We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again!”
Review of Casa do Largo

Casa do Largo
Ranked #114 of 194 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A fantastic menu with an excellent International Wine List is a "must visit" restaurant if you are in Vilamoura
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Will go again!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Food is " nice"
Vegetarian options/choice fantastic!
Location/setting top notch
Service a little slow,long wait to order desserts and had to go to the bar ourselves as wasn't offered refills on drinks!
But will use again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bexalgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    70
    53
    28
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best meals of our holiday”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We found Casa do Largo from the Freemap towards the end of our holiday and went there for our last 3 evenings as we enjoyed the meals so much. The prices were on a par with restaurants around the marina but the food quality and setting were far better. We had several different choices and all were perfectly cooked and nicely presented. We were welcomed and recognised immediately on our 2nd and 3rd visit, and found the service to be good. The owner was very polite and he was interested in what we thought and what we had done. We loved the horse and carriage ride - a nice and clever touch - these belong to the owners, and the horse, Molly, looked content and far from over worked. Being honest, the service was slow on our third evening even though there were fewer guests, which was strange, and we had to ask for things more than once, but we still would return, and we definitely recommend this restaurant. A bit of feedback for the owners - please consider better, or even real, napkins - this would make a big difference.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crossfire3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice start to the evening”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My second visit to the Casa do Largo during my holiday . This we booked the Horse and Carriage before our meal,it was a nice start to a pleasant evening and it s free.You get a glass of champagne and a ride on the carriage ,our meal was lovely and would recommend a visit to anyone

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itsallpartofthedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“El Gecko the better option”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a reasonable experience in the El Gecko tapas part of this establishment. Food was good enough and reasonably priced.

The main place is superbly set with very comfy seating areas for drinks etc. However we agreed with other reviews about poor service and low quality.

Sometimes the service was so bad it was none existent and we gave up in desperation. As previously reviewed, there are no shortage of staff, it's just that they are poorly organised and not attentive. Reminders are often needed before requests are fulfilled.

It seems to be a place that thinks its better than it really is, just because it has an A List location.

One jug of sangria we had was awful. Tasted like it had been made with cheap lemonade and little alcohol.

None of the staff ever seem bothered enough to check if what they served was ok.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Only avarage”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited twice, once for afternoon drinks and once for an evening meal.
The drinks part wasn't too bad, a bit slow and the person who served us was unaware of what drinks that actually sold!!!
The meal was poor/average at best.. It took a while to be seated as they were quite busy (although not manic) There seemed to be lots of staff but no organisation and we could frequently here them trying to sort out orders and who doing what where etc. We ordered only starters as we weren't sure what it was going to be like and what a good decision. the starters were poor and we left to get a main meal elsewhere. By the time we left we could here a few others complaining .. Shame the setting is amazing, they just need to sort themselves out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOJONO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Largo also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Casa do Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing