We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVERLY FOOD............BUT!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa do Largo

Casa do Largo
Ranked #120 of 186 Restaurants in Vilamoura
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A fantastic menu with an excellent International Wine List is a "must visit" restaurant if you are in Vilamoura
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“LOVERLY FOOD............BUT!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

If I had read the reviews before we visited Casa do Largo, we would have given the place a miss. But we did eat there on 3 separate occasions.
All three times the food at lunch time was excellent. Plus the wine was probably the best I drank all holiday.
Now comes the painful part.
Nothing wrong with the first day we ate there and we looked forward to returning after having some decent service and great food.
The second time we sat down for lunch was a different matter. Again the food was great but the service can only be described as shambolic. The short haired Scottish lady served us who we thought must only be helping out for the day as she did not look as though she had a clue what to do or how to treat her customers. Rude and uninterested.
We were not going to eat there again if she was around, but how unlucky we were. We sat down and had lunch for the third time because we were convinced she was not around after seeing the charming young Scottish waitress serving.
OH NO I said to my wife as we were subjected to this women again. She appeared from nowhere to serve us. Glasses held under her arm, Dinner plates stacked on top of each other being served up to the table, all because two trips to the kitchen where out of the question. Menus thrown on the floor by where they were supposed to be stacked. If this person has anything to do with the business please move her 'upstairs' as she is damaging the well being and reputation of the restaurant.
Pick your days to eat carefully.....................

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filcrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    66
    49
    26
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went expecting a tapas restaurant and were disappointed to find an english cuisine restaurant but as we were there decided to give it a go. The outside area was lovely and a pleasure to dine in (despite being pestered for a few local cats.) All the adults decided to eat from the special deal which was €10 for a meal and a large wine or beer. The food and wine were both nice and my daughters children's meal was huge and she seemed to enjoy it. I also had a cocktail which was delicious! Two staff served us, one was a little abrupt and seemed a bit disinterested in us where as the other, although we could see was rushed off his feet was pleasant.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyed evening in lovely surroundings and for €90 for 5 adult mains, two childrens meals, soft drinks and 7 wines, one cocktail, two coffees and two desserts I think was good value for money!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BethFitzDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude and Ignorant Waitress”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Saw Casa Do Largo as we were walking round the Old Village and were so knocked out by it's setting that we booked a meal. The drinks, food and wine were all OK but the whole experience was spoiled by the blond Scottish waitress. I have never seen such a rude and ignorant person working in a restaurant. She said just two words to us all evening...."Starters" and "Mains". She did not ask us if we wanted wines...we had to call her back. There was no rose wine on the menu so I ordered white for my wife. As the waitress was writing this down my wife asked her if they has rose wine. She looked down at my wife for several seconds, then turned and walked away. We were so surprised we had to laugh. The male waiter was different again so they do know how to treat customers. The only place we ate all fortnight where we did not leave a tip. We will not return. Sorry Casa Do Largo.....you know who to blame !!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyref51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but service died off later in the evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent setting. The food was good with plenty of choice. The real down point was that the service deteriorated as the evening went on, with several people bringing goods to the table and having to be asked twice for stuff that was ordered

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taffinexile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“10 out of 10 - BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I first visited Casa do Largo, Old Town, Vilamoura for a romantic meal in July 2012 and have since been back 3 times! The food is out of this world with a huge variety to pick from (I recommend the steak!)
The staff - well - what can I say - they all bend over backwards to make sure you are happy with your table, food and drink! They couldnt have been any nicer! They are polite and always delivery with a smile!
I have visited Casa do Largo numerous times now, with friends and even back with the family and on every occasion have experienced all the above!
I recommend this restaurant so highly - I even had my wedding there this year (September 2013)
Definately a 10/10!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GillMorgan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Largo also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Casa do Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing