We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome indian food”

Maharaja Indian Restaurant
Ranked #139 of 187 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: indian restaurant est.1984 traditional indian food.quality and simpaty is our visit card. first indian restaurant in portugal serving the best food.set menu for 15€, children menu available also some italian food as pizzas,pastas,steaks and salads.credit card welcome.take away. open every day for dinner 18:30 till 2:00a.m.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

this restaurant is not on the marina and is situated close to the olympus hotel just behind the marina. Dont let this put you off. The restaurant is clean and the staff are very friendly but the twist is the owners, a husband and wife team have ran the restaurant for over 20 years and the wife is the head chef.
Every dish that came out of the kitchen was like my mother who is indian had made it. all fresh and done to a very high standard.
would highly recommend this restaurant as it is a cut above the rest in vilamoura.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaileshsolanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have been going to this restaurant for many years now and have never been let down with either the food or service. Rahim the owner, works particularly hard to ensure that you want for nothing and Mr and Mrs Hassamo(his mother and father) ably backs him up in the delivery of an excellent service.
The quality and diversity of the food is superb and if there is an Indian dish you like but is not on the menu just ask (give them warning though) and they will gladly make it for you. The restaurant is just behind the marina in the walkway of the Olympus hotel and is well worth a visit and is not expensive having pegged back their prices for the past couple of years. If you like Indian food then give it a try, it is well worth a visit and I am sure you will return again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“curryholic heavan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Hi went here on a recommendation, I live near Bradford so know what is good curry,
delicious starter then main course -fantastic prawn curry,chicken and spinich (extra fresh coriander) keema bhuna and chicken tikka masala and rice chappatis plus drinks bill 60 euro for 4 people which is cheap in vilamoira! tasty for all palates as in not too hot but will spice up on request ,no harbour view as under a hotel but enjoy your food and then wander 5 mins to harbour

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We unfortunately visited this restaurant on the last night of our holiday or we would certainly have gone again!! Service and friendliness of staff is great, almost felt like we were sat in the owners own house!! Food is very tasty and portions sizes are very large. I ordered a prawn cocktail starter and was advised by the owner 'it was not like in England but cooked and served warm', I decided to stick with it and try it and wasnot disappointed at all. All in all good food and good value for money.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris99912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
1 review
“excellent restaurant with wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I like a lot of Indian food, and this restaurant for me is a great restaurant.
It provides an environment typically Indian due to their decor with warm colors.
The employees are very friendly and fun. The food is fantastic ... very tasty and homemade.

is the only Indian restaurant where you can eat real Indian food in Vilamoura.
If you like Indian food Experiment no regrets.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnyshaSultanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Indian Restaurant also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Maharaja Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing