5 minutes to the local supermarket. The décor of our apartment was a bit dated but everything was clean, functional and tidy. I would recommend this place for families with children, but there were a mixed bag of guests, some Spanish, portugese, german, irish and English.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MerlinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Good afternoon,
Thank you very much indeed for your nice comments. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you and your family again soon.
Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were on the third floor with no lift and could only access it by walking up and down 54 steps at a time. No mean feat in the blistering heat!!! Breakfast was okay but never had any variations throughout our two week stay! It is 10 minutes walk to the nearest supermarket and would benefit from having one on the site. Also at least 20 minute walk to the marina. Not a place for the fainthearted with all the walking from one place to another. Wi-Fi was not available consistently and could only be accessed, sometimes, in the lounge or reception area. Also, no air-conditioning in the bedroom so this affected my sleep somewhat. Didn't realise till we got there that reception is not 24-hours and although reception staff are very friendly and helpful and request maintenance support, this is not always forthcoming. Not one of the worst places we have stayed but would have appreciated knowing about hit and miss Wi-Fi and selective air conditioning etc.

Room Tip: Just be aware that you may end up on the third floor and no lifts but lots of steps to negotiate.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending us your comments concerning your stay at Pinhal da Marina.
We offer accommodation with direct access to the pools and gardens as well as apartments on higher floors (of which some have lifts). The apartment you stayed in on the 3rd floor does not have a lift but is very demanded as it offers more privacy (no neighbours above) and a great view of Vilamoura.
Pinhal da Marina had a mini market for years but it was closed because the supermarkets supply nearby is much more complete.
The Wi-Fi coverage in certain areas is sometimes not good enough but we are working on a solution. At the moment it is only available at the Restaurant/ bar and the reception
Pinhal da Marina is a self-catering unit and the Reception opening hours are not 24 hours a day.
In all our apartments the air conditioning is available in the living room; the climate of the Algarve- except rare days- does not justify the installation of more sophisticated air conditioning equipment.

Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I do not recommend this apartment to anyone. I have stayed in many apartments and have never had an experience like this. The hotel claims to be 4* but even 3* would be pushing it. The room is supposed to accommodate four people as that was what we booked for but two of us had to sleep on sofa beds in the living room and there was no space for our suitcases and to put our things.
The reception staff were very unhelpful whenever we had a problem. They claim to have free wifi, which only worked in the reception sometimes. Reception closes at 8 and 6 on Fridays and Sundays so if you have any problems in the evenings, there's no way of getting any help. They did not clean the kitchens for us or provide us with any cleaning products and said we have a dishwasher but when we tried to use it, it was broken. When we called reception to ask for it to be fixed they were so rude and just said we didn't know how to use it properly and sent someone up. Only towards the end of the stay they replaced it having realised it was actually broken and did not believe us when we first told them.
As we had no clean cups or plates we asked the restaurant staff to provide us with a couple for that day and they were so rude and got very angry at us and threw the plates at us and when we complained about this to reception they did nothing about it. The tv did not work and was very old, the iron was not working properly and burned some of our clothes. Overall we had such a horrible experience staying at this apartment. Definitely not worth it for the money and no way is it 4*, will never go again and strongly recommend no one to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We will try to answer your comments although they seem extremely severe to us:
- We are sorry that the service of our Reception and Restaurant staff did not meet your expectations. However, the vast majority of our customers send us excellent reviews about our terms.
- We are working on a solution for a better Wi-Fi coverage.
- As concerns the sofa beds, they are the only way for us to accommodate 4 people in a one-bedroom apartment but the mattresses are same as the ones in the bedroom.

- Pinhal da Marina is a self-catering unit and the Reception opening hours are not 24 hours a day.
- We are sorry that your dishwasher was not replaced earlier and apologize for this incident.
- We are in the process of replacing our TVs. Most apartments now have larger TVs or LCD screens.
- Pinhal da Marina’s Four Star rating is official and follows a long list of requirements. We have been assessed at the end of last year and the four star rating has been confirmed.

Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have just returned from a week in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Pinhal de Marina ,myself my husband and 2 boys 6 &10 yrs.
Our apartment was in what I can only describe as a run down tower block on the third floor with a dodgy old lift.
The apartment was large but pretty grotty, I cannot believe this place has been awarded 4 stars ?
It's very quiet and a bit out of the way,nothing going on and only a pool bar for food etc. The male staff in the pool bar were amongst the rudest I have ever come across , I always think when you come across someone rude, kill them with kindness and they will improve - not in this case, I was flogging a dead horse ! The grounds are tatty and our garden view apartment was looking over a car park !
Dogs barking morning noon and night and the only aircon is in the lounge.
We were not able to pay for late checkout the day we left and I also have to warn you they have no courtesy room or secure place to leave your luggage.
I really don't have much positives to say, the rest of the guests were nice, no bother .
I have been to Portugal a few times and you can definitely do better than here. Maybe of you have a studio or 1 bed place it may be modernised but I wouldn't be taking the chance if I were you !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacquithomas0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment even though we are sorry to receive this negative feedback. Our permanent restaurant staff members have been with us for many years and their service has always been highly praised by our customers. However, we had to reinforce our team with new staff members during the summer and we can only apologize for the bad service you experienced. We will make sure that this kind of unacceptable situation will not happen again.

We can understand that you did not enjoy the decoration of the apartment you stayed in. We are in the process of remodelling some apartments, from dark wood furniture to lighter colours for instance. We always try and suggest alternatives within Pinhal da Marina whenever our customers are not happy with their accommodation but we regret this was not possible at this time of the year.

Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We first visited last year for 5 nights and decided to return again this year for a 10 night stay. For the cost for a family of four the Pinhal is great value for money (especially with the bargain flights we took with Ryan Air).

The best thing is the sunbed situation - practically every other place I have ever visited has always been a nightmare for sunbeds, but during our visits here (both late July) we have never had an issue getting a sunbed - so no need to get up at 6.00am every day.

Whilst the accommodation is not the most luxurious, for the price it would be pretty hard to beat the quality you get. This year we chose a pool view room as opposed to the garden view room, which worked out at about £10.00 a night more. For this we got a bigger room/bathroom and probably slightly more modern room. The rooms are fully equipped for self catering. TV Channels give you either Sky News or BBC World News.

The staff in the reception were extremely helpful, and booked us our trip to one of the water parks.

The advertised free wi-fi is pretty much hit and miss, if you need to get on line, best to use access in the bars/restaurants in Villamoura - all the ones we visited provide this.

The walk to the marina area can be done in about 15 minutes which you soon get used to. As an alternative we did the walk to Quarteria a couple of times which only takes about 5 minutes more.

We really enjoyed our nights out in Vilamoura, with some excellent places to eat and the Pinhal is a great base for a trip to the resort.

Finally, can recommend the use of Yellow Fish transfers to/from the airport at a cost of 50 euros return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Paul,
We would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are particularly pleased that you decided to visit us again and that you enjoyed your holiday at Pinhal da Marina. We hope we will have the pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews