We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We loved this apartahotel. The reviews were mixed but we decided to book anyway & can't wait to go back. Although only two of us we booked a one bedroom apartment & it was huge, easily comfortable enough for four adults with loads of wardrobe space. I have to agree that the rooms are a bit tired looking particularly the bathroom but nonetheless it was very comfortable & the water pressure in the shower was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable & the bedroom had a balcony adjoining the living area overlooking the beach & pool. The kitchen/dining area was ample with a separate 70's style bar. Loads of utensils even down to table cloth & napkins! The furniture should be described as retro & if the hotel do decide to renovate they could make a fortune selling the ercol style furniture in any trendy East London market. The public areas of the hotel are modern & again very comfortable particularly the sun loungers. Beautiful pool area & very friendly bar staff, they very kindly made me hot honey & lemon in the evening as I had a horrible virus. The room was cleaned daily & the entire hotel was spotlessly clean. The best thing was the location literally a few minutes walk to supermarkets, restaurants, marina & beach - totally fab.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have early morning sun & a shady afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are really glad that you have spent a perfect stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo. Thank you for your kind review, which we really appreciated.
Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Dom Pedro Portobelo.

kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 546 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Booked for 3 nights B&B as a last minute get away and for the price we paid we could not complain about what we got. The hotel's best point is its location - Minutes from the Marina, the beach, bars restaurants and supermarkets as well as being opposite the Casino, going on a self catering basis this was the main priority for us and it did not fail to disappoint.

The hotel itself is perfectly adequate although a little dated, who spends a holiday in Portugal inside! Our apartment was on the 3rd floor and we had a fab view, the rooms were HUGE and had every kind of self catering utensil possible, there was nothing not thought about, even down to an ice bucket and corkscrew, highly praise the hotel for this! The beds were comfy, extra pillows provided, and an English working TV (Including Music). We were only there 3 nights but still had a maid service every day, with fresh towels provided.

The pool was fantastic, very very clean and warm enough to swim i, there was always plenty of room and plenty of sunbeds. I can only comment on the food as we were on a B&B basis but this was exactly what we expected for the price - sausages/eggs/bacon/beans/tomatoes and toast, a wide selection of fruit , yoghurt and cereal also. Although this is an all inclusive hotel it seemed most people chose the self catering option as we did, as I would highly recommend the restaurants around Vilamoura they are not to be missed! (Prime & Mayflower especially)

I do not like to moan and for the price we paid we had a perfect 3 night break and would recommend the hotel and return, we was just a bit disappointed that on arrival at 11 o clock a room wasn't available for us despite the hotel not being full and advising the hotel in advance. Even a temp room would have sufficed but we were just told to leave our luggage in a glass door room and come back at 2pm when the room should be ready! We understand this is policy but a little co-operation would of been nice.Once we were the given our key we had to ask for directions to the room as it seemed we were just told there's you're room not a big issue at all just a little more of a personal approach does wonders with us.

The only other issue was that our first morning our B&B Status was not on the list so once we had enjoyed a pleasant breakfast we were chased out the restaurant by the waiter saying excuse me you pay - we explained we were B&B but he advised we are not on the list so we must pay. It was then down to me and my partner to go up to our room and find our paperwork to prove this before we could leave this restaurant, we just feel that this should of been checked with reception and the waiter and not our responsibility to prove what we had paid for.

Only 2 minor issues does not alter our views of the hotel very good great location - a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to return.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you best view and on the pool/beach side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review, also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we take good note of your comments.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited originally in 2012 and was not impressed. This time however the experience was better. We had the same type of room as last time, a studio but on a lower floor even though I'd requested a high floor. It was spotlessly clean. Had everything you could need or want for self catering. The beds were comfortable, the TV worked as did the remote, the balcony was also clean and we had maid service everyday regardless what time we left the room. The bathroom is still dated but the bath was clean and there was good lighting. Great helpful staff, good attentive service even when just having a snack at lunch time. Really enjoyed the week there and looking to go back September. Once the rooms get overhauled I think this hotel will stand out amongst the others in the area having stayed at most over the years.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TravellersDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a real pleasure to read your review, thanks for coming back to our hotel and give us the opportunity to show that we have a fantastic team who cares about the welfare of our guests.
We really look forward to welcoming you back at Dom Pedro Portobelo for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We returned yesterday (30/4) from the hotel. It is very very clean. Room cleaned and beds made everyday. Room and pool were spotless. Two large single beds and two large sofas, table and chairs. Small kitchen area which had everything you need. Microwave, hob kettle, iron all crockery etc. Didn't see a hair dryer, but took my own anyway so not a problem. Reception very helpful. The hotel is very near the marina with plenty of bars and restaurants and also opposite the casino if you like that sort of thing, we don't. We will definitely go back to this hotel. The weather was in the late 80 degrees every day too. Fantastic. Beach about 10 min stroll and our room looked out to the beach. It was perfect. Having been to Vilamoura before the better restaurants are away from the marina at the back. Far better quality food and a lot cheaper.

Room Tip: Our room was 818 and we loved it. Look out to beach and marina and had sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review, also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable holiday at Dom Pedro Portobelo.
Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week, arriving on Good Friday. We were very pleased as we got the accommodation for a bargain price (booked 4 days before arrival!) but we didn't expect what we found.
We found a little gem!
It's a brilliant location, only a few minutes walk into the marina and the beach! A choice of 2 supermarkets - both a short walk from hotel in either direction.
The facilities in the hotel were fab. Our apartment got cleaned every day without fail, with fresh towels and they even took our rubbish! (Never happened to me before in self catering!!)
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants somewhere a stones throw away from the Marina and Beach but not have to pay a ridiculous amount!
We would also recommend you use Yellowfish Taxis for your transfers, we paid €50 in total for airport pick up and drop off, they were fantastic and saved us a fortune and a lot of time on the shuttle busses provided by other companies!!
We will be returning here I'm sure!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very glad that you have spent an excellent time at Dom Pedro Portobelo. We always do our best to make our guest stay confortable and pleasant.
Thank you so much for your kind comments and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custodio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 4 nights away this hotel. We chose it for the location and value for money. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which although dated had a large balcony and every utensil in the kitchen you could ever need. The room was cleaned daily and the bed was changed which was a welcome surprise. Would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dollshouse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really glad that you have spent a perfect stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo. Thank you for your kind review, which we really appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Dom Pedro Portobelo. Yes there are some decor faults as expected but the room was large, had all required self catering facilities and more from reception upon asking. Staff were friendly. I enjoyed it such that I'm planning on going back there in October.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyable your stay with us. Thank you so much, on behalf of whole team and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo in October.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Portobelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Portobelo

Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H5, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $70 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Portobelo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Portobelo Apartment hotel & golf The hotel’s excellent location at the center of Vilamoura, facing the Casino and a short distance from the Marina, makes it easy to discover Vilamoura’s main attractions: shops, nightclubs and restaurants and bars with lovely terraces. Dom Pedro Portobelo hotel provides studios with kitchenette and spacious apartments with private balconies, most of them with a sea view. With an outdoor pool for adults and a separate wading pool for children, the hotel features a bar and a restaurant that serves Portuguese gastronomy. For golf enthusiasts, there is a Golf Desk to help you to book green fees, with special rates and conditions for our guests, as well as a courtesy shuttle bus to the 5 Dom Pedro Golf Collection golf courses in Vilamoura. On Vilamoura’s beach, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel, there is an exclusive area reserved with thatched umbrellas and loungers, as well as a beach restaurant and bar: The Búzios Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Portobelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Portobelo Quarteira
Dom Pedro Portobelo Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing