We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in an excellent location.”
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Would recommend the Vila Gale Marina to anyone looking for a stay in the upmarket resort of Vilamoura. It is just a stones throw away from the Marina, which is the place to go for all the restaurants and shops etc and to people watch.

We had private transfer from Faro which took about 25 minutes. Very quick check in and porter takes your bags to your room. Our air conditioning didnt work on the 1st day so we got upgraded tro a junior suite at no extra cost, very nice.

We were on the 4th floor with a view of the pool, marina and sea, even higher and the view would have been excellent. Try to ask for 5th floor or above. Dont bother paying for sea view rooms as because of the design of the hotel all rooms have partial sea views.

The pool area has a childrens area and an adults area, the pool is very cold, there is also an outdoor jacuzzi, temperature varies from warm to cool. We did not have a problem with getting a sunbed. We had breakfast at 8:30 and got to the beds around 9:30 and virtually took our pick.

What people have said before about the shaded pool is not altogether true. The right hand side of the pool is shaded upto about 11:00am then it is in sun all day. So we got the beds on the left handside of the pool until 11:00 and then moved to the right side without a problem.

There is a poolbar serving drinks and snacks but it is rather expensive, even cheaper eating out at the marina. So at lunch we nipped to one of the cafes near the marina, slightly cheaper and a much better setting.

We made no use of the indoor facilities so cant comment on the pool etc.

Worst thing about the hotel was the evening entertainment, dont bother! If you are looking for entertainment there is an irish bar called oneills which has live music 7 nights a week and 1 called the old navy which also has love music every night. There are a couple of other bars with live music but we didnt try those.

The breakfasts are plentiful with 5 choices or cereal, 4 choices of juice, eggs, beans, sausages, bacon, pancakes etc. Also cold selection if required. You can make yourself a bucks fizz if you want as there is also sparkling wine.

We stopped half board and enjoyed the meals, not a massive choice but enough for 7 days, might have got bored with 14, sweets a bit repetetive after a few days, but again ok. The restaurant staff were very friendly particularly Louis and were very quick at removing plates when finished with.

We had a day trip to Albufeira, a local bus service can be caught across the gardens at the front of the hotel. Timetable available from reception. Cost 3.50 euros each way and took about 45 minutes. Good value for a day out. Also took a day trip on a boat to see the caves and had a bbq on the beach, very nice and was made all the better as we shared our boat with 45 brazilians, they sure know how to party.

All in all a very good hotel with excellent service and a wonderful location.

We wont return because we try different places every year but would and have recommended to others.

If you have any questions please get in touch and enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulc051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

I loved staying at this hotel with my Nan. I celebrated my birthday whilst I was out there. It was very well located to the beautiful marina which had plenty of bars and restaurants. We often walked around the marina after our dinner. The marina also has lots of shops for those who enjoy shopping. The hotel is also excellently positioned for the beach although it is quite expensive hiring a sunbed so you might prefer to stay by the hotel pool. There are two beaches in the area with lots of restaurants and bars alongside them. The sea is quite rough which is typical to the Algarve so most people did not actually swim in the sea but walked within in for short periods of time. The rooms in the hotel are very spacious and if you want lovely views request a room high up. We were lucky to have a room on the 6th floor and it had lovely views of the marina. Be aware that you will need to pay for the safe at the hotel although this is quite common. The hotel is also good as you have free acess to the indoor swimming pool, steam room, gym and hot tub which is a bonus. For cheap drinks go to the casino it only cost $3.50 for a cocktail which I thought was quite good compared to $6.00 at the hotel and around the marina. We also watched a show at the casino which was $14 including one drink which was a change from the entertainment at the hotel and marina. The entertainment at the hotel is very poor however there are lots of places around the marina which offer good entertainment in the evening. I would also state that the breakfasts are fantastic at the hotel. However I was really finding it difficult to select something to eat at dinner time. You may prefer to stay at this hotel bed and breakfast although due to the euro to the pound we thought it was most cost effective to stay half board. However this is not currently a option with Thomson. The hotel is very well situated for the bus stop although they run every half hour to 40 minutes so we did not get a bus whilst we were out there. We therefore opted to go on two excursions whilst we was out there. The excursions with Thomsons were fantastic however we were very disappointed that we were picked up twice the 1st time 20 minutes late and the second time 45 minutes late and they need not bother to ring me to let me know that they were running late. We also found the collecting other people from hotels a struggle as we spent almost two hours collecting people from their hotels before actually going to see the attractions we booked. We visited the next village along which is within walking distance by the beach and visited the farmers market. fish market and gypsy market with our rep on the wednesday. We took the tourist train around the whole of vilamoura. I really enjoyed portugal and would definatly go back in the future. Although I would most likely try another hotel within the Algarve.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Having read some of the reviews i decided that the hotel was worth a shot. I requested a high floor due to the noise from the pool area people had mentioned previously and got a room on the 8th floor. What a fantastic view across the marina and out to sea. The room was cleaned every day, the staff were excellent. This Hotel is indeed quite popular with golfers so there are groups of blokes throughout the hotel, none caused any problems in the week we were there but obviously not the quietest people when coming in from a night out out in the early hours (cant complain im usually one of them). Breakfast choice was good but dont expect the full English you would get at home, The pool area is large, the gym equipment all works ok and is almost always empty, the sauna is also worth detoxing in. The only one negative about the hotel is the price of the beer 3.80 euros for what is a little over half a pint. The 30 second walk to the Marina negates this though and bars and restaurents are plentiful. For a good meal try the Ostra restaurent for fantastic grub (the monkfish rice and prawn stew was excellent) be careful ordering beer there though. They sell it in 2,6,24 and 30 pint glasses, so dont order a large! Ruis carvery round the corner is also very good, big selection, good value and huge portions. The cheapest alcohol in the resort appears to be in the casino! 2 euros for a pint. Hope the above helps.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbo090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Just returned from Vila Gale Marina and agree with other reviews, we had a room on the 6th floor will excellent views over the marina, bedroom was spacious as was the bathroom. Didn't agree with paying for the safe in the room, but we were told that is common is Portugal. Marina was lovely during the day and evening and the beach pleasant to walk along. Food in restaurant (we were half board) could have been hotter, but in all very pleasant with a good selection, three nights we didn't fancy the menu so used the restaurants on the marina, not too expensive, about the same price as in the UK. Would stay here again if we went back to Portugal.
Air conditioning unit very noisey in the room, could only have it on in bursts

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mags2plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We really didn`t know what to expect after reading some previous reviews. firstly reception arriving at 10.30am we expected to just store our luggage,very friendly receptionist checked our reservation and found a romm that was ready for immediate occupation.The room itself was superb, sea view,,marina view.,well furnished very modern,only draw back was a lack of drawer space,and a rather dated TV set.
Breakfast really excellant everything you could wish for even a bottle of chilled sparkling wine by the orange juice Bucks Fizz every morning great.
The only draw back to this hotel was the odd golfing party that didn`t know how to conduct themselves comming in in the early hours and making too much noise.
Appart from this I can only praise this Hotel,for comfort,value,and service./

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The management in Vila Gale Marina Hotel Vilamoura should be very proud of their staff. We were always treated with friendliness and smiles despite the crowds of anxious people during the 'ash disaster'. WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyrone24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This ranks as the worst holiday we have ever had. Save for the food which was great, the hotel attracts the sort of people I would not go to the end of the street to see. It is full of numbskull golfers and drongos who think that constantly shouting to each other across the pool area is macho and clever. Why do these people have to be so loud? This is supposed to be four star!! If I had wanted to stay with loud cattle I would have chosen a farm. The walls of the bedrooms are wafer thin and we were kept awake until 3am two nights running with an arguing couple right next door to us. My wife became so frustrated that she banged on the wall and demanded some quiet. We complained twice to reception and our rep. It was not resolved. The Marina Bar is so lacking in atmosphere it felt like an old people's home day room. The Vila Gale Umpalius is much much better than this hotel. We are very seasoned travellers and we do not recommend this hotel if you do not like hordes of macho loud golfers or want peace and quiet. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRISP97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $62 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing