We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveler rating
131
293
148
31
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
293
148
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom apartment large balcony needs updating kitchen utensils self catering sea view bit dated reception staff were very helpful pool area time share iron and ironing board nice pool excellent location an update short break spacious rooms pool towels
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 620 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2017

Just back from a week's holiday in this hotel. From reception, to quality of the rooms and cleaning staff, everything was excellent. The hotel was a short walk away from the beach and the Marina I was on bed and breakfast basis, so I can only comment on that. There was a good selection of various types of food to suit different tastes. I had a full British breakfast every morning. Proper bacon was available, not the usual strips of fat with a little bit of bacon attached which you find in Spanish hotels, so that was a pleasant surprise. Eggs were fried to order so they were always hot. Proper Tetley tea bags. If venturing out, avoid Grogan's Bar. The older English woman who works in it has a shocking attitude to customers. I had the best Indian meal for many years in the Lakshmi Indian restaurant down by the Marina. I would recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wicker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Assistant manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review. It’s great when guests enjoy their stay with us and also important to know that our guests are satisfied with our facilities and services.
We look forward to welcome you again at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards

Cláudio Pereira
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

With so many hotels in the Algarve requiring hikes up and down hills to get anywhere, Vilamoura is a very charming exception. Easy walking through the whole area nd over to Quateira. The Dom Pedro Portobelo was a wonderful base for my tour of the Algarve. It is a very short walk to the beach or the marina. Several Supermercados within an easy walk. The boardwalk along the beach takes you to Quateira where you will find a small market, mostly fresh food. The staff of the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. The room was cleaned, beds made, and fresh towels provided daily. I stayed one night in a Studio room which was large and spacious with balcony and view over the ocean then 5 more nights in a one bedroom apartment which again had a large balcony and a marvelous view of the ocean. The beds in the studio were full twin size beds while a bit narrower in the one bedroom. My one and only complaint would be the beds were too hard for my liking but I found that to be at everyplace that I stayed in Portugal. There is a Casino across the road for evening entertainment, from the Marina there are several options for half day or full day boat tours along the coast. I also took a full day bus tour to Sangres, Silves, Lagos, Cabo de Sao Vicente and Serra de Monchique.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Assistant manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review. It’s great when guests enjoy their stay with us and also important to know that our guests are satisfied with our facilities and services.
We look forward to welcome you again at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards

Cláudio Pereira
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here at Halloween time It is a nice hotel with a lovely pool area. Breakfast buffet was nice. Great location as it is beside the sea and near but not too close to the marina. There is a sea front walk to quartiera town and to the marina ( access to marina from this walk is closed due to building works) It's beside a bus stop. Villamoura is a lovely well kept town. The hotel is a concrete build but is furnished quite nice and modern. This time of the year was quite. I would recommend going to the local restaurants on the right as you leave the hotel. The only reason that I didn't give it more stars is the noise from corridors / doors. It is a solid built hotel but the doors are paper thin and they all slam. For some reason the noise travels along the corridors and you think that your door is open or that someone is in your room. They should change the doors or put a second door in the room.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

We stayed here for 3nights in a 2bed apartment. Perfect location for Vilamoura just 5 minutes to the marina.
Nice and clean and very spacious. Happily go back anytime.

Good breakfast every morning and friendly staff throughout

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Assistant manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and review. We are glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again at Dom Pedro Portobelo in the future.

Kindest regards,

Cláudio Pereira
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

This a lovely hotel to which I was quite pleasantly surprised,rooms are spacious.
We booked a standard room but requested for an upgrade to a sea view room which they did for free as it was my birthday
Bedroom was beautiful with flat screen tv but didn’t spend any time in room other than to sleep
Bathroom is clean but u only get a bar of soap and shampoo so bring your toiletries!
The kitchenette and lounge area is generous in size an the balcony spans the bedroom and lounge so if you can get a sea view it’s totally worth it!!!
The room was spotless.
Breakfast was tasty but limited and it’s in the restaurant on the ground floor which also you can sit outside by the pool
The pool is clean and there is a children’s one too
The beach is 3 minute walk and the marina is also about a 2/3 minute walk
Great hotel great location and service was brilliant too!!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Manni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Assistant manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your comments here at TripAdvisor, regarding your recent stay at Dom Pedro Portobelo. Thank you for your patronage!
We are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your visit to Vilamoura.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again very soon at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards,

Cláudio Pereira
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews