We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
255
186
57
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
186
57
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkself cateringsmaller poolslight hillsun loungersstudio apartmentthese apartmentspool viewmini marketspar supermarketlovely complextable chairsonsite restauranttaxi homea quiet residential areagreat apartmentsfree safe
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 519 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at Pinhal da Marina. We travelled as a family of four (two kids 4.5yrs and 9 months) and were really happy with our stay. Pinhal da Marina really surprised us. The setting is lovely, set amongst lovely gardens dotted with pine trees and enclosed by a perimeter fence, it was a lovely quite, safe environment for kids. We stayed in a ground floor one bedroom apratment with a garden view and it was perfect. Very spacious apartment, with excellant AC with all the facilities/appliances you would need (expect for laundrey although this can be organised by reception staff), very clean with a nice ground floor terrace with two sun loungers looking onto plenty of grass areas for the kids to enjoy. The staff were wonderfull, from front desk reception, to restaurant/bar to cleaning staff, everyone was courteous, friendly and always willing to help (spoke perfect English also). There is two pool areas, one by the restauraunt/bar which had a large pool (with a shallow 1.1M and deep end 2.7M at its deepest - which was great!) and a lovely kids pool 0.55M deep all round. There is another large pool (shallow/deep end) at another end of the complex with tennis court close by. Also near the pool is a kids playground, with a swing, see-saw monkey bars etc but smartly closed in with acess in and out from pool area only. A kids club started begining of August and this was great. The activities co-ordinator (unfortuanely her name escapes me) was excellant. Great with the kids and organised so many different activites throughout the day from 10am until 5/6pm some days. The restauraunt/bar was lovely. Food was very tasty but menu was limited and could have offered more lunch/snack options during the day. You could also order take away from the apartments and they would ring when food was ready which was very handy. The nearest shop was a Spar (had everything you would need) is about an 8 minute walk away and the Marina was 15 minute walk (a taxi depending on what side of the Marina your on, would be €5/€6)
During our stay, my sister and her husband and my father also stayed for a week. They stayed in two studio apartments. I was really impressed by both there apartments. Really spacious with modern decor (particuarly the one with a pool view at the single large pool) and ideal for couples or singles looking for a quite get away in Villamoura.
Villamoura Marina itself is very nice with plenty of bars/restauraunts to choose from. There is also a kids funfair at one end which is a handy distraction at times. One critism I would have many restauraunts on the Marina is service can be slow, particularly noticable with kids, but the earlier you eat the quicker it will be, we found if not ordering by 7.15pm service could progressively get slower. The Marina had a very nice safe feel to it and a great buzz around every evening.There is two nice beaches off the Marina, one near the Tivoli hotel and a nicer beach near the Lake Resort side, however Pinhal da Marina has everythiong we looked for and we never really left the complex by day. All in all, a great holiday made very enjoyable by our stay in Pinhal da Marina, I would highly recommend it for families and couples/singles alike, we will certainly return.

Room Tip: The apartments near the second single pool appear to be more modern. Would also recommend ground floor apartments if with small kids.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cantona07Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Good afternoon,

First of all, thank you very much for your comment. It is very important to us.

We are glad to know that you and your family had a good time at Pinhal da Marina and that you appreciated the activities that were recently put in place for children. We are working on a better offer of lunch/snack options as you suggested and we hope that you will visit us soon to try them out!

Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

For two weeks, without moving too far for food and water, you couldn't go wrong for the Pinhal Da Marina. Set in the hills above Vilamoura, the gated low rise complex is absolutely perfect for the family, set among tall shady pine trees with apartment blocks linked by pathways to the two central pools. As for the accommodation, despite being of some age, our pool view one bedroom was spacious enough do house our family of five for two weeks without feeling we where living on top of each other. TV is available for the young ones - but probably could have done with a fee Kids channels. WIFI was limited - we were able to log onto the poolside bar wifi mostly, but this could be improved. Accommodation was clean, and regularly cleaned over the two weeks. Walk to the Marina was 10 - 15 minutes through the less well off parts of Vilamoura, but found the local Bicycle scheme really useful for nipping to the Spar down the hill. Staff could not have been better - John, Paulo, Emmanuel in the pool bar were brilliant, always happy to assist, and really made the kids feel at home. We stayed B&B, and grateful for the good selection at breakfast which set us up for the day. Would I go back? without a doubt!. Was there any downsides - perhaps one or two nights with rowdy neighbors and barking dogs - but these were out of the control of the staff and management.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabok111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Greetings from sunny Vilamoura,

Many thanks for your comment. It is highly appreciated.

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Pinhal da Marina.

As concerns WiFi, access is good by the pool/restaurant and reception but inside the apartments, it needs to be improved.

We hope that we will find a solution to reduce/fix this problem in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We returned last night from 9 nights at the Pinhal da Marina, we would highly recommend this complex, it was spotlessly clean, our apartment had a terrace and a pool view, it was very spacious, the kitchen is spotless if you decide to cook in, we strolled to the Marina every night (took us approx. 10 mins), we dined out every night at various restaurants on the Marina, did not get one bad meal, the food is absolutely excellent at the Mayflower restaurant on the Marina, and the Irish coffees and pizzas at Pizzeria Gelateria Capriccio (also on the Marina) were just fantastic, and the staff couldn't be nicer.
The Akvavit restaurant is also excellent on the Marina
We went with our 2 children (ages 3 and 5) and they had a ball in the kiddies pool, also a Kid's Club started up last Monday (so we only got to go for 2 days as we left on the Wednesday) it will run through for the month of August, the lady (can't remember her name) who ran the kiddies club was so nice and friendly, great with kids. It was very quiet while we were there, not over crowded, but not dead either, there was no problem getting sun loungers, I think though August is their busiest time.
The only thing we felt that they could improve on is their on site restaurant, not the food, thats fine for what you pay, however, they have nothing on display, they never have change if you pay by notes, we just felt if they put a bit more effort into the restaurant, they would sell a lot more, like snacks on display etc.
Overall though this is one excellent complex and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Manuel L L, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Lynda,

Many thanks for your comments. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Pinhal da Marina. Your suggestions about the restaurant are taken on board and we’ll make sure they are implemented when you visit us next time!

Kind regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a relaxing stay at Pinhal da Marina. We booked independently and chose a 3 bed town house (recently renovated) it was very large and clean in a sunny position - a very relaxing break.

The reception were really helpful and friendly. The complex was very clean and although quiet we loved our time there. The bar served lovely salads which were good value, making great start on our first night.

Would recommend these apartments and loved the stroll to town in the evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karnyw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day break with our 3 teenage kids. We found this hotel to be great value. Lovely part of the Algarve. Staff always helpful and smiling, especially john at the restaurant. The market on a wednesday is well worth a visit. costs aroud 5-6 euros to get there. We will almost certainly be going back to the Pinhal Da Marina.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve8888_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews