We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$442
$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$382
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pestana Vila Sol(Vilamoura)
$198
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura(Vilamoura)
$377
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dom Pedro Marina(Vilamoura)
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$327
$310
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Four Seasons Vilamoura(Vilamoura)
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
249
185
54
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
185
54
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkself cateringslight hillsmaller poolsun loungersstudio apartmentthese apartmentspool viewmini marketnearest shoplovely complextable chairsonsite restauranttaxi homea quiet residential areagreat apartmentslocal spar
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 509 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although the apartment was dated, the complex itself was brilliant! The two pools never seemed to be overly busy (shame there was no lifeguard around!), the grounds were kept really clean and garden area was lush. The staff were excellent and very keen to help - especially the restaurant staff! Food was very cheap and tasty...drinks cheap too!

Didn't like the fact that towels were kept on sun loungers (even though signs clearly state this is not to happen). People on TripAdvisor moan about the steep hill up to the complex...don't be put off my this - the hill really isn't all that bad! Taxi's are so cheap so thats another option.

Plenty of restaurants around the Marina area - cheap, tasty and have a wonderful view!!

Would definitely go back to Pinhal...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchMaid2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday at Pinhal da Marina. We try our best to avoid towels being kept on sun loungers and have signs around the pool however, it is not easy to get all of our guests to cooperate. As concerns the decoration, we are gradually modernizing some of our apartments .
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turísticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at Pinhal and have to say we were very happy with our choice.
We booked a studio with a double bed which was quite dated in decor and really could do with an update. Although it was a self catering unit, we would not feel comfortable cooking as the units were very old, same for the cutlery and other utensils, there was a musty sort of smell here too.

HOWEVER, overall we had a great time as the complex is very well landscaped, lovely plants, flowers and the general ambience is superb. We were very delighted that there were plenty of sunbeds available at any time of the day, not one person put out towels, the pool area was clean and tidy (main pool as we didn't use the smaller one but very clean too). Liked the fact there was no blaring music or silly pool games, though we noted a kids entertainer who was nice and low key.

We ate lunch here on 4 occasions and thought the prices and quality of food was good, staff were very friendly too. Also served a good range of drinks and there is ice cream available for the kids. Portion sizes are very generous indeed.

Would not consider eating an evening meal here or going half board as the restaurant is old fashioned and the furniture needs a revamp, there is just no atmosphere which is a shame as the food is very good. Thought it was odd too that we were told that if we wanted breakfast we would have to order the night before, seems you can't just turn up, hence our trips to the local cafes etc.

Location wise was brilliant, just a 10 minute stroll to the marina, 7 to the Spar which has fresh meat, bread and an extremely good range of groceries. In this area too is a cafe and a pasteleria offering well priced snacks and pastries. Taxis back are only 3.90 to 5 euros which is great value and saves a walk back from the centre through some questionable areas.

Staff are all very pleasant, receptionist very helpful when we experienced problems with our sink and a leak, this is always a good sign when things go wrong and they are corrected speedily and without fuss.

Was not happy that the housekeeping left our studio at 6pm which is just far too late. Luckily we spent a great deal of time by the pool so got back when the cleaner was leaving but normally we have a rest around 4-6 which would have been a right pain.

We were a couple attending a wedding but would come back with our teenagers as there is enough to do, we saw a football table, snooker, tennis etc and there is wifi available by the pool and at reception, shame there is none in the room.

This is a very good complex overall but quality of apartments do vary considerably. Oh and the complex is VERY QUIET!!!! I am a terrible sleeper but slept very peacefully. The previous post must have heard an off site dog barking, I could only hear an occasional bark coming from a nearby villa, hardly Pinhals fault!!

The TA rank is well deserved, a refurbishment of both older rooms and the restaurant would really improve is complex and compared to prices at others it is excellent.

Room Tip: Studios by reception with a garden view are old fashioned but a nice size.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1oftheLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit.

As concerns the housekeeping services, despite all the effort of our team and backup teams, occasional delay may occur during the high season and we do apologize for the delay you experienced.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and as we are in the process of renovating some of our apartments and community room next to the restaurant.

Kind regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turísticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The apartments are generally clean but unless you get a new apartment then the majority of the apartments are quite dated. The chairs / sun loungers around the pool also needed updated. Shop around for best price as hotel website can be misleading and doesn't guarantee the better apartments. Hope you like dogs barking at night.

Room Tip: Request a room near the second / new pool these are the better apartments. Rooms near the bar area not as modern. Staff reported that the better apartments are snapped up in January for summer bookings in July and August.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Good afternoon,
Many thanks for booking your summer holiday with us and for your feedback. It is very important to us.
We offer different solutions to our clients and our prices vary accordingly, depending on the view, access to the gardens and pools and type of decoration the apartments have. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by barking dogs. Noise from neigbours or animals is a challenge for any hotel or resort and this is unfortunately out of our control.
Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In summary, it was a great self catering chalet for our family of four - very spacious rooms with good balcony view - wold definitely go again. Great if you do not want to be in the thick of the noisy hustle and bustle of the town and don't mind the short walk.

7 minutes walk down the hill to the nearest supermarket, restaurant and cafe - then another 7-8 minutes to large number of restaurants and shops around the marina (including McDonalds - if you REALLY want it!).

Two pools, one reasonably shallow for the kids (and the oldies), the other quite deep - both well kept. Good surroundings - quiet as away from the main road and shops/restaurants.

Can use the local equivalent of Boris-bikes, outside the apartments and various places like at the bottom of the hill near the main road, the local supermarket, all around marina, etc. Hire cards from reception need to be back by 8pm, first 45 mins is free and can have the bike for up to 3 hours.

Airport is about 30 mins direct by taxi.

Food is reasonable in price, marina can be more costly.

Food from cafe near main pool is good value and tasty - not massive choice but enough for about 3 meals for the more fussy of us.

If you book on day trip to slide & splash (about 30 Euros each) it is about 80-90 minutes away, good for adults and older children, take umbrellas as not much shade and can be quite hot. You can take your own food and drink. Plenty of grassed areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dermot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Greetings from Pinhal da Marina,

Many thanks for your comment, it is highly appreciated.

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday in Vilamoura and we hope to see you again next year!

Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have recently arrived home after a week's stay at Pinhal, and we had a fantastic stay at the apartments. My family consists of myself,my wife and our two children, with our eldest being 3 years old and youngest 11 months old. We would highly recommend Pinhal for any young families like ourselves. The atmosphere around the complex is very friendly and child-centred. The pools are excellent, our 3 year old loved the splash pool as he could stand up in there and happily played for hours. The kids club was very well-run and Matteo was fantastic with all of the children. As well as the activities that he ran,it was nice for the children to have some time in the shaded area where he had Lego, colouring in etc for them to use. As well as being great for families, other plus points were the beautifully kept gardens and the food in the restaurant was very good but be prepared to wait! Our apartment was clean although the interior was a little dated. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Pinhal has a good location - about 20mins walk to the marina which was lovely and filled with restaurants and bars. We would recommend Uniko for seafood and the Thai restaurant at the marina was excellent too. Overall,a great place to stay for young families. We would definitely return to Pinhal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidRichard1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your stay at Pinhal da Marina.

Our slogan is “holidays for the whole family” and we are happy that you all enjoyed your time with us.

Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews