We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No better way to celebrate my 70th birthday with...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Vila Magica

Outlook of a stunning location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outlook of a stunning location
Main view of the villa, facing gardens For outdoor meals, enjoy a friendly large table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Outlook of a stunning location
Main view of the villa, facing gardens
For outdoor meals, enjoy a friendly large table
Modern and cosy entrance patio
The barbecue is just at hand, as well as the kitchen
Beautiful liaison of the Villa with gardens, pool and landscape
Flower framed view of pool and garden
Plenty of space to catch sun or shadow
The pool is great, with a shallow area for children
The magic light by late afternoon at the golf fairway, just facing Vila Magica.
Open the door to magical holidays
Homelike ambience, natural light everywhere
The working or reading table, with a relaxing view to the garden
The connection indoors-outdoors is really transparent
A view of the comfort zone of the living room
Elegant and top design at the indoors dining table
The mezzanine provides an extra area for a relaxing reading
Master bedroom, upper level
Bathroom ensuite to master bedroom
Double bedroom, at the ground level
Twin bedroom, ground level
Bathroom, garden level
At the lower level,  a double bedroom
Completed with a large sofa-bed.jpg
Just aside, the Kids Corner.jpg
Including comfortable seating.jpg
Space enough for playing.jpg
Kitchen, close to both outdoor and indoor tables
Kitchen, opening to the barbecue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Vilamoura, Quarteira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
MillarSan...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Villa not so Magica”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this villa and unfortunately it wasn't all that we had hoped. Firstly it was our error not realising that its only the main bedroom which has air conditioning, which in the height of summer heat was a massive problem. To be fair to the owner he did provide us with extra fans to try and ease the discomfort. The basement is badly lit and has poor ventilation, also it only has a hand held shower which is of very little use. There is no hanging space and only make shift tiny drawers in the basement. The kitchen whilst well equipped had a serious ant problem, getting into any packets of open food, and on the work surfaces. the living space is comfortable and was adequate for our numbers. The outside patio space was good but unfortunately the furniture was rickety and a little unstable. but the real problem here were the mice who ran across the patio in the evening making it unpleasant to sit out, we found one inside the villa one night. I have subsequently pointed this out to the owner who has insisted he will have the problem looked in to. The garden space was great for games with the children. Because it was a mature site there were lots of needles in the pool every morning which wouldn't have been a problem to clean if the net hadn't been broken. The view from the pool area over the golf course is lovely and its a very quiet location, its just unfortunate that the Villa didn't live up to expectation. A 3 star Villa at 5 Star prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the view onto the golf course
Liked least: Lack of air conditioning and the mice and ants
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Most of the critics, are reasonable and have been accepted and thanked for, perhaps they could have been balanced with the pleasant comments during the stay.
More bothering is the reference to mice, in fact “garden mice”. Because this is a typical species on gardens, difficult to extinguish, we regularly instal systems and products to keep them away. Apparently such procedures didn't result, in August, as we did learn from these guests information that they saw one. We very much regret it and decided to reinforce the protection system, even if this has been the only mouth visible for the last 5 or 6 years.
We believe guests are our best teachers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmfortune
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“No better way to celebrate my 70th birthday with my family”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the outset I was very impressed with the response to my initial contact with the owner Jose Velasco. He was very informative to the inquiries that I made and always replied to my e-mails promptly. On arrival at the villa,myself and my family were delighted with the Villa and it's surrounds. There was plenty of parking space and the garden was well tended and the swimming pool very clean. The villa was spacious and very comfortable for the 6 adults and 2 children that stayed there. The whole family got into a relaxed mode on the sunbeds around the pool area and the children had hours of fun swimming and splashing in the water. We found the area of Vilamoura's Old Town very friendly and the restaurants, bars and supermarket excellent. We did venture into the Town itself and explored the marina whilst my son and his wife took their children to the beach. It would be hard to single out one significant item of this holiday as the whole family said it was one of the best they had ever had and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a `Villa` experience with my family
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josied577
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa, Perfect Location!”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from a weeks holiday with my extended family in Vilamoura. The villa is absolutely beautiful, the garndens are huge and the pool is a great size. I spent most of the holiday floating around the pool on a lilo.

We got the upstairs bedroom, which is huge, with a mezzanine floor and an enormous bathroom.

The kitchen is a good size, and has all the plates, cups etc that you would ever need.

The best thing about the villa, apart from the space inside is probably the location. If you don't know Vilamoura, then this is a great place to be. It's about a 15 minute walk into the marina, or the tourist train stops right outside the villa, which for 2.5 euros will take you right into the marina.

You can also walk down the hill to the Old Village where there are a range of great restaurants and bars if you want a change of scenery.

All of my family loved the villa and Jose was excellent at keeping in touch and communicating with me before, during and after our arrival.

We will definitely be staying here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor in the villa
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wander257...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My parents, husband and our two boys (3 year old and the other only 3 months) visited Villa Magica in September for 10 nights.
I've rated this 4* as I believe it was good value for money due to the great location and beautiful garden. As you walk into the villa it did have the wow factor with a beautiful glass entrance hall with views of the garden and as you walk through to the lounge you're greeted with an outlook to the stunning garden/pool and golf course. However, it is fairly dated and the kitchen and ground floor bathroom could do with a bit of modernisation. The two ground floor bedrooms are fairly small and the double beds are also small, I personally, would not want to share one. But the bedroom in the basement and the other on the 1st floor are a very good size and both with an en-suit.
The garden is very peaceful and relaxing, we enjoyed many days out but I also thoroughly enjoyed staying at the villa by the pool. There is plenty of seating areas (although some chairs were a little wobbly), huge table located by the BBQ area with easy access to the kitchen, further seating in front of the lounge then of course sun loungers by the pool.
The villa is walking distance to the Marina (25 minutes) but we generally drove to the marina and beaches. However, the Old Village is stunning and only a 10-15 minute walk. There are no pavements but the roads are quiet and we felt very safe walking along the road even with the children and pushchair. We visited the old village most evenings and enjoyed some lovely meals.
One major point I would note for those travelling with young children is the stairs are very open with no bannister so a child could easily fall (or swing and jump like my 3 year old would attempt if he was given a chance). Because of this, we were not comfortable leaving my 3 year old on the ground floor by himself, so something to note if you are travelling with young children. Also obvious from the photos the pool is not protected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyMa...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute Magica!”
Reviewed December 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 6, mum, dad and four children between 5 and 11. We had a WONDERFUL time at Villa Magica earlier this year in every respect. This really is a "home from home" feel and not a plastic modern villa. The grounds were just great, loads of space for the kids to run around and a super pool at the end of the garden that backs onto the golf course. You really MUST get into the resort train (road going tractor with carriages really) which will stop directly outside the villa (if you flag it down) and take you to the marina / beach. There is plenty of space to catch the sun and also plenty of shade. You will have the phone number and Email address for the owner if you have any questions, he is a real gent, very helpful and very professional. The pictures are a true representation of what you will be getting. A great holiday in a great villa, thank you for letting us stay!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_H...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great villa, both indoor as outdoor!

Very spacious garden, nice patio’s to enjoy a BBQ or relax at night. But also from the inside the villa has something magical with a lot of artfully details. The owner Jose and the house manager Pedro are at your exposal 24/7 to help out if there should be an issue.

In one word: PERFECT!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan S
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“It is indeed a magic villa.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Quiet location, a bit far from the marina, so car is advised. You can also take the touristic road train, but it takes quite a while when going in the direction of the marina. The outdoor areas are simply fantastic! Most of the interior is great as well. Please note that one of the bedrooms is in an underground floor, with limited light and ventilation. Everything else was great, though!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing