We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recent visit to dom pedro portobelo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Pedro Portobelo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“recent visit to dom pedro portobelo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just returned after spending a week in Dom Pedro Portobelo and just wanted to let everyone know what a fabulous time we had there, we had booked studio but we were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment with fantastic views and an enormous balcony room 621, the staff were very helpful and corteous and we ate in the restaurant on several occasions which we found excellent value for very good food at present they have an offer for dinner and breakfast for 15 euros . the pool was lovely with great sunbeds. I would say that the furnishings are of an older style but everything as in perfect order plenty of towels great bedding etc. We will be back

Room Tip: room 621 corner suite with extra large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miriam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very glad that you have had such an enjoyable stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo and would like to thank you, on behalf of the whole team, for your kind and encouraging comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    153
    76
    20
    12
See reviews for
113
128
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sligo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lovely clean and well maintained building. Staff were very friendly, helpful and flexible at all times. Food very average in their restaurant but we are not ones for eating in all the time anyhow so dined out most nights. We had a one bed apt - two sofabeds in the living room. There was loads of space for myself, hubbie, 11 yr old and 10mth old baby! They had cot set up in the bedroom. Had everything we needed in the apt, microwave, kettle, loads of cutlery & dining sets, glasses,etc. Rooms cleaned every day. We were on 7th floor with sea view which was fab. I would recommend it to anybody!! The pool is clean with plenty of loungers. Theres' seperate kids pool. Lovely spot. There's a pool table in the bar area but nothing else to entertain my 11yr old - other than a computer with internet access (which is pay for use!) The nearby Dom Pedro Golf & Dom Pedro Marina have their facilities available to residents at Portobelo. However the games room at the Golf is outdated so didnt venture there a second time, also found the music in their lounge area to be suited to a younger crowd (loud & trendy) although the most of the customers at the time were older people.Nice clean area though but the barman was slow. The DP Marina had a nice lounge area and enjoyed my cocktails there!! We made the trip to Slide & Splash and all of us enjoyed our day there.... Would highly recommend it to anybody with kids. Its a great spot with loads of other rides. They offer a bus pick up from the towns. This isnt overly pushed by local sales spots as there are closer similar resorts but this was definitely worth the extra journey. Anyhow, the Portobelo will keep you happy. There is a small supermarket nearby to stock up on all of your supplies (offers a lot of UK/Irish products) and the ones in Quarteria stock more local produce. Location is ideal a short stroll to the marina but far enough away not to be kept awake by the noise of the bars & punters at night

Room Tip: Ask for Room view. Ideally 6th - 9th Floors will offer the clearer views. We were apt closest to ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangowhiskey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which we really appreciated.
It is always gratifying to read such a positive review.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our Hotel, enjoyed our facilities and services and that you were especially pleased with the friendliness of our staff.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back, hopefully soon.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was our first visit to Dom Pedro Portobelo and, hopefully, won't be our last. We stayed in a studio which was very spacious and spotlessly clean. True the furniture was a little old and slightly scuffed but it was functional with plenty of drawer space and a very decent size wardrobe. The twin beds were very comfortable to fall into after a hard days sunbathing! The kitchenette was perfectly adequate for making coffee and snacks and the room was well equipped with crockery, cutlery etc. Ok, there was no mirror except in the bathroom, but having read previous reviews, I took along a small mirror with me so drying hair, applying makeup etc was not a problem.

The reception staff were always polite and attentive, and no-one bothered us or tried to sell time shares, trips or anything. Check in and out was very quick and efficient.

I didn't find the drinks prices in the hotel expensive at all, just the average price of drinks everywhere in the resort.

The restaurante Vilamoura, on site in the hotel, was run by a lovely, friendly guy called Antonio and we ate in here twice. The service was great and my husband had the best steak ever.

The pool at the hotel was of a good size and got the sun all day, there were lots of sunbeds and some umbrellas for shade.

All in all a good experience, a lovely holiday and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I left my mirror in room 406 if anyone wants it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and for your preference to Dom Pedro Hotels.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, the facilities and especially the service provided by the whole team.

It is always gratifying to receive feedback, especially if it is so positive.

Thank you so much and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The best things about the Portobelo have to be it's location and views, and the staff. The location is superb, right in the middle of the resort with superb views over the Casino to the beach and sea. You can check the sea before you leave your room to see whether it is calm enough for swimming or not. Then it is a brief 2 minute stroll to the beach - lovely soft sand, well maintained by the resort, and clean. The only thing that would be nice is taps at the back of the beach for washing the sand off your feet.

The hotel is perfectly fine, Ok, a little tired, new bathrooms would be great, and I believe they are planned - please hurry up! But the whole establishment is extremely clean and well maintained, and every member os staff is friendly and helpful - they really make your stay a pleasure. Special mention must go to the reception team for their flexibility, and Emma, melanie and the rest of the guest services team, who will help with anything - bus timetables, booking trips, restaurant tips etc. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, we had a 1 bedroomed apartment which was great for stretching out in, and was well equipped with cutlery, crockery, iron etc. A good mirror near a plug for hairdrying would have been useful, and don't forget to bring your own hairdryer. Also, the air conditioning is not that strong, we were overhot on a few days, and leaving windows open to help meant disturbed sleep due the noise from the nearby convenient taxi rank and bus stop.
Vilamoura is a great resort, a lovely Marina with shops and restaurants to wander round, nearby Quarteira, a more traditional fishing town, with markets, restaurants and a great sea front to walk along.

Night time choice of restaurants and bars was good, in particular, just next to the hotel the Don Quixote has friendly staff, a good value half price happy hour from 7pm to 8 pm - pint 1.25 Euros, wine 1 euro a glass, and lovely freshly cooked food

All in all a good experience, excellent value, and a great holiday

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is very gratifying for us to learn that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were especially impressed with the service provided by our team.

Thank you also for your suggestions. We will take your recommendation into consideration.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have been going back to this hotel for the last seven years. Each time we recieve a warm friendly welcome from the staff. We stay on a bed and breakfast basis and the service and food are excellent. I have to agree with other reviewers that the room decor is a little dated but it is exceptionallly clean and well maintained. The staff are always eager to help whenever possible and .I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind review. We are very pleased that everything, from the cleanliness to the breakfast and especially the service provided by our team, corresponded once again to your expectations.

Thanks again for your feedback we will be able to welcome you back for hopefully another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This 4 star hotel is a 3 star plus restaurant. Good location to the marina. The room is large with adequate self catering facilities. While it is clean and painted it is old and tired and in desperate need of a refurb. There is no mirror except in the dingy bathroom which takes an age to clear. A safe is 2.25 e per day. They say wi-fi which is only in the lobby at 5e for your stay. We arrived on saturday and have been told of a welcome pack which we can get Tuesday. The experience is acceptable but it is a clear indication of the economic climate. If you get a cheap deal you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodieGreaterlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We ware glad that you enjoyed your stay at Dom Pedro Portobelo We regret however that you were not completely satisfied with the apartments. Our hotel offers different type of apartments and It seems to me that you were allocated in a studio, a one bedroom apartment is much more comfortable.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just spent a long weekend at Dom Pedro Portobelo. Rooms were huge, bright and airy, good size balcony, plenty s/c facilities to include an iron, and the most comfortable bed I've slept in abroad! Check in and out very quick. Can't comment on food as we went on a s/c basis. Lovely big pool/pool area and comfortable sunbeds which makes a nice change from the usual hard plastic ones. Location wise its perfect, only a few minutes walk down to the Marina and about 5 to the beach. We had Rm 718 with a fantastic sea view. This hotel is also just across the road from the Casino. If I was to fault anything and its minor, the only mirror is in the bathroom where the light is very bad so if a bunch of girls were staying, getting ready might be abit of a problem! and there's certainly plenty room to put up a mirror. I'd highly recommend this hotel and if I were to return to Vilamoura this is where I would stay.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must, ask for 718 or else a corner room where you get the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonniegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciated your comments.
We ware glad that you enjoyed your stay at Dom Pedro Portobelo, service and facilities corresponded to your expetations and we look forward to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay with us!

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#25 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Portobelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Portobelo

Property: Dom Pedro Portobelo
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H5, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Portobelo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Portobelo offers a privileged location in the heart of Vilamoura, facing the casino and only a short walk from the International Yacht Marina and the Atlantic Ocean. Dom Pedro Portobelo is the ideal location to enjoy a family holiday in Vilamoura at its finest. A recent refurbishment has been completed ensuring high standards of hospitality, warmth and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Dom Pedro Portobelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Portobelo Quarteira
Dom Pedro Portobelo Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing