We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinhal da Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pinhal da Marina
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just arrived back 08/08/12. Reception looked a bit dated, so I was slightly worried. Was shown to our room. Studio apartment. It was lovely, big, airy and spotlessly clean. Air con and safe included at no extra charge. Two pool areas, one less busy, we choose the bigger pool as it was more lively. Lovely and clean . We was staying bed and breakfast, this is a continental breakfast, but very nice, the restaurant provides some lovely food and not expensive. Staff are polite and very helpful. We had trouble with our tv, it was not tuned in properly (wanted to keep up to date with the Olympics ) we reported it, an hour later it was sorted. The harbour is a 10 minute walk away. The spar mini market and big supermarket also just down the road. They do not have a shop on site. The harbour itself is beautiful, a few restaurants were quite pricey and to be honest not the best food. We found a lovely place Ostra D'Ouro near the Portugal sports shop. Amazing food. Fish to die for. Would highly reccomend the pinhal da Marina. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelvedonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    139
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
129
148
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a 10 night stay . Our apartment was spotless and with internet and air conditioning included was a real plus . The restaurant within the complex was excellent and we used it for evening meals and lunch 3-4 times as it was reasonably priced in comparison with those around the marina. The menu choice was limited , however the quality was good.
The reception supervisor Dora was very helpful and organised and booked 2 trips for us .
During the first week of our stay the complex was only about 25% booked which was suprising for a complex of this quality however occupancy levels really picked up towards the end of our holiday.
Overall the complex is well run and very quiet , and the appartments are well maintained and serviced every day except Sundays.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ballymena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This resort far exceeded all our expectations, and we had a lovely relaxing break. The staff are very friendly, polite and professional; the rooms were spotlessly clean; the onsite restaurant, for the price, was good. Having two pools on site was an added bonus as one of them seemed to be adults only which meant you had the choice of being to enjoy the great weather in a peaceful and relaxing surrounding. The location also worked well for us. It is set in a tranquil area of the town, nestled amongst numerous villas, yet within a 15 minute walk to the bustling harbour front. Whilst this is not a high end luxury complex, it offers exceptional value for money and would whole heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jd76Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had read previous reviews saying this place was quiet and as that appealed to us we booked a week in may 12.    When we arrived we were met by a lovely lady at reception who not only showed us to our apartment but showed us round as well. She gave us a map and marked where the supermarkets were and the Marina she said it was quieter than normal so the bar and restaurant were closed for the next two days  which didn't bother us too as we're had opted for self catering . It was sad to hear that  the recession was hitting lbusiness.  The place was like a ghost town ( maybe due to time of year)with the pool bar and restaurant closed for 2 days due to the lack of customers there was no one else around. We were the only people around the pool.  Well after the initial shock of just how quiet it was   (didn't see any other guests until day 2) we really started to love the place and all its tranquility.  It's so nice to be away from  hustle and bustle of every day life at this place you have no other option but to relax. The apartment was spacious , spotless and well equipped  ours was a little old fashioned in furniture but very comfortable   (there are some newer apartments) we found the beds quite hard, The grounds and communal areas are lovely and well kept and again spotless.  There are 3 nice pools (one children's pool). If you are s/c. The supermarket is about 10 min walk but beware the complex is up a steep road so coming aback with shopping can be tiring.  We didn't have a car but if we come again we would have one for at least 2 days.  We had a pleasant walk to the marina ( about 20 min)  where are plenty of restaurants and a few shops but a lovely place  the taxi back cost €4.50.  In summary if you enjoy peace and quiet and like your own company this is the place for you . If you like a bit more going on and a choice of bars and restaurants then maybe this would be too quiet. Personally we like a relaxing peaceful holiday and would definitely return to this complex

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block and overlooking the bottom pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ShazWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just spent a week at Pinhal da Marina. This is our third visit. It was very quiet last week with no more than a dozen people there. The place as usual was spotless, the gardens grounds and pools are beutiful. Dora at reception made us very welcome. The same in the bar we were the only one's in there but they couldn't do enough for us. The gardeners and maids always have a smile and say hello. Can't give this place enough praise. I garauntee you will not be disappointed. We look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Go for a studio overlooking the smaller pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CoppoKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel has its good and bad points. It seriously needs an update, everything is so old fashioned and dark. However, saying that everything was extremely clean. The two pool areas were lovely, we chose to stay round the smaller pool for the week and me and my boyfriend had the pool to ourselves most of the time. The complex was very quiet which we liked, as it was set away from the Marina so you don't get disturbed by noise. It was only a 15 minute walk to the Marina, we got Taxi's back most nights which only cost around 4 euros. The Marina was lovely...we ate there every night, I would highly recommend La Fragata. The food was beautiful. The Breakfast in the hotel was nice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, croissants, no fried food but we didn't mind. The hotel staff where extremely friendly, especially the restaurant staff. Our room was ok...we had maid service everyday except sundays when they have the day off, but again the rooms need updating. On our 4th day we returned to our room from the beach and I noticed lots of tiny spiders in the bath, all over our towels, on the floor and climbing up the walls, I called reception to see if someone could come and spray the room and they sent someone up no problem, the maid then walked in our bathroom and began squashing the spiders on the walls, bath, floor and into our towels with her fingers and left without saying a word!!!!! Then a few minutes later there where even more spiders! Reception then called back to see if the problem had been sorted out and when I said it hadn't her response was "what's the matter...have you never seen an insect before" well, yes I have actually but I don't expect to see them coming out from under the bath in what is supposed to have been a 4* hotel! Someone was then sent out to spray the room and fortunately the spiders stayed away for the next 3 days! On our last day we were not due to be picked up until 8.30pm, and check out was at 1pm, but reception let us keep our room till 8.30pm for no extra charge which was a bonus! Overall I enjoyed my holiday to Vilamoura but if I where to go back I wouldn't stay at Pinal Da Marina!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Myself and 11 other male golfers have just spent a week at the Pinhal da Marina complex in Vilamoura Portugal. On arrival the girl in reception was very nice, she quickly sorted our rooms and even got a member of staff to show us where they were on the grounds. The rooms where very spacious, we had four sharing each apartment with two bedrooms with twin beds. The apartments had everything you could want, a spacious lounge, nice bathroom with shower over bath and a good size kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, kettle etc. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and also had air conditioning at no extra cost. The grounds and gardens in the complex were very well looked after and very secure being fenced off from surrounding areas. The main pool and childrens pool were excellent, they were cleaned every morning and the pool area was spottless. The restaurant was very good and had breakfast from 7 to 10am which was continental, if you like a good fry up your out of luck but the continental was more than adequate to start the day. There is an all day menu with pizzas,sea bass and other simple foods but if you want an excellent meal there is another menu which you order for the next day which has some fantastic sea food dishes. I can highly recommend the "Cataplana" which is southern Portuguese dish of praws, clams, pork or monkfish. The prices at the restaurant were very reasonable for food and drink, and I would like to thank John and Manuel who were very helpfull with nothing being to much trouble. Also a thank you to the ladies in the kitchen who produced some excellent dishes, one of my friends Henry who is Spanish and a chef was most impressed with the standards. He went into the kitchen to thank the ladies and said the kitchen was spottless and very well organised. We didn't walk down to Villamoura Marina because we had hire cars but other guests said it was about a fifteen minute walk. This complex is just nicely away from the Marina and is very peaceful.
All in all I would highly recommend Pinhal da Marina to family's or couples alike, the place is spotless and the people are very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Piecrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 4,279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal da Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal da Marina

Property: Pinhal da Marina
Address: Praca 3 Caminhos | Quarteira, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-439, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinhal da Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinhal da Marina Apartments 10/15 minute walk to the Marina for restaurant's, bar's, shop's, and the casino, with a choice of 2 excellent golden sandy beaches either side of the Marina. The Vilamoura golf courses are all within a five minute drive. "Pinhal da Marina" itself comprises of 128 apartments (from studio to 3 bedroom apartment) all furnished with air conditioning in the living room, heater in the bedrooms, satellite tv, a safety deposit box, and if your clients are eating in, the kitchen's are equipped with cooker's, micro wave oven, toaster, tea-coffee facility's and cooking utensils. A feature of the apartments is the spacious veranda's overlooking the gardens or swimming pools where you can sit and watch the sun go down with your favourite beverage in hand. "Pinhal da Marina" host's two large outdoor swimming pool's, a child's paddling pool, a children's playground, restaurant/bar, tennis court, and football, volleyball, basketball area's. Wi-Fi is free of charge in common areas (pool and reception) at Pinhal da Marina Pinmar restaurant is located at Pinhal da Marina by the main pool and it is open from Abril to October. Every day you can have meals a la carte or choose to have half / full board regimen. Also you can have a snack or drinks all day long. Continental breakfast is served daily from 7 am to 10 am (extra cost per person/ day). O Pinhal da Marina is a great place for family holidays and self-catering holidays all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pinhal da Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinhal Da Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing