We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa for a family holiday”

Review of Casa Grilo

Pool + Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool + Villa
Pool + Villa Pool + Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Pool + Villa
Pool + Villa
Pool + Villa
Villa
Outside area
Dining room (with air conditioning)
Dining area (with air conditioning)
Dining area (with air conditioning)
Living area (with air conditioning)
Bedroom 1 - With ensuite bathroom and air conditioning
Bathroom (Bedroom 1)
Bedroom 2 - With ensuite bathroom and air conditioning
Bathroom (Bedroom 2)
Bedroom 3 - With ensuite bathroom and air conditioning
Bedroom 3 - With ensuite bathroom and air conditioning
Bathroom (Bedroom 3)
Bedroom 4 - with air conditioning
Bedroom 5 - with air conditioning
Bathroom
Room with sofá bed with air conditioning (near kitchen)
Shower room (near kitchen)
Kitchen with air conditioning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Vilamoura, Quarteira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
felixniki...
fleet
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No hot water for 3 days, cockroaches and not as advertised. Absolute Con!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

That’s the only way to describe our experience of this place! On arrival we were expecting 6 bedrooms and 7 bathrooms – as the www.holidaylettings.co.uk advert stated. What we in fact found was 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. Oh yes, there was a 6th’room which they called a bedroom – it was in fact a Utility room with a wrought iron couch and set up ironing board and storage cupboard – it did have a shower and toilet and thus qualified as an en-suite the Portuguese owner argued! So having expected 6 bedrooms and 7 bathrooms, with 6 bedrooms en-suite – as the www.holidaylettings.co.uk advert stated, in fact what we found was: 5 bedrooms plus a converted Utility room, 6 bathrooms (if you include the shower and toilet attached to the Utility room). 3 en-suite bedrooms (not 6 as advertised!). Then let’s talk about the advertised air-conditioning – this was in fact 3(!) air-conditioning units on wheels which – we suppose – were supposed to be wheeled around the house and shared. Oh, and for these to work you need to leave the windows open so you can shove the pipe coming out of the air-con out the window in order for the unit to get air in from the outside in order to cool it. So you sleep with the windows open – the mosquitos had a lovely time! Then let’s talk about cleanliness. We arrived with an 11 month old baby who couldn’t wait to crawl around the house. Within 5 minutes her little feet and hands were like charcoal with dirt from the floor. A day later we realised why – the cleaners hardly clean the place and the one day we did see them cleaning, they were wiping the floors with an old manky mop and cold water – not even soapy cold water, just cold water. The cleanliness – or lack of - was highlighted further on our last day when we were surprised with 3 nice large cockroaches in the kitchen no doubt looking for some breakfast! Add to that 3 days without hot water – the plumber was called out on day 2 as apparently couldn’t come out on day one, assured us that we would have hot water by the evening, and (unsurprisingly) we didn’t. Back he came on day 3. Found 3 heating elements not working, the fuse to the main board had blown and the switch wasn’t working. Begs the question what he did on the first visit. And what did the owner have to say when we bitterly complained about the mis-advertising, et al – he says “Normally I only get complaints from Portuguese people so I’m surprised that, you being English, are complaining”. Bunch of con-artists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not as advertised, no hot water and cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2014
We have had a lot of guests who stayed in this house and a lot of them reserved it for the following year or recommended it to their friends!!!! We never had a complaint until now.
I am a well respected, serious and honest person.
The final comment from this guest: "Bunch of con artists", is without a doubt, the lowest kind of comment that shows us that we are not dealing with a serious and balanced person.
He is right about just one thing: The information printed on the upper grid was wrong because it mentions seven bathrooms when in reality there are only five.
But in the description of the house and in the related pictures, the stated number of bathrooms is correct.
When I took notice of this misinformation, I immediately requested a rectification, apologized and made an immediate 300-euro discount.
As the guest arrived in the house, he complained about the number of bathrooms (5 instead of 7) mentioned in the site.
He claimed to have chosen this house precisely because it was said to have 7 bathrooms which was an inconditional requirement. Therefore, he did not want to stay in it.
I informed him that I understood and apologized. I gave him two alternatives: Either he accepted a 300-euro discount for the misinformation, or he left the house getting a total refund. But he had to make up his mind in 2 hours.
He opted for the discount in spite of the house not having the inconditional seven bathrooms!
And the problem was not finding a suitable place with the same characteristics in the area, specially for these guests that are portuguese from Algarve area.
Regarding the lack of hot water, it was caused by a problem in the boiler. As soon as I became aware of it, I asked a technician to go to the site to solve the problem. (During one night the boiler worked with only three resistances). The folowing day, it was completely operational.
I remind you that in spite of the reservation having been made for nine people and that it was agreed upon that the bed sheets were to be changed only once a week, exceptionally for these guests, the bed sheets were changed several times during their stay since different people were getting in and out of the house. As an example, the couple who is complaining changed rooms three times during their stay.
Besides, I have to refer that with this guests, it was necessary to apply extra cleaning in all the rooms specially in the kitchen as the stove, the oven and the heating board were filthy and one of the refrigerators was left with such a tremendous stink that had to be cleaned three times with bleach.
This type of guest should not be recommended to any owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRW185
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely villa for a family holiday”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our party of 8 adults and 5 young children loved this villa. It is set in a peaceful location with lots of space for the children to play and a good sized pool. The double bedrooms are spacious and comfortable - 4 children slept in one double room to their great excitement. The marina and beach are a bit of a walk, but with a car, access to everything is very easy.
An ideal villa for a family holiday and we hope to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, spacious and secluded
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, Scotland United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and location
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed feel of being at the villa
Liked least: The box the key was not easy to see in the dark
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ana Paula...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Não.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iriszecev...
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATMA9180...
Brunoy, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing