We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, basic apartment..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pe do Lago Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vilamoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pe do Lago Apartments
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Mintlaw, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, basic apartment..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from here..booked it under parque mourabel but on arrival was taken too the pe do lago apts. Turned out to be better cos seemingly pe do lago is the best out the 3!! We were on 3rd floor luckily theres an elevator!! Our apartment was nice, cleaned daily and just like any other reasonable priced apartment weve stayed in abroad. Only downside is no air conditioning!! Bit of a walk to marina but we used the local tourist train which comes every hour.. nice quiet place to stay. Wouldnt go back as we didnt like portugal for a holiday. Its not aimed at tourists, food isnt good and the portugese are not exactly the friendliest of people ..ok if you like to laze at pool!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Myself and my son went on a 7 day holiday to Pe-Do-Lago with my mother and have just returned, my son is 12. On arrival we had to wait on our apartment getting ready for us, as we arrived just after 12pm and had to wait till after 4pm I found this very frustrating, and then had to walk from the main reception up and around the corner to our apartments, the apartments had a security gate which was good, but only one pass was given and found this a pain if myself or my mum wanted to go out separately. we were so disappointed to b so far away from the beach and main attractions, on speaking to the staff we were promised they were within a 15 min walk, only to find it would take abt an hour to walk, There was a courtesy bus that ran to the Marina but only ran 3 times a day last run was 4pm. The train was good and ran every hr and cost 2 euros for an adult and 1.50 for a child under 12, but last train bk was 8.25pm, taking a taxi we found they cost different each time between 4-6 euros. There was no entertainment for kids of any age and finding on arrival you could only get WIFI WITHIN THE RECEPTION AREA AND NOT IN THE APARTMENT this meant my son spent most of time and ours walking back and forward to reception to enable my son to play his ipad, we also found out 3 days into the holiday that the 24hr internet that costs u 4 euros each time, was actually 24hr use not to b used within 24hrs this I found shocking the staff continued to take 4 euros a day from us. The apartments themselves were basic but very clean, our tv was the size of a postage stamp so never had it on, maid service was everyday and got clean towels everyday which was good, the lifts in the apartments kept sticking between floors aswell. The pool area was spotless and so was the swimming pool, there was never a rush for sun beds and plenty around, the pool area didn't open till 10am which wasn't a problem and was shut up at 8pm. The Marina itself was a disappointment, the boats were gorgeous and the restaurants amazing, but very expensive, the shops were very disappointing, I enjoy looking round shops on holiday, but I could count on one hand how many were at the Marina and again very expensive, all in all I would no come back to Villamoura or the Pe-Do-Lago apartments and wouldn't advise any families to stay here, I did enjoy my holiday it was very relaxing but not a place for kids.

Room Tip: Choose to upgrade to reduce boredom for the kids and to get air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxnatxx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Complex is gated and so a swipe card is needed. Excellent security. Alot of the apartments are privately owned so ideal for families as not a stag/hen do heaven at all.

We were shown to our door and explained everything. We had requested on booking with Travel Republic that if we could be near the children's swimming pools that would be great. Thank God this request was full filled by the hotel as I did pity other families that had to walk from the main Hotel Parque Maorabel and the Oasis Village Apartments with their swimming gear etc. We also were given a ground floor apartment which (initially on opening the patio doors was very disappointing as looking out at a garden) but this was excellent as so handy to go in and out to the pool area or the courtyard bar area. Beautiful garden areas provided, I was in heaven!!!

Our apartment was a one bedroom and was everything we wanted. Bathroom/Kitchen/Bedroom excellent. boiling hot water 100% of the time. One mattress in the sofa bed was really fit for the bin (thankfully we didnt need it). Cleaners came everyday except for Sunday so fantastic. Beds made everyday (however as we needed three single beds, one was a fold up and this was folded up everyday and put away into the corner, great if we needed the space but then this needed to be set up everynight again). TV only has one english atation, BBC World News but plenty Portuguese cartoons on so all good.

Pool area fantastic, not open till 10am but this never proved an issue for us. plenty of plastic sunloungers and the newer green ones and good few yellow mattresses for extra comfort. good few parasols on site but people did bring their own small parasols from their apartment balcony as there was plenty of concrete bases with a pipe provided for these around the pool.
Everywhere spotless.

Courtyard Bar and Restaurant provided (omelettes, sandwiches, salads, etc, looked very tasty), very handy for self catering as we got takeaway chips €2 for a good sized portion in a foil circular container. The man in the bar was excellent for directions etc. There was a pool table and playstation provided but we didnt use this. There also was a little library here too.

Supermarket short walk away , turn right at the gates and take first first right, big sign Jafers. Excellent for self catering, bakery on site. (Although Jafers in Vilamoura itself has a much bigger variety with a butchers counter and cheaper prices.)

Overall delighted with our holiday (although if children's entertainment provide it would have been the icing on the cake, in my opinion very easy organise a kiddies disco with the lovely karaoke lady, have a hour long kids club daily with few water games, coloring etc. or put in a simple playground).

Room Tip: if you want to be near children's pool book Pe De Lago out the three accommodation choices avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMcNGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We are just home from a 10 day stay in these apartments. At first we were so disappointed to discover we were so far from the beach as we have 2 children under 3. There are no playgrounds or restaurants or beach close to the complex. However once we settled in & met some other families around the pool we enjoyed our stay. We had a superior apt which was lovely. We walked to the marina/beach most days which took over an hour with the 3 year old stopping and starting!!! We got a taxi home every night. Overall we enjoyed our stay it was just a pity the location wasn't great!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakkea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Reading previous reviews about these hotels I was worried but it was one of the best i have stayed in. we had everything we needed and more. 3 fans,microwave,massive fridge freezer, the place was spotless and spacious, nothing but good things to say. The parque mourbel is the main reception and the staff were very helpful. I would definately stay here again. A taxi was only 4-5euro to the marina so even though the hotel isnt in the centre it is only 5mins drive.

If you go to the marina to eat go to Anchora its a portuguese place and its very nice and cheap. AVOID going to Rui's carvery & steak house, we waited over an hour and a half for our food to find hair in it and the staff didnt even say sorry to us, no manners at all!

There is a cocktail bar called Absolutly and it is a great place to go the people are lovely and the drink is cheap. The 19th hole is a very good place to go also and there is a band called the Sun that are brilliant that plays there.

All in all our stay was very enjoyable and i would definately recommend it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Total_honestyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Myself and 2 friends booked this last year though Low Cost Holidays, we thought we were going to the Parque Miroubel Oasis Village, these apartments are part of that group of buildings, We paid for a superior apartment.
On arrival we were unable to check in as our apartment wasn't ready, we told to put our luggage in the cupboard and go to the bar to wait until 12 which was ok. At 11.50 they gave us the keys and we were transported by minibus to the Pe Do Lago apartments. The apartment we were given was on the 3rd floor 2 lifts serviced the building and both were out of order. We expalined that if this was an on going problem then the 3rd floor was out of the question as my one friend has had hip replacement and would struggle with climbing 3 floors every day, we were assured one lift would be repaired within the hour and fair play it was. We got to the apartment which was very shabby but was clean, it was spotless. but the toaster didn't work ( they changed it) the TV reception was awful (not that this bothered us) and the middle electric shutter on the balcony couldn't be raised along with the other 2.
The pool area looked ok until further inspection, some loungers where broken and dirty and the mattresses left a lot to be desired on the cleanliness front, there was cigarette ends around, dirty tissues, sweet wrappers and the bins around the pool were not empied everyday, the pool wasn't cleaned everyday either!!!!! On Sunday at 10.30 we couldn't even get into the pool area which should have been opened at 10 as someone hadn't unlocked the gates. And rats were seen running around the wall on the perimeter now and again.
The lifts broke down again on Saturday night these were reported by us and several others we were told 1 hour to be fixed it took until Monday morning at around 11, even though we continued to report them, Sunday morning, evening, and Monday morning each time we were told 1 hour, my friend on Sunday struggled to get back up to the apartment for the loo and ended up staying up there until it was time to go for our evening meal, as the snack bar near the pool was closed. Our bins got emptied on the Thursday, but not again until the Saturday night.
We tried to see the Manager on Monday before we went out for the day, but he had got stuck in traffic but when we went to reception on Tuesday to empty the safety box he was there and had a word, he appolgised for the inconvienice and gave us a voucher for a weeks holiday next year, and showed us the Miroubels superior apartments, it made ours look like a slum!!! it had been completely refurbed, the pool area was spotless, lovely new clean sunbeds, and he assured us that we would be given one of these apartment should we decide to take up his offer. There were at least 4 lifts serving each building and he said the Oasis Village was on the standard.
The reception staff were unhelpful and miserable a personality transplant would be helpful, it costs 50cents to have them phone for a taxi to take you to the marina, don't be fooled that its a 20-25 minute walk unless you walk very fast and are able bodied, I walk usually 3 miles everyday and it would have taken me 35-40 minutes at a quick pace, taxi's can cost anything between 4 and 6 Euros depending which one you get we were never charged the same fare twice, either up or down.
The apartments have everything in them, Microwave, kettle, full sized cooker ( if you want to cook) We didn't seem to have 3 of any item the same size plates, cups nothing, we bought 3 cheap mugs for our tea/coffee, they supplied t.towels, which I was surprised at, chopping boards, fridge freezer, really we equiped apartments, but like I said we were happy with the apartment until we saw what we could have had, mainly our biggest gripe was the lifts and the cleanliness of the pool area.
Would I go back? if I could be given a promise that I wouldn't be in the Pe Do Lago and that it would be the Miroubel yes, i certainly wouldn't want the Pe De Lago unless it was completely given the make over that the Miroubel obviously had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vilamoura hotels

Forkhill, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just back from 10 days at pe do lago on 18th august. 2012.Not just quite what we expected for the money we paid.The most we ever paid for accommodation.No air conditioning.Not nearly enough beds or parasols at pool area.Pretty clean but very dated.Staff friendly and helpful.Taxi service in the general area was diabolical.Taxi drivers in general not very helpful and sometimes down right ignorant.Marina area was beautiful but at least 30 minute walk from pe do lago apts.Only for Parkys bar and the outside restaurant at that complex about 500 yards from pe do lago there is really nothing else to do.

Room Tip: Dont stay at pe do lago.Modern apartments are at parque mourabel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.3 mi away
Vilamoura Villas
Vilamoura Villas
#37 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scalabis Apartments
Scalabis Apartments
#26 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alvaflor Apartments
Alvaflor Apartments
#22 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lago Azul
Lago Azul
#24 of 32 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prado Villas
Prado Villas
#20 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pe do Lago Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pe do Lago Apartments

Property: Pe do Lago Apartments
Address: 902 Parra, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pe Do Lago Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Pe Do Lago Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing