We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”

Restaurante Cataplana
Ranked #70 of 193 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vilamoura, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

i have a business in the Algarve, i send many people to various restauarants ..Cataplana always gets rave reviews... great food and friendly service... definitely one of the must visits in Vilamoura...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishG0lfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    69
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The wonderful restaurant.I went to this restaurant last week,i ask sole and my husband order a steak with sauce and all was divine.The service was 5 stars,the waitress always with a smile,the restaurant was full,normally all restaurant when they are full, the service is slow but not this restaurant was perfect.
I really like this restaurant and i will be back...
I will see you soon Restaurante Cataplana

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food & service terrible (Do not go to this restaurant!!!!)”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Ordered a glass of wine. There were pieces of cork floating in the glass of wine. I asked for this wine to be changed. The waitress did not look impressed but changed it either way. The starters arrived. Tomatoe soup & prawn cocktail. The soup tasted like plastic. The Prawn cocktail was average (hard to get wrong) There was no effort made on the presentation on both of the courses. The mains arrived. A lasagne and a steak & chips. The lasagne arrived burned on top with no side salad or fries. The steak looked pale and unappetising. This as served with McDonald's (looking) fries and some cold tasteless carrots. I removed the burned top layer of the lagagsne and showed it to the waitress. She said that she would tell the chef and walked off. When the bill arrive asked for a discount because the food was burned. The waitress argued with me in front of the customers in the restaurant. She was really rude and and unhelpful. There was zero customer service. This restaurant is only interested in overcharging for really bad food. Going to this restaurant was a truly terrible experience that I never wish to repeat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margofon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't get drawn in by the Marina lights...go here!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

You can walk along the Marina in Vilamoura and get taken in by the lights and hosts drawing you in to numerous restaurants that generally serve the same over priced standard cuisine. Don't get drawn in!

Seek out Restaurante Cataplana which is set a street behind the Marina. The couple the run the restaurant are very friendly, but definitely not pushy, and extremely accommodating.

This was a return visit having been a couple of years back and the food and the welcome was as good as I remembered.

Fish Cataplana was superb. Flavoursome with four huge fresh steaks of sea bass and halibut. I couldn't have asked for more. Starters were good value and the atmosphere of the restaurant relaxed unlike many fast paced restaurants in the area.

Good value for money and great service

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kilogram2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Found without referring to Tripadvisor”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stumbled across this gem. Deilightful service and good food. Surprisingly quiet for such a good restaurant. Its location a littleway back from the marina be the reason for this Definitely worth going hunting for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew200644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Cataplana also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Restaurante Cataplana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing