We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and lovely proprietor”
Review of Golden Dragon

Golden Dragon
Ranked #92 of 194 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
manchester
2 reviews
“Great meal and lovely proprietor”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We visited the Golden Dragon during a short stay in Vilamoura in the middle of November 2012. We arrived very late (the last diners were leaving as we arrived) but were welcomed genially and seated at a table overlooking the marina. Being vegetarian, we asked a lot of questions are were reassured by a very well informed proprietor (in impeccable English). The house wine was excellent (unusually so) and our starter of vegetarian hot and sour soup was lovely. The mains also impressed and were very well prepared using locally grown Chinese and European ingredients - the freshness of produce was evident throughout. following the meal we engaged in extended conversation with the proprietor and left very late (feeling somewhat guilty that we'd delayed the repose of a very busy restaurateur but having enjoyed a very interesting conversation). Thanks to Lucy for the good food and the chat - a thoroughly recommended and very reasonably priced restaurant in a prime location at the side of the marina (just up a short flight of stairs above the ground floor shops).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lgcsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    20
    13
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Meal in Vilamoura”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

All previous reviewers were absolutely correct. This is a great restaurant in a fabulous spot. The food was first class along with the service. Thoroughly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food on marina - Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Great food and attention to detail with our order. Best food we had all week on the marina. Would definitely go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Now Golden Dragon - Great place to visit”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We decided to pay this restaurant a visit after reading some postive comments about it and was not disapointed one bit . It really is worth a visit..Don"t be fooled by its apperance or compactness,the people that run it are just superb and the best clearly family run .The staff were just briiliant,very helpful,polite,freiendlyand really work hard to make you welcome.
The food was hot and tasty with the service being quick and accurate with no problems at all .
The entire experience was relaxing and un-hurried .
We were very well treated and cannot commend this establishment enough - It really was a superb treat to find a place like this .
CONGRATULATIONS TO THE OWNERS - KEEP IT UP !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohneMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana Z, Owner at Golden Dragon, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We apologise for not thanking you earlier, we are still learning how to use this website and how to manage our reviews.

Once again, thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again next year! You are always very welcome!

Lucy Liu (The Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“renamed golden dragon”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

just back from vilamoura and we had dinner here three times the food is excellent and the staff are so warm and friendly they treat you like royalty. the prices are very reasonable we had starters main course a bottol of wine and coffee for 41 euro, dont be fooled by its exteriour this is a small family run place it is spotlessly clean even the tiolets, the bigger chinese resturants cannot hold a candle to this one for quality, price and value for money cannot wait to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julieoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana Z, Owner at Golden Dragon, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We apologise for not thanking you earlier, we are still learning how to use this website and how to manage our reviews.

Once again, thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again next year! You are always very welcome!

Lucy Liu (The Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing