We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had a weeks half board holiday here. Stayed in room 711 which had a great view over the Marina and was very nice but the beds were firm. The pool and surrounding area were good. The issue regarding towels on sun beds was addressed by the hotel as we had a note to say that any towel on an unoccupied sun bed will be removed after a certain period. This seemed to be working reasonably well for a few days after.Food was good with lots of options for breakfast and evening meals. The one down side was that some of the hot plates on the buffet did not keep the food very warm. Staff throughout the hotel were helpful and friendly.

Have read the comments about groups of golfers at this hotel and generally they were not a problem. However, there was one particular group who obviously didnt care that there were families nearby and the language was unsuitable for this environment. Not sure how you can get around this problem as the target market for the hotel appears to be golfers

The Marina is a short walk away and is excellent. There is a wide range of bars and restaurants there . We did a three hour cruise and a trip to the market at Quarteira and didnt rate either trip

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and Vilamoura

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tynesider2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Marina, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

Allow us to mention that May is the high season of Golfers, in summer we have mainly family’s.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Marina or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We checked in to this hotel to discover they were fully booked.
The manager came out to try and resolve. They sent us to the bar where we had a drink on the house. The manager came over to us about 30mins later and said they had room in a sister hotel.
The issue was very well handled by the hotel. Alena and her team were very professional. Well done

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Whe1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Marina, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Marina or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Third stay at this hotel while golfing in Vilamoura.
Great location within a stone's throw of the wonderful marina at Vilamoura.
The hotel itself is tagged as 4 star - I would tag it as 3 star at best.
Rooms adequate.
Breakfast ok but not great - toasters are hopeless taking an age to toast your bread.
Wi-fi weak and unreliable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Marina, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Marina or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

A three night stay in June. Beautiful hotel in a brilliant location. Try and get a 5, 6 or 7th floor for the view of the marina. Great pool although the sun beds were a little uncomfortable. Food was lovely and plenty of it too. Staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. Totally recommended!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Marina, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Marina or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great location. Thank you to Ellena/Elaina who managed to change our room from 2nd floor to 7th, which was a junior suite. Fantastic views of the beach, marina and mountains in the distance, however it was very breezy and only gets the sun late afternoon ! Ellena even arranged for a sun lounger on the balcony ! The hotel are introducing tea/coffee facilites in the rooms... unfortunately they only have 20 and you have to prebook them.

Read previous reviews about rowdy golfers ... wish they were there when I was... the hotel was dead in the evening. Managed one night of entertainment... the magician was really good which is totally opposite to the singer. Drinks are incredibly expensive when compared with the cost of a bottle of spirit from the shops.

You have to pay for the safe in the room, approx £2 per day, activation code available from Reception. Pool/beach towels are available via a card issued when you book in. There is a car park that you can pay for or, if you are lucky, they are few spaces on the access ramp to the hotel. However, there is a free car park just behind the hotel.

All in all... lovely location, hotel is very accommdating, breakfast more than ample,

The bars/restaurants are expensive round the marina. If you go a few blocks in, there are more restaurants which, to me, have a better atmosphere. Could be a bit monotonous after a few days tho.

Pool area is very cramped, with noise from people enjoying themselves. The beach is only a five minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1234Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Marina, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Marina or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fabulous hotel in an excellent location, right across the road from the Marina. Our room on the 6th floor, was right on the front of the hotel with the most amazing view ever. The room itself was clean and spacious with good air conditioning, mini bar and safe (payable). Not much in the way of storage space (3 drawers and 6 hangers) and a full length mirror in the room but no plug point nearby so a bit awkward for us women when getting ready to go out !but we managed. We stayed HB and thought that the food choice at breakfast and evening meal was very good. Lots of choice of both hot and cold food at both meals. The dining room was cool and spacious and we never had to wait or queue for anything. The staff in the dining room, as in the rest of the hotel, were very smiley and always polite and friendly. The only downside we found was that there was no dress code for dinner and quite a few of the guests (men and women) wore shorts and vest tops with flip flops. I think in a hotel like this, there should be a dress code for evening meal. The pool area was good, usual routine of towels being placed on sunbeds from early morning even though it stated this was not allowed. We usually returned to the hotel around 4.30pm for an hour or two around the pool and always managed to get sun beds, and the jacuzzi is excellent.

Vilamoura itself is absolutely lovely. The marina is fabulous and at night becomes a busy cosmopolitan area with lots of bars and restaurants, with something for everyone. Some of the bars are a little expensive but you'll soon work out the ones that are.

We had a trip to Albufeira on the local bus which took around 40 minutes and cost around 4 euros each. Again, this was a very nice place but much bigger than Vilamoura and far too much to see in one day. However I would definitely recommend going there.

All in all we had a wonderful time at this resort and hotel for our first time in Portugal and would definitely recommend and return here.

Room Tip: Emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before we went asking for a high floor overlooking the marina...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maureen21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Marina, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Marina or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Having arrived mid evening, we opted to eat in the hotel dining room. A buffet for 22 euros. Too expensive at the price. The food was ok, but not terribly exciting and as a result, the spacious dining room not exactly busy. Breakfast was more on quantity rather than quality. We ate out at all other times.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location. Spotless hotel.

But PLEASE, kill the horrible elevator music in the corridors!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wee_monsieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Marina, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Marina or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $53 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing