We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food, beautiful atmosphere, friendly people. There's nowhere better to dine in Vilamoura!”
Review of O Pirata

O Pirata
Ranked #42 of 193 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, beautiful atmosphere, friendly people. There's nowhere better to dine in Vilamoura!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We visited O Pirata on a friend's recommendation. We arrived in Vilamoura following a late flight and headed over to O Pirata for a quick drink. We were a bit peckish after our journey and asked on the off chance whether they had any food available. It was about 1am so were surprised when we were presented with a full menu to choose from. We opted for the Bolognaise Pizza and it was exquisite. Needless to say we were incredibly impressed and made numerous visits to the restaurant throughout our holiday. The food just got better and better - the seafood was succulent and fresh, and the Portuguese dishes were beautiful. We cannot recommend this place enough!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MossMelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    72
    27
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a fab friendly restaurant with excellent food”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We go to Vilamoura every summer and have been here numerous times over the last couple of years. It truely is lovely and ideal when you have kids, ours are 5 and 9 and they love going there and having fun in the pool after lunch or jumping on the trampoline after dinner. The staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. The food is always excellent and fairly priced. You must visit Pirata if you go to Vilamoura.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenAssucena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you've got kids go there!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visited Vilamoura while on holiday in the Albufeira area last week and decided to go to O Pirata based on reviews here, especially as we've got two young children aged 4 and 6. As soon as we walked into the place we were personally greeted by the owner Jose who was warm and courteous and let us choose our own table. The kids were straight into the shallow pool (we hadn't brought their swim kit but it would be a good idea if you've got children to pack swim things and towels). There's also a deeper pool for them and a trampoline. The boys were off having fun straight away but you can see them at all times so it means you can have a relaxing drink and uninterrupted chat! The menu is good and varied and great value. My husband had the mixed kebab which comes on the traditional hanging metal hook. He said it was all delicious. Kids had fish fingers and chips (home made chips! yum!). When our youngest knocked his juice over, as they do, the other older chap waiting on was immediately at our table reassuring us it was no bother and mopping up the spills etc. The heart and soul of this place really lies in the personal and warm service provided by Jose etc. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend because although it does lie off the beaten track (we took a taxi from behind the casino near the harbour, for a few euros) it's so worth it just to have a nice meal with great service knowing the kids are happy and off having fun so you can relax! Thanks Jose.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cath E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you got kids go there!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Just had an enjoyable evening @ O'Pirata, for a number of reasons.
Kids have a pool & trampoline so you can relax & enjoy some adult time.
Food was carried, well prepared and presented by 2 mature guys who seem to care.
Nothing to fault unless you are extremely picky and expecting Michelin style food and service.
Med holiday resorts need more places like this, keep up the good work!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaerphillyTrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We are just home from Vilamoura where we ate at O Pirata three times.Its a great place to have an enjoyable evening.Its location off the beaten track was no problem as we were staying a few minutes walk away at the Hilton.The food is excellent and great value.The staff here are brilliant,especially Josef.The place has an easygoing air about it.If you are looking for a restaurant that provides great food in a relaxed atmosphere and appreciates your custom,try it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddie6310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Pirata also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to O Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing