We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not 5 star but a high 4 plus, the location makes up for this, fab room with great view, I would eat out as the food is cheap in the local cafes and resturant
We have stayed here twice and there will be a third time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolberryhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
I am really glad toi read that this is your second time at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and there will be a third.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    752
    252
    86
    50
See reviews for
526
1,124
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great location, nice modern room, good view over the ocean. Breakfast included which was nice and saved going out.
Only real negative was the sunbed situation. People reserving them from 10pm the night before ! Greedy guests reserving 2,3 sometimes 4 beanbags each and then not bothering to use them. Surely a hotel of this rating can stack up and lock the sunbeds / bags until the pool opens in the morning and have notes out saying 1 per person, etc.
We didnt let this spoil our holiday but should be rectified if the hotel wants people to return

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the ocean - something like room x18 upwards is closer to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Steve,
It is very rewarding to receive our guests recognition.
Thank you so much for taking your time and write your review regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Regarding the issue mentioned I would like to inform that the hotel have already acquire more sunbeds.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just returned from crown plaza today. Yes this hotel is nice not 5 star at all more like 4 star. This is not a hotel for couples this is a hotel for family's with young children who like to run riot around the hotel late into the night. The food is fine if you like salad and food that is Luke warm. There is hardly any variety and very bland taste. Staff are very pleasant and rooms are spacious. If you fancy hot food at breakfast be prepared to wait at least 20 mins for your omelet to be cooked at a rate of one at a time with a queue of 3 or more. The sun bed issue in most of the reviews is spot on. I know Germany won the World Cup but they excell at scoring with the sunbeds around the pool area. The bean bags on the grass area are fine if the family with 2kids and 8 bags stacked 2 high each will give one up to you after a bit of a moan. Very comfy indeed !!!
Ps beware you will find yourself drifting towards the marina for some great food when you realise that you cannot bear the same bland food night after night

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skibuff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Skibuff2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the amenities of the hotel. We are also sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I came back from The Crowne Plaza Vilamoura last month but wanted to wait for a few weeks to write a review as I was so angry when I returned, and in all fairness to the hotel it was the bar staff that completely spoilt this stay and the desk staff not following up with us after we complained. We stayed in this hotel, which is beautiful, for 4 nights from 27th May...we then went off to stay in a friends villa. We choose this hotel for a little bit of luxury and good service and good food. The room was spotless and very quirky with the walls of the bathroom being glass......you need to know the person sharing with you very well!!! But there was a privacy blind ...phew!! The balcony was huge with a side sea view, but this was lovely as it looked out to part of the pool, the sea, the old town and the mountains. ..only one chair on the balcony though which is strange...We were half board and I must say whilst there was nothing at all wrong with the food it was a bit samey and we were glad that we only had 4 nights of the hotels fare. Now to my cause for complaint.....SERVICE..or in particular one very rude and objectionable barmaid and guest services not coming back to us on this. We were sitting in the downstairs bar enjoying lunchtime drinks and jugs of rose sangria (highly recommended) After a few hours we decided we would go up to our room at the tenth floor and have a drink on our balcony and get ready for the evening . My husband politely asked if we could have a plastic glass of ice to take upstairs. The bar server scowled at us and rudely asked "where is your ice bucket" it was of course ten floors up as we had been out then come back to the hotel for lunch and drinks. My husband said we did not have it and she snapped " I will do it this time but next time bring the ice bucket!!!!" My husband sheepishly walked away, as he is a placid man, however once we had got back to the room he thought about it and started to get angry at being spoken to in this manner. He went back to the bar and asked the barmaid why she had done this and she went on to say how much the plastic glasses cost and that if they did this for everyone where would the hotel be.....she was rude and then started speaking in portuguese/spanish with a colleague. She did not apologise but was rude all over again ....stressing guest need ice buckets for ice....perhaps we should strap them to our backs. We complained to reception and was assured we would be contacted by a manager as no one was available at the time and in the end we checked out very unhappy customers......its such a shame that staff have let this hotel down

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DebandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear DebandFrank,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. Please accept our sincerest apology you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the service you received. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just returned from what felt like an upper class pontins resort hotel, if your lucky enough to be an early riser at least 7am to get a pool side sunbed, you'll be amongst the screaming children, balls of all kinds in the pool! Inflatable rings, boats, turtles, full size dolphins and the obligatory killer whale for the child with everything!!! there are good notes! food ok! 3 out of 5. Hopefully you'll like fish though?
Staff helpful and friendly apart from head barman who was very rude when I asked for a cup of ice, I was told you must purchase a drink first, really!!! It's a cup of ice!!! Please come on... Not all negative , room excellent, staff great. Good facilities. Overall a 3 star plus hotel, not 5 star. The casino/night club located next door/opposite kicks the local riff raff out at 5am that hang around on the car park opposite! Shouting, swearing and wheel spinning in their cars, until removed by the police! Don't expect much sleep on Fridays and Saturdays if opposite/overlooking the casino!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrvilamoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mrvilamoura,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic holiday in Vilamoura staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel which was immaculate. Fantastic hotel. Warm welcome from the helpful staff upon arriving and continued throughout our stay. Hotel room was fabulous, beautiful interior with incredible views out to sea/marina. Would definitely stay again. Only gripe, if I had to reference one was the sun-beds around the pool which were reserved from the crack of dawn. I even set my alarm for 7am only to find they were all taken when I got down there however there were plenty beanbags to chose from as an alternative. Will definitely be returning...fabulous!!

Room Tip: We requested a room on the higher floors with a sea view overlooking the marina and were not disappo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Jack,
It is very gratifying to receive our guests recognition. I am really glad to read that you had a fantastic holidays at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Thank you so much for taking your time and write your review regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from holiday there today and I have to say, the last five days were great. We booked this hotel early this year and did'nt know what to expect, but after reading the reviews, we definatley thought it was a good choice made. The hotel for me had everything. My 7 year old son enjoyed the kids club and was happy to play with the other kids and also with the staff members. There is a Peter Pen pirate ship there for the kids to play on and also a small pool. There was also a gym and table tennis facilities on the lower ground. The room which we stayed in overlooked the beach and had fantasic views form the 8th floor. The breakfast buffet was great and as a holiday, we couldn't have asked for more.

Two negetive aspects of the hotel which has been mentioned in previous posts, the sun loungers and the fatboys. The hotel seriously need to think about allowing people to get to the pool early, "booking there sunbeds or fatboys with there towel" and then heading back indoors to have there breakfast and then come back out later. This should'nt happen at all. The hotel should have a system, where people shouldn't be allowed to do this at all and everyone as the opportunity to sit on a lounger or fatboy. Some people would leave there towels on the lounger or fat boy and not return for 3-4 hours which is unfair on others. The 2nd negative thing was going to reception and getting the towels for the beach and then taking them back afterwards. Wouldn't it would better to have a towel bank??

The location of the hotel was a short walk to the marina, which had numerous restaurants and bars. We ate there on 3 ocassions The Luis Figo bar (ex Portugal football player) was busy on Sunday night due to the world cup, but the atmosphere in there was great. There are different types of restaurants such as Indian, Italian, Chinese and even Mcdonalds and Pizza Hut. The bars are a mixture of local and quite a few Irish bars too! Overall the marina was a very nice place to eat or just to have a walk round as there is a Hugo Boss, Lacoste and Gant shop for those who fancy a bit of shopping. On our last night we ate the Purobeach restaurant and Lounge bar. The service, attention to detail and the presentation of the food was 1st class. It was pricey, but it was worth every penny.

Overall, a great hotel and would recommend to families and couples

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Herbie J,
Thank you so much for your review posted on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that your stay with us encountered your expectations apart from the issues mentioned that need some improvement.
We at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura are looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing