We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - excellent marina views”
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good hotel - excellent marina views”
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Stayed at the Marina in July . Couldn't decide which of the 2 Vila Gale s to stay at but wasn t disappointed with the Marina as it seems a quieter hotel - visited the Ampalius and there was lots going on .Only thing that was disappointed was the sunbeds - if you wanted to remain in the sun you needed to be up early and remain WITH your towels or else management would remove them . This would be fine if they consistently did it but a quick walk round early in the day then not again all day wasn t the answer. The beds that remained in the sun all day were the firat taken . The jacussi near the pool was lovely .Staff were excellent especially the porters ! Overall enjoyed holiday hotel and Marina area at night would definately return .

  • Liked — Location in Vilamoura
  • Disliked — Sun spot hard to get near pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jude16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    501
    229
    54
    13
See reviews for
279
415
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

This was mine and my daughters first visit to the Algarve and Vilamoura and this hotel turned out to be a great choice.
The location of the hotel is great 2 mins to marina and 5 to the beach and rooms on 6th floor had great views of marina.
The roomsa in the hotel looked like they had recently been refurbished as everything looked new,had air con and fridges and could sit out on balcony and look out at marina.The hotel inside and out was spotless and the food and the staff were great,and unlike previous holidays in Spain and Canaries not a cockroach in sight,and only saw about 2 flies all week.Pool area was good,plenty of sun beds and hotel had just started a policy of not reserving sunbeds until after 9,and would take away towels of anybody who left them before.Outdoor jacuzzi was welcome with temperatures of 35 degrees all week.
Marina had a great selection of high quality shops and restaurants and with £1 million pound boats in marina,had a high quality south of France feel about it.
The beach area was also extensive and clean and had plenty of thatched parasol & sunbeds,and even four poster beds.
Lots of trips available,but suggest if you want the "swim with the dolphins"you book before you go,as there were no dates available in our holiday period when we were there.We had a great trip on the Condor 3 masted boat which takes you up the coast,visite in caves and then a beach barbecue,well worth it.
So as you can tell ,we had a great holiday,and would certainly go back to Vilamoura,and this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendlyness of staff and great food in a very clean hotel
  • Disliked — had no problem with anything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kasey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

I stayed at the Gale Marina early July and had a great time. I hadn't
been to Vilamoura before but was really impressed. The marina is filled with bars, restaraunts and cafes and you can't avoid eating ice-cream. The hotel is in a great location, just behind the marina and the beach is a couple of mins walk from the hotel. The hotel pool is quite shaded in the morning, depending on which sunbed you manage to bag, so we preferred to go to the beach in the morning and then go to the pool in the afternoon. You do have to pay to use a sunbed on the beach - it was 12.5 euros for the 2 of us for a half day (until 2pm) but the beach is really large and sandy, no rocks etc.

My husband and I are in our mid 20's and there were quite a lot of young families and couples at the hotel and in the resort. There's a nice atmosphere everywhere, no signs of trouble or 'gangs' of teenagers (think they go to Albufeira). I guess it's because the resort is quite expensive - the restaurants on the marina aren't any cheaper than you'd find in the UK, drinks too aren't cheap. You can find some really nice places behind the marina that aren't as expensive but the quality is just as good and the service was usually
better too. The marina restaurants know that they can attract customers so shoe-horn you in.

The hotel had shows in the evening but we didn't stay in to see them
- standard middle of the road entertainment that doesn't really excite anyone nor offend. It's so close to the marina so there's no need to stay in the hotel - there's not really a club scene but plenty of bars with live music (the Irish bar behind the marina is great). Was difficult to go back to the same bars and restaurants as there was such a large choice.

Our room was on the 1st floor - no we didn't have a view of the marina but that didn't really bother me as we didn't spend much time in the room, and it meant we didn't have to wait for the lift to get to the ground floor. The room and bathroom were larger than expected and no complaints about the maid service every day.

All in all I'd definitely recommend the hotel and the resort - only a couple of hours from the UK - we had a great relaxing break away from the rain. It's also worth checking out xl.com before you book as we got a bargain!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing springs to mind!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank the_amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATFOD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We have just returned from staying a week at this hotel, it was our first holiday abroad with our baby daughter and it was excellent. We had a room overlooking the marina, the room was a fare size, bit dated, but clean and had air con, we were able to hire a fridge at 2.50 euro per day which was great for the baby milk! the beds were made daily and the towels changed. The pool & jacuzzi were cleaned every day and great for the kids, usual fight for sunbeds, mostly all gone by 8am, but did notice by the afternoon there were loads spare in the shade, again great for people with young kids to keep out of the sun. pool bar was nice, bit pricy but where isnt these days! staff very friendly, breakfast great with lots of variety. Play room for older kids which was quite handy as we went with friends who had a 4 year old. We did encounter a problem where the electric in our room turned completely off, this happened twice (only our room) but the maintenance people were very quick to sort the problem. The only downside to having a room on the front of the hotel is that the bins below were emptied anytime between 3 & 5am, but it wasnt so bad. Evening entertainment wast so good, usual karaoke, traditional folk dancing, and singers were enough to make the evening pleasant, with young babies anyway! but the marina is lively with bars and no doubt you'll spot the odd famous footballer or golfer, we did. The marina was in a stones throw away, having stayed in vilamoura before but about 10 mins away by car, having the marina on the doorstep was great and saved on cabs! the chinese..Harbour view was superb and the restaurent called 'The Deck' (part of the steak house) was excellent. i would definatley stay at this hotel again, friendly, clean and reasonable.

  • Liked — the pool was cleaned twice a day and convienent location
  • Disliked — the bins being emptied in the night
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SCRIBS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Situated a couple of minutes from the marina or just a couple of minutes more from the beach. Our room overlooked the pool and after reading a previous review regarding this hotel we opted for a room on a higher floor to give us the view over the marina. Our room was very clean and in good decorative order. The pool was a bit on the cold side but once you got in it was okay. I was really impressed with the food in the restaurant because there was always so much to choose from. There couldn't have been anyone who wasn't spoilt for choice. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Getting around to see the area is fairly simple, just hop on a bus, it couldn't have been easier. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Great situation, excellent food, beautifully clean, very pleasant staff
  • Disliked — Not enough seating in the bar area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazz-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The hotel itself was in a superb location, literally 2 minutes from the marina,bars restaurants and shops, and a 5 minute walk to the beach. It is an ideal location for anyone that may have difficulty walking long distances ofr up hills etc.. Our room was lovely top floor, non smoking room looking out over the pool and marina. hotel was very clean, room was an acceptable size and the pool area was nice. as we went the first week of july there werent many kids etc there which was quite nice and it is predominantly a family/couples and older visitors hotel. Although we went at this time the weather was perfect, between 30-33 degrees every day! hotel breakfast was good, both hot and cold buffet, 6 till ten. there was the usual fight for sunbeds which to be honest i think most hotals have now, by 8 ish they were mostly all gone.. which may be worse in height of season but the beach is not even 5 minutes away and its a lovely beach. a restaurant to look out for by the marina is the 'Mayflower', superb food. the meals are not musch different in price from here in the UK, id say an average meal out for 2 was anything between 35-50 euros. hope this helps, was a lovely hotel, friendly staff and a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sam22k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

This was the first time for our group of twelve golfing in tha Algarve.The hotel is a perfect base for golf,daytime relaxation by the pool or walking around the marina (very close by) and near to restuarants and bars for your night of entertainment.The breakfast in the hotel is great ,served from 6 til10 making sure that there is no need to rush, busy time seemed to be 9ish.The shuttle buses come within 20 min's (ordered at reception) but give yourselves plenty of time to get ther incase there is a lot of golfers needing the service,you can always have a drink at the course and not rush to tee off like we do at home.The courses were full when we were there but had no trouble with the marshalls only one i saw was the starter.Play the Victoria expensive but worth it .On the whole a great golfing experiance only 3 hours away and no time differance , can be a bit expensive but your on holiday so what.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Property: Vila Gale Marina
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing