We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
255
186
57
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
186
57
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkself cateringsmaller poolslight hillsun loungersstudio apartmentthese apartmentspool viewmini marketspar supermarketlovely complextable chairsonsite restauranttaxi homea quiet residential areagreat apartmentsfree safe
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 519 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In summary, it was a great self catering chalet for our family of four - very spacious rooms with good balcony view - wold definitely go again. Great if you do not want to be in the thick of the noisy hustle and bustle of the town and don't mind the short walk.

7 minutes walk down the hill to the nearest supermarket, restaurant and cafe - then another 7-8 minutes to large number of restaurants and shops around the marina (including McDonalds - if you REALLY want it!).

Two pools, one reasonably shallow for the kids (and the oldies), the other quite deep - both well kept. Good surroundings - quiet as away from the main road and shops/restaurants.

Can use the local equivalent of Boris-bikes, outside the apartments and various places like at the bottom of the hill near the main road, the local supermarket, all around marina, etc. Hire cards from reception need to be back by 8pm, first 45 mins is free and can have the bike for up to 3 hours.

Airport is about 30 mins direct by taxi.

Food is reasonable in price, marina can be more costly.

Food from cafe near main pool is good value and tasty - not massive choice but enough for about 3 meals for the more fussy of us.

If you book on day trip to slide & splash (about 30 Euros each) it is about 80-90 minutes away, good for adults and older children, take umbrellas as not much shade and can be quite hot. You can take your own food and drink. Plenty of grassed areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dermot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Greetings from Pinhal da Marina,

Many thanks for your comment, it is highly appreciated.

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday in Vilamoura and we hope to see you again next year!

Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have recently arrived home after a week's stay at Pinhal, and we had a fantastic stay at the apartments. My family consists of myself,my wife and our two children, with our eldest being 3 years old and youngest 11 months old. We would highly recommend Pinhal for any young families like ourselves. The atmosphere around the complex is very friendly and child-centred. The pools are excellent, our 3 year old loved the splash pool as he could stand up in there and happily played for hours. The kids club was very well-run and Matteo was fantastic with all of the children. As well as the activities that he ran,it was nice for the children to have some time in the shaded area where he had Lego, colouring in etc for them to use. As well as being great for families, other plus points were the beautifully kept gardens and the food in the restaurant was very good but be prepared to wait! Our apartment was clean although the interior was a little dated. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Pinhal has a good location - about 20mins walk to the marina which was lovely and filled with restaurants and bars. We would recommend Uniko for seafood and the Thai restaurant at the marina was excellent too. Overall,a great place to stay for young families. We would definitely return to Pinhal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidRichard1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your stay at Pinhal da Marina.

Our slogan is “holidays for the whole family” and we are happy that you all enjoyed your time with us.

Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from out 6th holiday at Pinhal, and as usual it was excellent! I stayed with my husband, 2 teenage kids and my father, in his 70's, and Pinhal suits us all. We had our usual 3 bed/2 bathroom apartment, which although a little dated is clean and comfortable. The kids had great fun in the pool, meeting friends from previous years, and my 16 yr old son finally managed to beat his grandad at table tennis on the outdoor table, after many years of loosing!
The walk down to the marina is lovely, although we avoid the pricey restaurants on the front and eat at the ones on the square behind the marina. (Braganca Mar, O'Colonial and Casa do Pescador are our favourites). Another highlight is our trips to the bakery, Mourapao, the original bakery being near to the large spar supermarket, which means going to buy the next day's breakfast supplies can be combined with a delicious lunch in Mourapao! There is also a new late night Mourapao near to McDonalds which is lovely for a cake and drink on the walk home, after dinner in one of the restaurants.
A new feature this year was the kids club, and Matthaus was superb, my 14 yr old daughter enjoyed trying to master the tightrope, and practising her soccer skills with him! All in all Pinhal is a well priced, well situated complex, and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Joanne,

Thank you very much for your preference.

We are happy to hear that Pinhal da Marina fits the needs of your whole family and that you enjoyed your stay.

See you next year!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at Pinhal da Marina. We travelled as a family of four (two kids 4.5yrs and 9 months) and were really happy with our stay. Pinhal da Marina really surprised us. The setting is lovely, set amongst lovely gardens dotted with pine trees and enclosed by a perimeter fence, it was a lovely quite, safe environment for kids. We stayed in a ground floor one bedroom apratment with a garden view and it was perfect. Very spacious apartment, with excellant AC with all the facilities/appliances you would need (expect for laundrey although this can be organised by reception staff), very clean with a nice ground floor terrace with two sun loungers looking onto plenty of grass areas for the kids to enjoy. The staff were wonderfull, from front desk reception, to restaurant/bar to cleaning staff, everyone was courteous, friendly and always willing to help (spoke perfect English also). There is two pool areas, one by the restauraunt/bar which had a large pool (with a shallow 1.1M and deep end 2.7M at its deepest - which was great!) and a lovely kids pool 0.55M deep all round. There is another large pool (shallow/deep end) at another end of the complex with tennis court close by. Also near the pool is a kids playground, with a swing, see-saw monkey bars etc but smartly closed in with acess in and out from pool area only. A kids club started begining of August and this was great. The activities co-ordinator (unfortuanely her name escapes me) was excellant. Great with the kids and organised so many different activites throughout the day from 10am until 5/6pm some days. The restauraunt/bar was lovely. Food was very tasty but menu was limited and could have offered more lunch/snack options during the day. You could also order take away from the apartments and they would ring when food was ready which was very handy. The nearest shop was a Spar (had everything you would need) is about an 8 minute walk away and the Marina was 15 minute walk (a taxi depending on what side of the Marina your on, would be €5/€6)
During our stay, my sister and her husband and my father also stayed for a week. They stayed in two studio apartments. I was really impressed by both there apartments. Really spacious with modern decor (particuarly the one with a pool view at the single large pool) and ideal for couples or singles looking for a quite get away in Villamoura.
Villamoura Marina itself is very nice with plenty of bars/restauraunts to choose from. There is also a kids funfair at one end which is a handy distraction at times. One critism I would have many restauraunts on the Marina is service can be slow, particularly noticable with kids, but the earlier you eat the quicker it will be, we found if not ordering by 7.15pm service could progressively get slower. The Marina had a very nice safe feel to it and a great buzz around every evening.There is two nice beaches off the Marina, one near the Tivoli hotel and a nicer beach near the Lake Resort side, however Pinhal da Marina has everythiong we looked for and we never really left the complex by day. All in all, a great holiday made very enjoyable by our stay in Pinhal da Marina, I would highly recommend it for families and couples/singles alike, we will certainly return.

Room Tip: The apartments near the second single pool appear to be more modern. Would also recommend ground floor apartments if with small kids.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cantona07Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Good afternoon,

First of all, thank you very much for your comment. It is very important to us.

We are glad to know that you and your family had a good time at Pinhal da Marina and that you appreciated the activities that were recently put in place for children. We are working on a better offer of lunch/snack options as you suggested and we hope that you will visit us soon to try them out!

Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

For two weeks, without moving too far for food and water, you couldn't go wrong for the Pinhal Da Marina. Set in the hills above Vilamoura, the gated low rise complex is absolutely perfect for the family, set among tall shady pine trees with apartment blocks linked by pathways to the two central pools. As for the accommodation, despite being of some age, our pool view one bedroom was spacious enough do house our family of five for two weeks without feeling we where living on top of each other. TV is available for the young ones - but probably could have done with a fee Kids channels. WIFI was limited - we were able to log onto the poolside bar wifi mostly, but this could be improved. Accommodation was clean, and regularly cleaned over the two weeks. Walk to the Marina was 10 - 15 minutes through the less well off parts of Vilamoura, but found the local Bicycle scheme really useful for nipping to the Spar down the hill. Staff could not have been better - John, Paulo, Emmanuel in the pool bar were brilliant, always happy to assist, and really made the kids feel at home. We stayed B&B, and grateful for the good selection at breakfast which set us up for the day. Would I go back? without a doubt!. Was there any downsides - perhaps one or two nights with rowdy neighbors and barking dogs - but these were out of the control of the staff and management.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabok111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Greetings from sunny Vilamoura,

Many thanks for your comment. It is highly appreciated.

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Pinhal da Marina.

As concerns WiFi, access is good by the pool/restaurant and reception but inside the apartments, it needs to be improved.

We hope that we will find a solution to reduce/fix this problem in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews