We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,760)
Filter reviews
2,760 results
Traveler rating
1,408
888
295
100
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,408
888
295
100
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspirate shipside sea viewglass bathroompool areastar hotellovely hoteljunior suitetea and coffeehalf boardplenty of choiceper dayshort walk to the marinabreakfast and dinnersun loungerssteam roomnespresso machinepool towels
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 2,760 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a week in January , overall a pleasant stay , friendly staff , good breakfast .
Room was a good size with balcony but only one seat ?? Requested another but apparently there were no free seats in a half empty Hotel ?

Minor gripes beds not greatly comfortable they have not heard of toppers yet.
Towels were a bit thread bare and tough

A good stay would return

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Weldge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for review. It is very rewarding to receive our guests recognition. Looking forward to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

Five night break to get away from the cold Of the UK and detox after the Christmas binges. Second time visit after a wonderful break in February 2016. Location excellent as on the beach and a nice10 mins walk to the marina for the many bars shops and restaurants. Booked superior room but upgraded on arrival to a deluxe sea view on the fifth floor with wonderful views if the beach, sea and town. Room really comfortable with the quirky see through bathroom and shower. Fortunately found the switch to lower the courtesy screen but a great idea of letting in lots of light. Disappointed that the pool was empty due to repairs and the area sectioned off in case we fell(?) into an empty pool. We ignored the tapes on the entrance and lazed on the sun beds around the pool. The breeze in February can be a bit chilly but being next to the wall is in a sun trap and was really nice. Bar staff are very friendly and nothing seems to be any trouble. Good evening singing duo on the first night (sat) even helping me learn how to play eagles hit - Hotel California on the electric guitar WOW!! As it was out of season the hotel was quiet but just what we wanted. Breakfasts aren't cheap (18euros) but fabulous choice. Watch out for the tiny birds around the pool who are never to be seen until snacks or food appear and the squads descend. Not a real problem- in fact quite cute. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank johnthom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and posting such an enthusiastic review about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura. We hope to see you again at our hotel. Kindest regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Crowne Plaza in Vilamoura and we found it very relaxing and s good place to chill out.

Unfortunately, the outdoor pool was closed due to maintenance on this trip, which was a shame, as it is a very pleasant sun trap, but the hotel has a terrace overlooking the beach, as well as a small pool and adventure playground for children, and the hotel is right next to the beach.

The rooms are fabulous too, by the way, we were upgraded to a deluxe sea view, which really enhances the experience no end.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SuzeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. Would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our pool is now open again. It is very rewarding to receive our guests recognition. Looking forward to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2017

Fairly typical standard Crowne Plaza.
We stayed in January, and the weather was surprisingly good. We could even be comfortable sitting on the balcony (we had a side sea view) when the sun was shining. As others have mentioned though we only had one chair on the balcony, which seems rather odd. The chair itself was low and comfortable with a low table, and not the patio furniture type I'd been expecting.
The much mentioned coffee pod was another slight bugbear, although I was prepared for that having read other reviews. We stayed for 5 nights, and only getting two free pods for that lenth of time, with two people sharing a room seems quite bizarre. One free cup each for our stay, and €2 per pod after that. To be honest I would have had a better opinion, if I had not had the nespresso machine in the room at all.
Other things to watch out for - our room had a full size bath with a shower over. The bath was quite deep and some people might find it a stretch to get their leg over! The seating in the communal area was quite low. I mention both of these things because I can see that the hotel would be very attractive to older travellers.
Final criticism - whilst the bed was firm, I found it ok to sleep on, but my pillows were like a foam brick - not good at all.
Having said all of that, there were also many positives.
The staff were a delight throughout - all helpful, smiling and courteous.
The breakfast buffet was good. Not the biggest selection, but the food was fresh. Items were constantly refreshed, and the staff took great care to ensure that it was kept tidy and appealing. In the evening there was no buffet, maybe because it was low season. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times, but thought the food we had elsewhere to have the edge.
During our visit it was very quiet, and this suited us, but I can imagine the height of summer would be very different.
The hotel has a great location. It was our first time in Vilamoura and we were impressed with the Marina and long promenade, all of which are very accessible. Whilst we didn't use the beach, it looked beautiful and was literally outside the front of the hotel - no road to cross.
We also didn't find time to use the indoor pool, but we did go and view it and were very impressed with how it looked.
GIven that it is a resort hotel the rate per night will vary tremendously depending on the time of year. We paid just €100 per night for a room with breakfast booked on a fully flexible basis.
Although some people have expressed some disappointment at have to pay €11 per person per day to use the indoor pool and spa, I thought it was a good idea to have a separate charge. It kept our room rate down, and when we were there also gave some exclusivity to the pool. If we had chosen to swim when we went to view it we would have been the only people in it.
We came away feeling really quite impressed with the hotel and Vilamoura, and look forward to paying a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the sea get sun all day long. If you spend a lot of time on the balcony it would be worth spending a bit more for it
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank whiskerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and posting such an enthusiastic review about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura. We hope to see you again at our hotel. Kindest regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this 5 star hotel, but there were aspects of the curate's egg.

Pleasant accommodation, good view from our 4th floor balcony room and very quiet. We had asked for a 'high floor', but January is low season so the management were only using the bottom four floors (out of 11).

Food. Generally excellent. Fine breakfast choices albeit not a patch on the Hilton just outside Dubrovnik's city walls. Both are 5 star hotels, but the Hilton is truly outstanding.

We tend to avoid dining in restaurants situated in hotels, but used this one twice when the weather was inclement. On both occasions had a lovely mushroom risotto. First class service and pleasant ambience.

Shower and bathroom. Surprised to find all facilities in a glass box. Unless you like watching each other shower, there is an electrically operated blind. However, this still leaves the shower and loo together. So the loo is effectively out of bounds whilst someone is taking a shower.

Hygiene. On arrival our loo was a bit smelly - in January the room was not overly hot. Housekeeping did not seem able to sort this out so we bought loo cleaner from the supermercado.

Reading. Unless you bring a Kindle with you there is nowhere in the hotel where the lighting is bright enough to read by. All the lights seem to be eco-friendly / green / save the polar bears. Another trip to the supermercado sourced 100w (remember them ?), screw in bulbs. Problem solved. And we'll take our bulbs home with us for the next dim hotel room.

Scales. Surely no one weighs themselves whilst on holiday ? However bathroom scales may be useful for weighing your cases prior to flying home.

Dining out. The Crowne Plaza is very well situated for walking into the Vilamoura Marina. Trip Advisor would suggest you have a choice of 185 eateries ! It was low season, but we were surprised to be chatted up by restaurant staff hoping to lure you to their establishments. We also had to run the gauntlet of the local hookers looking for bored golfers. Not something we're used to.

Our favourites were Il Trio and Julius - both visited twice (see separate reviews).

Health & Safety. Why is there a step part way along the base of the shower ? Without your glasses on (who showers in glasses ?) you could easily trip over this.

The emergency alarm cord needs to be longer. If you did fall in the shower you would not be able to summon help.

We're all slim. Well we need to be. There is very little room between the loo and the glass screen separating you from the bathroom.

The staff were lovely and most helpful. Makes such a difference.

You select hotels on the basis of facilities, so in a 5 star hotel you should not want for much. I'm a regular swimmer, but as a hotel guest I was expected to pay e11 for EACH visit to the pool ! Totally unacceptable. At least the wifi was free (unlike the Dubrovnik Hilton).

Why do hotels put beige carpets in heavily used corridors ? The one on the 4th floor was looking very sorry for itself.

But nice to have iMacs in reception to check your emails. A nice touch.

Hayling Seagoon

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Glyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Dear Guest, It is really gratifying to read such enthusiastic review about our hotel and staff. Your comments will certainly motivate our team. We would also like to thank you for your review as we take reviews very serious for future improvement. Thank you so much for your preference. We all look forward to welcome you again soon at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura. Best regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews