We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel But not a 4 star”
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at the Vila Gale between the 4th June and the 11th June 2012 , While I would not put any off going I would say expect a 3 star hotel and you will be happy as the hotel itself does not come up to a 4 star billing, The staff were very nice and helpful. the hotel is very clean but does need updating, the buttons for calling the lifts need some attention (the ones inside work ok) you have to press them sevral times to get them to light up. One thing they could improve on and is something that will stop me from going back is there are no irons in the rooms nor can you get a loan of one from the hotel, the only way you can get your items ironed is take your own or pay housekeeping to do it for you so be warned. This is the first hotel that I have stayed in, that you could not get an iron and I am 48, We had breakfast each morning, there was plenty of choice and the qualitly was not what I would call top quality but still nice no complaints there, great location for the marina and nightlife. It was a good hotel for the price we paid, so if your going dont expect to much and you will enjoy your stay and be happy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé Marina.

About iron, we don't have it in the rooms for a question of security, that's why we have laundry service.
The last time (3 weeks ago) that a guest used is own iron, he burned one chair and the window valance!
I hope your understanding!

Looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at the Vila Gale for 1 week B&B and we were not disappointed. We had a room on the top floor from which you can see the pool, marina and beach and our balcony side got the sun all afternoon/early evening. If you pay for sea view, you get a room 5th floor or above.
Breakfast is served 6.30-10.30 but was quite chaotic after 9.00am. Plenty of choice, not much variety. Can’t comment on evening meals although this is advertised as a buffet each evening (€22 if you are not staying half board). Drinks are approx €4 (beer) and €4/5 (wine, vodka, rum). Snack menu is quite pricey compared to out of the hotel.
Hotel was very clean, friendly staff. Limited entertainment at night (wine tasting, karaoke, parrot show, reptile show). Rooms are clean and functional and maid came every day; room safes available to hire. Can extend your check-out time if needed until 4pm for €20. Pool area cleaned daily; had to resort to putting towels on sunbeds first thing (sorry) as others did as a) there are limited sunbeds on busy days and b) due to the hotel design, some areas are shaded until lunchtime.
Vilamoura is fantastic; loved it. The location of the hotel is great, one road back from the marina. Pop down a side street and within 30 seconds you are on the marina – lots of boats and yachts to look at and the marina is surrounded completely by bars and restaurants; you will not run out of places to eat and drink.
Plenty of restaurants around the marina (Italian, Chinese, Indian, Seafood, Steakhouses). Many bars have live music or karaoke. It is also worth exploring the restaurants set back from the marina (we found a place called Rui’s which did lamb cutlets and steaks for a fraction of the price on the marina). I would also recommend a walk (approx. 20 mins) to the old village. Very quiet but lovely restaurant - Casa Do Largo – worth a visit.
Loved Vilamoura and would recommend this hotel. Feel free to ask any questions.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a sea view room gives you a higher floor and balcony gets sun all afternoon/early e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé Marina, and Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time !

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel adjacent to the Marina in Vilamoura. Do not expect 5 star comfort or features as you will be sorely dissappointed but, for a budget break with or without a family its location is ideal and it won't break the bank.
I have stayed in this hotel 5 or 6 times and it suits what I wnat from an hotel on the Algarve.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, as our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests .

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I went here with friends on a week's golfing holiday, and really enjoyed it. The hotel doesn't really have standout features, but it is clean, the service is good, and for what we wanted, it was perfect. They provide free shuttles to all of the Oceanico group golf courses, the rooms are spacious and clean, and it was not all that expensive. There is also a decent size of swimming pool.
The only really negative I can think of is that the coffee was, bar none, the worst beverage I have ever attempted to drink. I also thought that charging 2.50 Euros for a bucket of ice was a bit of a rip-off, but I guess it's just a way of making money.
On the whole, I thoroughly recommend it (but stay away from the coffee!!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay.

About the coffee...is the portuguese coffee, perhaps too stong.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day golfing stay at this hotel. Very warm welcome from the hotel staff as we arrived. The hotel has everything you need from a hotel. Good spacious and comfy rooms, great pool area and its in a great location. The pool area is also quiet during the day as most people staying at the hotel are golfers who were out most of the day.

The only negative about this hotel is some parts are a bit dated and is in need of a fresh lick of paint. Also don't buy any drinks from the hotel bar as its a rip of. The marine is only a few minutes walk from the hotel and there is lots of bar and restaurants to choose from.

We had breakfast within the hotel and I was surprise how good it was. You have a good selection of breads, meats, cheese and cereals. Also a Portuguese cooked breakfast.
Would return to this hotel, when coming back to Vilamoura.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the pool. Also go the the fisherman shack which is around the corner from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, as it is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to read your review as our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests .

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Thank you

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Recently stayed in this hotel on a half-board basis. The breakfast was fine. The menu for dinner was also fine and the food was of good quality and well presented. Unfortunately the dining room lacked any atmosphere as very people appeared to be taking the half board option. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The location for this hotel is excellent. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned every day.
For a number of nights early in our stay a number of golfers appeared to be hell bent on having a good time with no respect to any other guests staying in this hotel. Found this to be quite annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review .... will be passed on to all staff who will be very pleased to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at the Vila Gale marina for the second time in 5 months again fantastic. Great location , fab breakfast very comfy rooms. Not as warm weather as before but still nice. Great walks along beaches nice bars and resturants. We particularly like 19th Hole, parkys & The navy.for food & Drinks.

Room Tip: We paid extra to upgrade the first time but not the second, as we were ther at two quiet times there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deerelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé Marina, at Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,784 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $77 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing