We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"SMASHING"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinhal da Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pinhal da Marina
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"SMASHING"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The one bedroom apartment was spacious and clean with a lovely view over the gorgeous gardens. Air conditioning included in price as is use of the safe and plenty English tv channels. Fully equipped with dishwasher, microwave etc. Staff are very friendly and obliging. The apartments are set in lovely gardens in a very nice quiet area of Villamoura about a 10 min pleasant walk to the marina. The pool area is spotless and sunbeds free and plentiful. The buffet breakfast always had lots of fresh fruit daily and nice bread, cheese juice etc. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LIBBY865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    148
    38
    6
    8
See reviews for
136
161
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for a week, just got back home to the rain...anyway I would highly recommend these apartments. We had a studio apartment which was spotless, big and had everything needed for a self catering holiday. This was much better equipped than we expected, with dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker etc. The grounds are beautiful, and well maintained. Air con and safe included at no extra charge. The staff are so helpfull and friendly. The walk to the Marina is really only 10 minutes walk and the Spar shop is just down the road behind the Church. Didn't eat at the resturant on site but I hear its good and cheap. We ate every night down at the Marina which has a great choice of resturants and bars. O Neill bar is the place to go for great live music and craic. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Pinhal Da Marina apartments and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TermonDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. This was much better equipped than we expected, with dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker etc. The grounds are beautiful, and well maintained. The restaurant was astonishingly cheap (EUR 3.15 for a bottle of house wine) and although the menu was limited it was well cooked and presented.

When we stayed the place was half empty (surprising for July). Indeed, we suspect that they are using imaginative tactics to get bednights, since the first week there was a batch of Olymic athletes staying there as part of their preparations, and the second week there was a rugby team staying there in advance of the Rugby 7s tournament.

There is no shop on site (although some literature advertises this). The nearest seems to be a Spar shop around 10 minutes walk away.

One thing to be aware of is that the property (indeed the whole town) seems to be underneath the take-off flight path from Faro airport. We did not find the noise too bad, although lots of people remarked on it (rather than complaining about it).

The staff were always helpful and friendly.

If returning to Vilamoura we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me-from-the-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just arrived back 08/08/12. Reception looked a bit dated, so I was slightly worried. Was shown to our room. Studio apartment. It was lovely, big, airy and spotlessly clean. Air con and safe included at no extra charge. Two pool areas, one less busy, we choose the bigger pool as it was more lively. Lovely and clean . We was staying bed and breakfast, this is a continental breakfast, but very nice, the restaurant provides some lovely food and not expensive. Staff are polite and very helpful. We had trouble with our tv, it was not tuned in properly (wanted to keep up to date with the Olympics ) we reported it, an hour later it was sorted. The harbour is a 10 minute walk away. The spar mini market and big supermarket also just down the road. They do not have a shop on site. The harbour itself is beautiful, a few restaurants were quite pricey and to be honest not the best food. We found a lovely place Ostra D'Ouro near the Portugal sports shop. Amazing food. Fish to die for. Would highly reccomend the pinhal da Marina. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelvedonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a 10 night stay . Our apartment was spotless and with internet and air conditioning included was a real plus . The restaurant within the complex was excellent and we used it for evening meals and lunch 3-4 times as it was reasonably priced in comparison with those around the marina. The menu choice was limited , however the quality was good.
The reception supervisor Dora was very helpful and organised and booked 2 trips for us .
During the first week of our stay the complex was only about 25% booked which was suprising for a complex of this quality however occupancy levels really picked up towards the end of our holiday.
Overall the complex is well run and very quiet , and the appartments are well maintained and serviced every day except Sundays.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ballymena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This resort far exceeded all our expectations, and we had a lovely relaxing break. The staff are very friendly, polite and professional; the rooms were spotlessly clean; the onsite restaurant, for the price, was good. Having two pools on site was an added bonus as one of them seemed to be adults only which meant you had the choice of being to enjoy the great weather in a peaceful and relaxing surrounding. The location also worked well for us. It is set in a tranquil area of the town, nestled amongst numerous villas, yet within a 15 minute walk to the bustling harbour front. Whilst this is not a high end luxury complex, it offers exceptional value for money and would whole heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jd76Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had read previous reviews saying this place was quiet and as that appealed to us we booked a week in may 12.    When we arrived we were met by a lovely lady at reception who not only showed us to our apartment but showed us round as well. She gave us a map and marked where the supermarkets were and the Marina she said it was quieter than normal so the bar and restaurant were closed for the next two days  which didn't bother us too as we're had opted for self catering . It was sad to hear that  the recession was hitting lbusiness.  The place was like a ghost town ( maybe due to time of year)with the pool bar and restaurant closed for 2 days due to the lack of customers there was no one else around. We were the only people around the pool.  Well after the initial shock of just how quiet it was   (didn't see any other guests until day 2) we really started to love the place and all its tranquility.  It's so nice to be away from  hustle and bustle of every day life at this place you have no other option but to relax. The apartment was spacious , spotless and well equipped  ours was a little old fashioned in furniture but very comfortable   (there are some newer apartments) we found the beds quite hard, The grounds and communal areas are lovely and well kept and again spotless.  There are 3 nice pools (one children's pool). If you are s/c. The supermarket is about 10 min walk but beware the complex is up a steep road so coming aback with shopping can be tiring.  We didn't have a car but if we come again we would have one for at least 2 days.  We had a pleasant walk to the marina ( about 20 min)  where are plenty of restaurants and a few shops but a lovely place  the taxi back cost €4.50.  In summary if you enjoy peace and quiet and like your own company this is the place for you . If you like a bit more going on and a choice of bars and restaurants then maybe this would be too quiet. Personally we like a relaxing peaceful holiday and would definitely return to this complex

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block and overlooking the bottom pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ShazWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal da Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal da Marina

Property: Pinhal da Marina
Address: Praca 3 Caminhos | Quarteira, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-439, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinhal da Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinhal da Marina Apartments 10/15 minute walk to the Marina for restaurant's, bar's, shop's, and the casino, with a choice of 2 excellent golden sandy beaches either side of the Marina. The Vilamoura golf courses are all within a five minute drive. "Pinhal da Marina" itself comprises of 128 apartments (from studio to 3 bedroom apartment) all furnished with air conditioning in the living room, heater in the bedrooms, satellite tv, a safety deposit box, and if your clients are eating in, the kitchen's are equipped with cooker's, micro wave oven, toaster, tea-coffee facility's and cooking utensils. A feature of the apartments is the spacious veranda's overlooking the gardens or swimming pools where you can sit and watch the sun go down with your favourite beverage in hand. "Pinhal da Marina" host's two large outdoor swimming pool's, a child's paddling pool, a children's playground, restaurant/bar, tennis court, and football, volleyball, basketball area's. Wi-Fi is free of charge in common areas (pool and reception) at Pinhal da Marina Pinmar restaurant is located at Pinhal da Marina by the main pool and it is open from Abril to October. Every day you can have meals a la carte or choose to have half / full board regimen. Also you can have a snack or drinks all day long. Continental breakfast is served daily from 7 am to 10 am (extra cost per person/ day). O Pinhal da Marina is a great place for family holidays and self-catering holidays all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinhal da Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinhal Da Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing