We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good locaton in a smart resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good locaton in a smart resort”
Reviewed January 20, 2008

This is a hotel conveniently situated close to the marina, where there are countless restaurants and bars to while away the evenings. Vilamoura is surrounded by 5 golf courses and the resort is very geared towards that trade. Although there is a beach, if you have kids, you are probably better off trying any of the other resorts along the Algarve.
We liked:-
1. The room was bigger than average in a simple (nautical) style.
2. The breakfast selection/quality was first class.
3. There was entertainment on in the bar area each evening (the acts were, however, pretty poor.....)
4. Location was great - adjacent to the marina and only 20 minutes from Faro airport.
5. There are many eat/drinks places within easy walking distance.
We disliked:-
1. Although modernised, the hotel is getting a little old and it shows in some of the fixtures and fittings.
2. Unless you are into golf, you need to hire a car, so that you can tour around during the day.
3. Because it considers itself an 'up market' resort, the prices of food and drink were higher than many other resorts on the Algarve.
All-in-all, we were happy with our stay and would probably use it again. However, I'm sure there are better hotels round about (the sister hotel - Vila Gale Ampalius, for example, which is far newer, is only 200 yards away).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too golf orientated
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    489
    228
    51
    13
See reviews for
275
410
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

After reading the reviews here i was a bit doubtful of food and service and quality of the hotel but when we got there it was very good. the only draw backs were we did not get the sun on our balcony and indoor pool and spa could have been a little warmer. we found the staff very friendly the food good and plenty to please every one. so yes i would recommend this place to every one looking for a relaxed holiday. we were there for christmas and new year and the staff made sure nothing was to much trouble so we had a good christmas and new year

  • Liked — comfort cleansiness friendly staff
  • Disliked — no sun on balcony
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kazWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from Vilamoura where we stayed in the Vila Gale Marina hotel. Having looked at this hotel on the website I was really looking forward to staying there. However on arrival we realised we had made a mistake. The lounge/reception area looked like a cafe with little tables and uncomfortable chairs. Our room was small and smelt of stale smoke. The bathroom was so small that two persons could not be in it at the same time. There was a total of six hangers in the wardrobe and very little storage. Most of my clothes remained in my suitcase during our stay. About 3/4 of the hotel balconies never saw the sunshine. We were fortunate that we got a balcony which caught the sun as the pool area was not good for sunbathing. Glad to say we were only booked in for B&B as the food was not very appetising at breakfast. There are many very good restaurants in Vilamoura and we particularly enjoyed Pipa Rota and Romana. Petunia's very good at lunch time. We would not go back to this hotel. Hotel staff not very friendly and no sign of management on the ground! All in all we could not give this hotel 4*.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank MagsNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Hotel location is great, Ideal for the golfing fraternity (I'm not one though some of my best friends are).Rooms are ok although the bedroom was more than a little tired.Didn't use the pool as it was in the shade most of the day as was our balcony. I reckon the hotel was built back to front as the rear of the hotel is in the sun all day.Saying this it shouldn't put anyone off as the local beaches more than make up for it.(esp.Falesia beach far side of the old marina)
Reception staff not particularly welcoming and some came across as surly but the breakfast staff in the restaurant v.nice and efficient.
A nice place to eat is the cataplana grill. On the way to the Marina,Turn rt. at the front of the hotel and 4th/5th turn on the left.(it's not far to walk) where the food is good, price for the area value for money and service 2nd to none. We went 3 times in the week!
Nice Beach bar/cafe calle Bouzios, slightly more expensive but worth the view in front of the Vila Gale Ampilius. 4****break

  • Liked — the location for the beaches and loaction of the numerous bars and eateries
  • Disliked — the lack of sun on the balcony/pool.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugby15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Vila Galé Marina for 2 weeks in August 2007. Having read so many reviews of various nature about this hotel, I have to say, it is probably one of the best holidays we have ever had. The important things like, rooms were kept spotless, food was good and plenty of variety. I did not have a lot of contact with hotel staff, but what contact I did have, I found them to be helpful and pleasant. The hotel is approximately a 2 minute walk to the marina. You just cross the main road, and any of the alleyways leading off the road will take you straight there. The marina is a must see, with so many bars and restaurants to choose from. One drawback you will come across are, restaurant touts. They continually hand out flyers to their various restaurants (they're paid about 3 euros per person they can get inside to eat). After a while, they do become annoying. One restaurant I do is recommend is called A Broa. To get there, come out of the hotel and turn right. Walk up to the end of the road, and turn left opposite MacDonalds(yes they have one here too). Carry on down till you see the supermarket on the right. But staying on the left, cut through a small car park, and on the right you'll see many small restaurants, follow it round until you reach A Broa. Also in that location is another good restaurant called O Vittoria. A good restaurant, but a miserable old waiter (agreed by most of the customers). Finally, if looking for a launderette (hotel too expensive), go down to the marina, and walk round until you come to the Mayflower restaurant. Go up the alleyway at the side and there it is. Only service washes are available, but the woman in charge is pleasant and helpful. She charges by the kilo. It cost us 8 euros for a full bag of washing, which I though was very reasonable. We're looking at going back to Vilamoura and the Vila Galé next year.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank jykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

The hotel is in a grat location but no way is this a 4 star more likely a 3 star.
The pool area is awful but you can use the Vila Gale amplius next door which has a lovely garden and great pool especially for young ones.
Rooms are just on the clean side. The rooms are serviced every day with towels changed too.
Breakfast is ok but we did get a little sick of the same thing by the end of our stay.
Loads of choice to eat out. Portugese steak and steak on the stone were a popular choice for my family. The Irish bar does a great burger and sandwich for only 8 euros. There is 3 squares slightly above the marina and you can get meals which are good value.
The weather was fantastic with it warm and sunny every day. Beware the nights can be cool with quite a wind blowing. A shawl or cardigan may be needed.
We were disappointed at the lack of things to do and see outside vilamoura. We went to Zoo Marine which is ok. The nearest aqua park about 7 miles away is not suitable for under 8;s. We know because my 6 year old was not allowed on most of the slides.
We used local transport to get around which is easy.
overall we had a enjoyable time 14 days was a little too long .

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — Poor pool area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank NicDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

I visited the Vila Gale hotel with my family and was not disappointed. The hotel itself was very nice and clean. The staff were helpful.

We were bed & breakfast so I am unsure as to what the food at dinner and tea were like, but if it was anything like the breakfast, it would have been nice! There was a great selection and everything was always widely available; the staff bent over backwards to ensure the food and drinks were kept to a satisfactory level.

The entertainment was average for a hotel, you can't expect it to be spectacular! But it was worth watching some nights. We visited Casino Vilamoura one night which included a meal and entertainment. This is worth going to as it's a different experience than wandering around the resort itself. It was a 5 minute walk from the Vila Gale. If you have children under the age of 18 then they will not be allowed in the casino but this isn't a problem.

The marina is beautiful and most of the restaurants and shops are situated here. Please bare in mind nothing is cheap. You'll pay British prices here for food, drink and gifts.

The hotel cannot be faulted. A lot of people complain that the pool area doesn't get the sun all day, which is true, but getting shade every now and then just breaks up the heat and makes it more bearable as it gets very hot at times. There is a pool bar which supplies food and drink (including ice creams). Reasonably priced.

There is access to the internet in the hotel. You pay 3 euro for 1 hour (this is the minimum you can buy). According to the staff you cannot break off before the hour is finished and come back using the same code, although I think I saw a couple of people doing just that. Possibly worth a try.

All in all, the Vila Gale is worth visiting. It's clean, the staff are helpful, the views and the areas around the hotel are beautiful. Couldn't fault it.
(Apart from the shower was like a trickle but most hotels are like that!)

  • Liked — Area, view and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank popeyeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,049 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
720 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Property: Vila Gale Marina
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing