We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average!”
Review of A Carpa

A Carpa
Ranked #18 of 194 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A real gem. Father and son run and it is where all the British Ex-Pats eat as excellent value for money.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very average!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went here after reading the great reviews posted on tripadvisor but came away somewhat bemused! A very average restaurant- reasonably priced but .....garlic mushrooms were literally a plate of mushrooms &garlic,tomato salad was a sliced up tomato with onion on top. Clams were 'delicious' and sea bass also popular but Portuguese steak was very disappointing. Number 2 restaurant in vilamoura!!!! Not for my money :(

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    54
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb service and food”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is superb in every way. Run out front by dad and 2 sons who are attentive and funny. This restaurant reminds me of my childhood holidays in Spain ( I am 43) the time when tourists where valued and made to feel special and welcome by restaurant owners.

The decor and feel is fairly basic but this adds to the charm and in fact is insignificant as the food and service far outweighs this

We ate here three times during our stay and it is advisable to book, it was full every night outside and inside

I highly recommend the mixed kebab for 2, it's huge and we struggled to finish it as you have rice, chips and salad with it and it's worth noting that the chips are home made, dry and delicious!!! Oh and during your meal they do come and ask if you would like more chips!!!

The menu is typical of the algarve, steaks, mixed kebab, fish, pork, something for everyone

A lovely touch at the end when you ask for you bill is being offered a drink on the house

It was a delight to feel welcome and valued and to have a laugh and joke with the owners, this rarely happened in some of the marina restaurants who because of location must feel they don't need to try due to the volume and churn of tourists

Also value for money, each time our bill was less than 50 euros for couvert two main, one dessert, one Irish coffee and a bottle of wine

We look forward to going back next year

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JNS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Cheap cheerful lovely owner and staff shame they cook the food too much soggy veg, overcooked meat could be fab as very reasonable and nothing too much trouble.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liland65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant & Staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were a group of 18. We ate at this restaurant 3 times during our holiday. We could not fault one single thing. The first night we sat outside and it was a little windy, the waiters did everything possible to make it comfortable for us, moving tables, umbrellas and promised the food would be quick, which it was. The food was quick every night, reasonable priced, massive portions, lots of fish dishes and veg. Perfect healthy food for the kids and us. Service was excellent, on our 3rd night we felt we knew the guys for years. A Carpa is a family run restaurant and they care and this is shown in there service and food. It is a must visit if you are visiting Vilamoura

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 319james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Been back time after time after time!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

A lovely little restaurant tucked away but very popular, we have visited each time we have been to vilamoura.

All food lovely and fresh and delicious even have home made chippies, booking is a must as locals and holiday makers soon fill the place up.

Please go highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Carpa also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to A Carpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing