We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something very different”
Review of Oliveira Dourada

Oliveira Dourada
Ranked #15 of 197 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $34
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Location: GPS: Latitude-37 ° 06 '44.84 Nlongitude - 8 º 06' 49.81 W Come meet some of our specialties: shrimp in pumpkin w / grated cheese, lamb and tangine Rooster field, muamba, cataplana croaker. We have an offer for you!
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really wanted something very special and different to finish our amazing holiday in Portugal, after a lot of research on trip advisor we decided on the Oliveira Dourado. following previous advise we did phone and book particularly as we wanted a Saturday evening booking.

We arrived around 19:50 and was greeted by the staff at the entrance and shown to our table, the place is very quirky and so different from all the other restaurants in the area, also a little tricky to locate on the sat nav tho I did use the lat and longitude bearings given.

The dining experience was totally unexpected we were first offered a selection of crudités a plate of tomatoes and cheese, a popadom and some bacon wraps during which time the chef came over to personally explain the menu which is certainly different from the normal offerings of steak and chips etc.

Each of our party had a different meal so that we could try each others, including chicken mwoamba, lamb and chicken tegine, wild boar in a rich red wine source and a beautiful shrimp dish, accompanied with couscous, rice and a creamy mashed potato. The selection and variety of tastes was simply divine, admittedly it didn't look enough at first but was very filling, one little word of caution most of the dishes came in a lot of olive oil something I probably should have expected but didn't although this had no effect on the dining experience.

The main course was followed by a selection of fruit based desserts which was "on the house" and appears possibly to have been produced by someone who loves cooking and experimenting with flavours, each of the dishes offered was different and again prompted a round the table tasting of each of the dishes.

At no time did we feel rushed it was probably one of the best dining experiences that I have had the pleasure to experience. I would add that this place would probably not be ideal for anyone that prefers the traditional steak'n'chips or ham'n'egg meals but for those diners that would prefer something different and not afraid to explore their palate.

One thing I did not see was any menu suitable for children although we had no children within our group it may be that the children's menu was not offered to us.

We would like to offer our sincere gratitude to all the staff of the Oliveira Dourado for such an amazing experience and the attention you provided to us and all your other customers, this is what memories are made of......I'm not normally one for writing reviews but felt on this occasion they deserved it, I would if possible give a higher star rating if I could... Thank you all

1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilda J, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi, Andy,
Thank you for your lovely comment.
It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Come back again and thank you.
best regards
Zilda and Zé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 351 of 652 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant at 6:40 with 2 toddlers in tow. All the tables were empty. A member of staff took one look at the children and declared that all the tables were fully booked all night, turned around and walked away never to be seen again. I guess we will never experience the supposed amazing food. We went to cafe Arte after that.

4  Thank Touristimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilda J, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

only feel sorry that Tripadvisor has not published the answer I gave you is adequate!
first, because we only serve dinner starting from 7.30 pm.
Second, you had not reserved table and wanted what? I was making a table just for you?
third, we are so child-friendly that smaller not only pay nothing, and still get a gift!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked this for our anniversary on the strength of other reviews and don't regret the decision one bit. Whilst it is out of the way it is worth the taxi journey (about ten mins outside central Vilamoura) as you won't find food like it in the area.

There is no choice of starter, but three sumptuous dishes plus bread appears within minutes of arrival. The wine choice is "red or white" but the quality was good and the main courses are fresh, home cooked, full of flavour, different and authentic Portuguese and taste wonderful.

Desert also appears, and we had an anniversary cake (thank you, it was very thoughtful) and other diners seemed to have fruit platters. Three courses for two, plus two bottles of wine and a port was a bargain 65 euros.

If visiting Vilamoura or surrounding area I thoroughly recommend a trip to this slightly "quirky", but exceptional restaurant.

Thank KH_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilda J, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely comment.
It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Come back again and thank you.
best regards
Zilda and Zé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited as a family of 4 (one a very fussy eater!). Off the beaten track and away from tourism - just how we love it; authentic Portuguese cuisine. Staff very attentive and friendly who bring an abundance of platters for the starter - quite full just after this and no half portions for the kids!

We had 4 different mains so we could share with each other -again healthy portions and the veal was so big it almost fell off the plate! Dished up with a selection of sides - couscous; rice and very creamy potatoes. Desert was on the house,4 different plates of fruit mix which we again shared.

Full to the brim and all for under E100 with wine and round of drinks included.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilda J, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely comment.
It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Come back again and thank you.
best regards
Zilda and Ze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Authentic fantastic and querky restaurant. Tucked away in a place you would not first believe a restaurant exists.

When you arrive it's not your usual frontage, but do not let this put you off. Booking is highly recommended as its small and has a limited number of tables.

The food is divine, the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. This is one restaurant you should not miss on your visit to Portugal.

Absolutely excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CheshireMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilda J, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for the excellent comment.
Also we love to serve them in our Dining Room.
Are always welcome.
Best Regards.

Zilda and José
Zilda and José

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliveira Dourada also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Oliveira Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing