We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff”
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel. We chose to return due to its great location, being a very short distance to both the marina and the beach. We have always found all staff to be very friendly and helpful and the hotel was spotless. The buffet breakfast has everything you could possibly want for breakfast. We never ate dinner due to the large amount of great restaurants nearby. The entertainment by the pool organised by Carlos and his team was great, the night time entertainment could do better. I am sure we will return next time we holiday in Portugal as we really liked vilamoura

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure to read your review and find you have enjoyed your third visit to the Vila Galé Marina. It's great to know how much you like our Hotel, and that you've visited us so many times, it's the result of every staff work and every costumers satisfaction.
Hope to see you again sometime soon, at your fourth visit.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is good and the rooms are decent enough, however the service from the front desk attendees, especially the small skinny man named Nino, was insulting. He failed to offer solutions for basic questions such as "why does my room smell like smoke (in a non smoking room)" or may "I have some beach towels," and more often than not gave a nasty reply like "well do you smoke" or "do you want to use dirty towels? They are in the wash." I was here for three days and they had towels only once. The free breakfast was a good value though and the location was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review.
We do apologise for any misunderstanding with our reception desk, however, we don’t have anyone with this description “the small skinny man named Nino”. As we have two Vila Galé Hotels in Vilamoura, we are not sure if it was in Vila Gale Marina or in our sister hotel, Vila Galé Ampalius.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year !

Kind Regards,
Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Room good, entertainment for kids during day great!. Breakfast cold, most of the hot food was luke warm and the bar prices were ridiculous! The hotel is ok - great location but not a 4 star having been to Portugal 7 times. Don't be caught out by what I thought was complementary water in the fridge on Day 1 - I then paid 9 Euros on leaving for 3 bottles so glad I didn't partake in hotel water for rest of week. Vilamoura lovely but will venture further in future - all in all a week was enough

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, we do appreciate your observations regarding the food temperature.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

this was our first trip staying in Vila Moura and we would be very happy to stay at this hotel on our next visit. However, there are upsides and downsides.
The location of the hotel is faultless, about 1 minute from the marina and no more than 10 minutes to the beautiful sandy beach. The breakfast here is also faultless, something to please all tastes and ages, and serves from 6 until 10:30 which is good for both early and late risers.
We read some of the reviews about the pool and pool area and was preparing ourselves for battles to get sunbeds, and plenty of noisy children, but we were pleasnetly surprised. although the sunbeds are close together they were not difficult to move about, and nor were the umberellas. Every day there was a few sunbeds not in use and the pool was usually very empty, other than when there was games of water volleyball which all the family could participate in. This made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. The jacuzzi is also a nice touch.
To top off all this, the staff (and cleaners) were friendly and helpful and entertained children well. They even gave us a room with a marina view on a high floor which we requested.
Also everywhere, including the rooms and pool area were very clean and well kept, the towels and sheets being changed regularly and the air conditioning worked very well.
However, we did encounter some problems quite quickly. We arrived at the hotel at about 11am and was told checking in to rooms doesnt start until 2pm, but they took our cases from us and locked them away safely. They allowed us to sit around the lobby/ pool area but when it got to about 3pm we were feeling very uncomfortable as we had asked if we could enter our room but each time we were told they either wasnt ready or they dont know when we can. it was just after 4pm when we could finally find our room on floor 5.
We booked our room for 3 adults (our daughter is 15) and were extremely disapointed with our room. It was very clearly a room for 2 adults with a camp bed squashed in the corner. This meant we could hardly get out onto our balcony and the bed didnt even have a full size materese. We complained to reception and they said they may have a room we can look at available tomorrow. My daughter was very upset by having to sleep on this bed and her first night was very uncomfortable. The next morning a rep from Cosmo came and chatted to us about where the nearest supermarket, taxi rank ect ect was. She was extremely nice and helpful and we told her about the room situation. Before talking to her we had asked reception about the room and they were unsure when it would be ready, but upon telling the Cosmo rep this, she went and spoke to reception and immediatly our new room was ready. And it was a lot better, and with an even better view and extra large balcony. Although the bathroom was a lot smaller, the rest of the room was a lot more spacey.
Something to be aware of is the fact the you have to pay 25 euros for a lock for the safe which is not explained in the hotel description. Also, be aware the hotel drinks from the pool bar are very expensive so we bought our room from Jafers supermarket which is but a 2 minute walk from the hotel, and very cheap.
Even though there are some downsides we were very happy with the hotel overall, felt it was value for money and would happily stay again and recommend to others, especially with families.

Room Tip: higher rooms have a better view and be mindful about additional beds. dont worry about complaining i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillysue1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and praise of our staff will be passed on.
We do appreciate your observations regarding the extra bed and the room size for 3 people.

Hope to see you again sometime soon,
Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The room was plenty big for the three of us (twin beds for myself and my mum plus a camp bed for my niece), and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was busy, but we never had to wait too long to be seated. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful, though I'm not a fan of coffee from automatic dispensing machines, which many hotels now seem to favour. The bar served excellent cocktails, but lacked atmosphere in the evenings. I guess its great location - just a short walk to the marina and the beach - is a disadvantage in this respect, as there are so many other bars and restaurants right on its doorstep. There was some noise from local bars/clubs at night. The one area I didn't like so much was the outdoor pool. It was very cramped and crowded. It would be nice to have a bit more room to move around the pool deck. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dededub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and therefore hope to see you again some time soon.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had excellent view from 8th floor, room 812...sea view overlooking marina...9th floor also has super views. Excellent location and if I go back to Vlamoura I'd stay here again. Great trip to caves recommended also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnadonnaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé Marina, and Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had looked at some photo's taken of this hotel before we went and some where very disappointing. We prepared ourselves that the hotel may not be as nice as we hoped and when we walked it, wow, we were very pleased. Its was spotless and faultless. I booked a 3 adult room and hoped we wouldn't be squashed up together. The room was huge and so was the balcony. Having worked in the travel business, often the 3rd bed will be a put-up bed so best to book a bigger room or accept the put-up. Breakfast is huge, everything from fruit to a hot cooked breakfast. The pool area is clean and the Jacuzzi is a lovely touch. Towels are provided for the pool and beach. Location wise, we could not have been closer to the marina and there is a choice of the small beach or the large beach which is about 5 mins walk away. I took my 15 and 17 year old girls on this holiday and they enjoyed some of the hotels entertainment. You are also able to use the facilities of the sister hotel in the same resort. We went for a while but felt our hotel's pool area was much better. If your looking for value for money in a central location, I would recommend this hotel. Also another tip on furnishings in various countries around the world. Every country is different with their furnishings and what we in England may call 'old fashioned' may not be in that particular country. The furnishings in this hotel are the same style in other surrounding hotels.

Room Tip: If you have 3 people in a twin room, its inevitable that the 3rd bed will be a put-up bed. The put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lady J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

.. and we also thank you for your review and it's with a big smile to see how much you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $82 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing