We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent all-round hotel”
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Friendly welcome, nice rooms, top breakfast and lovely hotel/pool. Location close to beach, marina, bars and restaurants. We were much happier with our hotel than anyone we met who was staying in the local 5 star hotels!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to know that you had an amazing stay.

It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our Hotel, staff and service.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you again soon at Dom Pedro Marina.

Please accept our best regards.
Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

A perfectly nice hotel in a great location - a few minutes walk to the beach and the marina. The room was large and clean. However the pool was very disappointing - very small and shallow. The water barely came up to my husband's waist.
Vilamoura itself is very pretty and the beaches are great. However there is not much to do and the place is completely full of English & Irish tourists and golfers. We were there just for a long weekend and were ready to go home at the end of it. Avoid the Algarve if you are after an authentic Portuguese experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLN442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

We are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us but we really regret you did not enjoy our swimming pool. Generally all clients make lovely comments regarding our pool.

You have lots of things to do and to explore at the Algarve, as you say you were here only for a long weekend probably you did not had the time to visit all the beautiful and typical places of the Algarve.

We hope that in your next visit you will be able to change your opinion.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have just come back from 3 days at the Dom Pedro Marina and can honestly say for the money it's great value. Key things;

Location
Five minutes walk from the Marina and all the bars and restaurants or the beach, great thing is that despite this central location there was no outside noise.

Room
Large, very clean if a little basic. My only grumble was that all the floors are tiled which mean that anyone walking or dragging a golf bag outside your room was very noisy.

Breakfast
Buffet style, eat all the bacon, sausages and scambled eggs a man desires plus the healthy stuff as well. Coffee via the world's fastest machine - 6 seconds per small cup.

Outside area
Great, clean and generally you'd expect.

So to conclude as my old history teacher would say if you want a cheap golf break hotel then look no further - £71 inc breakfast via expedia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntsHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina.

We are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our services and staff achieved your expectations.

Your description from our Hotel, services and staff is excellent. On behalf of the whole team, thank you for your lovely comments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Very disappointed with hotel. Please read on because there is something you need to be aware of. Firstly the staff in the hotel were lovely and very helpful. The hotel itself is in a good location - only minutes from the beach and from the harbour. It is decidely dated and needs drastic updating. Breakfast was very limited - only ever scambled egg and the bacon was so overcooked you could chew for hours. The evening meal was very limited and totally unimaginative. There was only ever a choice of one fish dish, one meat dish and the vegetarion option was usually a different shaped pasta with a different sauce! Not the best for a 4 star hotel. I paid for a sea view and got one of trees. The pool was very small but adequate. The sun beds were spread around the grass area but in some places the grass was water logged. There was not enough of those little tables to go round so if you were unluckly to find yourself in the bog area it meant you had to keep your belongings on the sunbed with you which was not very practical. Now for the bit you need to be aware of. We were contacted on the first day by a very over enthusiastic women who said whe was from the Dom Pedro Hotel customer service and would we like to join them later that day for a meeting just to let us know what was available. So we popped in - 2 hours later we realised that it was in fact a separate company trying to get us to join a holiday company that you paid for by subscription. On top they state that by doing a survey during the meeting we could get a real cheap deal for Dom Pedro hotelsl!!!!? It was the biggest load of cods wallop imaginable! My holidays are very important to me so to be dragged away on false pretences for two hours and that the hotel I had chosen was quite happy to use their clients in this way is unforgiveable!! I was so upset and angry but decided that complaining to the manager would not get me anywhere cos they were aware this was happening and I certainly did not want to get upset twice. It has made me very wary of Dom Pedro Hotels anywhere and I would certainly not recommend them simply cos they make use of their clients like this! They must stop this practice or at least be up front when they phone and let people know what it really is about.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PatJ625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I was truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not in keeping with your expectations.

The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes to prevent such guest dissatisfaction. We will take in consideration your suggestions and we will look in to it very carefully. We hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

Thank you for comments regarding our staff, I will make sure that they receive your compliments.

Please accept our best regards.
Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We visited for the 13th time this month. As we have come to expect, the whole experience was great. We stayed at the Dom Pedro Marina where we have stayed ten years on the trot. The staff welcomed us back and we were very well looked after.

The reception staff were great and helped us arrange a taxi to get to an out of the way destination, explaining to the driver exactly what we needed (our own knowledge of Portuguese is sadly embarrassingly little). The driver literally went the extra mile and took us to our friends' restaurant, which was indeed, literally off the beaten track.

The Dom Pedro Marina is ideal for couples and there were a few families with small children enjoying the facilities. The gardens are pretty with Mediterranean t
Local restaurants are very welcoming and the food is freshly prepared and good. White Sangria is pleasant too!

We went to Chico's Real, just outside of the marina, where we enjoyed wonderful hospitality and great food.

We varied our meals at the restaurants in the area and had two meals at the DPM, one a la carte and the other the set menu. Both were fine, the service good – the head waiter had a great sense of humour. The restaurant prices in the hotel were about right.

The marina was bustling and a good place to walk each evening after eating and drinking too much!

Fingers crossed we'll get the chance of a 14th time, and perhaps we will get the top floor at DPM next time? We've tried all the others :) We tend to book a junior suite, just because it gives more room – although the other rooms appeared good too.

So many visits back to such a small resort? There is always something different to find. We walked many miles along the beach to other resorts - the Algarve has an amazing coast line and it is possible to walk to other resorts in less time than say a bus or car would take - and also gives the opportunity of nice air and a good tan and the opportunity to visit some of the beach cafés on the way and back!

Yep... I will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunieGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I hope this will give other reviewers some idea how this hotel chain operates. I thought the hotel was really tired looking and not that good.Breakfast was ok but I've had better,we ended up just having fruit and toast, which was ok but we've been in all 3 Dom Pedro and this one is the worst.I would like to say the staff are good and you did have clean towels most days.but they were very poor and needed renewing.but can I just warn you if you recieve a letter under the door at any time just ignore it 'cos all it is Guest Services asking to meet you and do not go 'cos we did and 2 hours later still there!!!!!!!! this spoilt my time there and we will be using other hotels next time one being the Villa Gale ( very clean ) We can not fault Villamoura as a resort there are so many excellent places to eat and we are always finding new ones,try the Fishermans Shack it is Fantastic it may not look like it but belive me it is they have to turn people away all the time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for giving us the feedback of your recent stay at the Dom Pedro Marina.

The comments posted are very important to us in order to review our processes to prevent such guest dissatisfaction. We will take in consideration your suggestions.

We hope that in a future visit we will be able to change your opinion.

Please accept our best regards.

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here for 14 nights and will not stay here again. Will list the disappointments numerically
1, We paid for a SEA-VIEW and were given the 1st floor which had a TREE-VIEW. After much complaining we were moved to the 2nd floor.
2, As soon as we got to the room we noticed there was no TEA & COFFEE MAKING facilities in a supposed 4 star hotel, no iron, no ironing board and when I asked at reception they would not supply a kettle, iron or ironing board and told us we could get coffee from the bar and use the laundry service. We bought a kettle (14€) and 2 mugs (€3) in the Chinese shop under the Olympus Hotel
3, Lack of stowage in the room, 3 small drawers, a few flimsy melamine shelves in the wardrobe and 10 poor quality coat-hangers with plastic clips which failed if you put a few garments on them.
4, Beds were 2 narrow single beds side by side with poor spongy mattresses and which moved easily apart and away from the bed-head. I actually fell down between them one night when I turned over.
5, Noise was transmitted freely through the hotel especially from movement on the tiled floors in the room overhead and from adjacent & overhead bathrooms.
6, The cooked breakfast was very poor quality but there was a very good selection of fresh fruit.
7, There was no fitness centre but we were led to believe there was one when we booked
8, to be continued

Room Tip: avoid this over-rated and over-priced hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captaingerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we especially regret that Dom Pedro Marina did not correspond to your expectations.

Thank you once again for your feed back as it would help us to identify points that can be improved and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

We were glad to know that you enjoy the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of the Hotel.

Kind Regards

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $123 - $1,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing