We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All About the Location and View!”
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Spent a week at the end of June at this hotel and had a very relaxing week. We selected this hotel due to a good price, reviews and location. The hotel was fairly clean and welcoming, got our room earlier then expected and got a nice large room on the 6th floor facing West. The room was dated and lacked storage but was big and the mini bar fridge allowed you to store drinks to keep cool. The pool area is not huge and if you want to lay in the sun all day then you will need to get your towel on a bed at 9am even though there is a sign saying you can't do that! Staff and guests seem to ignore that rule. The pool is nice, but you are laying side by side!! The bar area is part of the reception area which was not nice and the evening entertainment was poor at best. Was good to be able to eat breakfast up to 10.30am even if it lacked variety.

The best part of this hotel is the location, you are right on the Marina, a few mintues flat walking takes you to the beach, marina and restaurants. Also if you get a room near the top of the hotel you get a great view of all this.

Vilamouria is a lovely place to stay, 2 good beaches close by, nice flat walks too. We walked to Quarteria which if you ignore the fish market area is actually a nice place, very quiet and laid back. It has some good shops, a huge promeande to walk and a nice beach. You will find the Tourist Information centre here. We took the local bus to Faro, cost 7 euros return and takes 45 mins, one bus and worth doing. Faro isn't huge, but has a nice old part, offers some good boat trips and a small area for shopping. If you are after shops just as you come into Faro is a big shopping centre with all the brand names. Warning if you don't have a return ticket then you have to buy your ticket at the bus station in Faro before coming back, on the way there pay on the bus.

Resturant wise in Vilamouria you are spolit for choice, i would recommend not eating on the Marina as you get ripped off a bit. Plenty of places just a step back from there. We used the Thai place just down from the hotel which was very good and popular at the weekend. There is also a good fish resturant just down from the Thai. And if you want good coffee and cakes/crepes use Pinito Mole by the Thai resturant, lovely little place.

For evening entertainment Sinatra's or the Hole in One were good. There was also a good Irish bar above the Marina. But be awre the drinks prices are loaded to cover the costs of the entertainment they provide.

Overall the hotel is not a 4*, 3* I would say. Great location and we would go back for the right price. And I can recommend staying at Vilamouria, place for adults mainly or families with older childern.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sitch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2009

We've been taking "DIY" holidays in the Algarve for the last 6 years but decided to treat ourselves to some pampering this year for a change. I'd been advised to email the hotel prior to our visit to request a room high up. This ensures you get a good view & also you don't have to listen to any noise from above. On arrival I produced my email & we were given a room on the 9th (top) floor with a fantastic view of both the beach & the marina & we had full sun from mid afternoon & a lovely sunset to watch on an evening.
The rooms were lovely & spacious & were absolutely spotless. The only downside in the room was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities & I like a mug of tea on a night & don't want to go wandering around the hotel looking for one. There was the usual extortionate minibar which I don't recommend you touch. I took a travel kettle of my own & luckily the maid's didn't dob me in when they found my milk in the minibar fridge!
We stayed B&B & the breakfast was well worth getting up for. The restaurant opened at 6am until a very decent 10.30am & there was everything you could think of & some stuff you wouldn't expect for breakfast either ( Almond tart & creme caramel along side the bacon & eggs but hey........when in Rome!) My husband thought he'd died & gone to heaven & now wants to know why he can't have the same at home!
All the staff we came into contact with were really friendly & pleasant & so were the majority of the guests.
There were sign on the doors for everyone to see informing guests that putting towels on sunbeds wouldn't be tolerated but no one took a blind bit notice & the English guests appeared to have overtaken our European friends in this selfish act as we were the worst offenders - by 9am it's towel city out there & just because one person does it shouldn't mean everyone else has to follow like sheep but I'm afraid that's what happens so if you want a sunbed be prepared to get up at the crack of dawn. Better still have some imagination of your own & go explore & see what the Algarve has to offer rather than watch some plump tourist on the sunbed next to you turn from lilywhite to a lovely shade of 3rd degree burn! The Algarve has some of the best beaches in Europe & it's only a 300 yard walk to one of them.
We would definitely return to the Vila Gale Marina & recommend it to all as it has something for everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lellric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Booked this hotel after reading some pretty good reviews - bit of a mistake on my part as thought we were getting a modern 4 star hotel. The vila gale does have a good location, 2 mins from the harbour, 5 to the beach and good views of the marina. Though here's the downside.... hotel is pretty dated and rooms are in need redecoration - grubby bathrooms and tv sets from the 1980's. Pool area is way too small for the size of the hotel (if you like lying 30cm's from the next person - it's right up your street...). Breakfast area is dingy, dirty and the food is pretty poor quality. Indoor pool and gym are a joke as are the evening entertainments...
Reception staff were grumpy and unwelcoming. Definately not a 4 star - more like 2 in my opinion.
We left and booked into the Tivoli Marina just down the road - this is a really good quality hotel... had a great stay there and wished we'd booked from the off.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from Vilamoura having stayed at the Vila Gale Marina Hotel. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were met with professionalism. The hotel was welcoming with a nice cool atmosphere, having just arrived from our flight in temperatures of 30 degrees! All the facilities were excellent for both adults and children. The selections for breakfast and dinner were very good. The location was also very good with just a short stroll to the beautiful marina and beach. I would definitely go back to this hotel and resort. The only thing I would say is that I found Vilamoura rather expensive to eat and also to be aware that some restaurants and shops do not take credit card payment, only cash.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenelopePitstop49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Me, my partner, and two of our friends just got back from the Vila Gale Marina this week, and we all absolutely loved it there. The hotel was clean, as were the rooms. Me and my partner were lucky, and got a larger room than the friends we were staying with, but that said, they were all a reasonable size with everything you needed. One of the best things about the hotel was that all the rooms were front facing, so you didn't need to worry about having a balcony that faced a back car park! The rooms on the higher floors were able to see the marina, but ours was on the first floor, so we only had a pool view. However, that didn't really matter as the pool area was lovely and still made for a nice view.

Around the pool there were plenty of sun loungers and we never got stuck without one. Of course, to get the best position you had to get your towels out pretty early in the morning, like anywhere else you would go! Both the shallow ring pool and larger pool were lovely and clean, as was the whole outside area.

We only stayed bed and breakfast, but the variety of the buffet breakfast was excellent. However, as you would expect, drinks in the hotel and poolside bar were a little over priced. Although all the rooms came with a mini-bar, and the fridge was plenty big enough to fit extra supplies in! There was a little supermarket just round the corner from the hotel, ideal for stocking up with drinks at a much more reasonable price.

Vilamoura itself was a lovely resort. Just remember, Vilamoura was purpose-built for tourists (and golfers!), so don't expect a traditional Portugese town. The marina is beautiful, especially at night, and the beach is also worth a trip. The Vila Gale Marina is only a 3 minute walk from the marina and about 10 minutes from the beach. People warned us before going that the area is pricey, and I suppose it is compared to some resorts, however, it was worth it for the classy feel and upmarket atmosphere. It's worth having a look around for food, the restaurants right on the marina are naturally the most expensive, but you can find great restaurants up the little back streets for about half the price. I'd say the nicest thing about the resort is that it wasn't full of all-lads or all-girls drinking holidays, which made for a nicer atmosphere. Although there are plenty of bars around the marina if you do want a few drinks in the evening!

We chose Vilamoura as the two men in our group are keen golfers, and it is certainly a golf-orientated resort. The lads thoroughly enjoyed there rounds, and said the courses were amazing. They both caught free shuttle buses from the hotel to the golf courses, although I don't know whether this was arranged via the hotel or the golf complexes themselves.

Overall we all loved our trip, and would definately go back again. Ladies - take plenty of spending money, as the shopping was a treat, and any keen golfers out there - you will definately enjoy this area of The Algarve!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

hotel in great location breakfast has lots of choice but does get very busy evening meals ok some nights we decided to eat out after seeing the menu ! cold chicken nuggets and fishfingers for starters were not our cup of tea !! towels changed each day and beds made the hotel is clean but the room floor needed to be cleaned and we found toe nail clipping when we moved the beds - they did not belong to us - yak lots of dust under the beds too most staff really pleasent and friendly third bed is a fold up version we had a slightly bigger room and it was a squash would recommend the hotel if just a couple due to the room size and would suggest bed and breakfast basis due to the choice restaurants surrounding the hotel vilamoura is great and would definatly go again but would try a different hotel i think

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I holidayed in this hotel in May 2009. The hotel itself was ok amd fairly typical of most holiday hotels. Rooms were quite small with very little hanging space but were clean. Breakfast was normal buffet style with a resonable choice. There was entertainment each night and some activities during the day.

It may have been the time of year but the resort was full of golfers who seemed to think it was their duty to go around in large groups and be as loud and noisy and drunk as possible. Some were coming back to the hotel at 5AM with no consideration for other guests. This spoiled things a bit but the resort itself is lovely. We visited the Falesia beach at the other end of the Marina and it is superb, long and clean and very quiet. Prices for loungers were quite high at around 15 euros for 2 loungers and a parasol.

The bars and restaurants were good but pricey with an average meal for 2 with wine costing about 60 euros.

If you go in May make sure you bring something warm to wear at night when you are out as it does get a bit chilly

1  Thank GlasgowStillRoamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $52 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing