We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but needs to work on its 5 star status.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just back from a week at the Crown Plaza, warmly welcomed on arrival and quickly taken to our room.

Very nice room and loved the quirky glass walls in the shower. View from the balcony was fabulous, however only one seat (had to take it in turns to sit down).

We were Bed & Breakfast and would say that it was excellent with plenty of choice, found the staff to be pleasant and helpful (a few attempted words of Portuguese made all the difference).

As all before have mentioned the Sunbeds at the pool are a bit of a nuisance, but the Management have a system of removing towels, which the boys at the pool try to manage to the best of their ability. This was alleviated towards the end of the week when 100 new beds were laid out on the grassed area beside the "Fat Boys" which allowed more people to make use of that area.

One point that may sound a bit off, we have stayed in a number of 5 star hotels in different countries and it was obvious that this Hotel does not have a dress code.

Generally where we have stayed, adults passing through the bar / reception areas from the pool covered up. Not here however as large, overweight, oiled bodies could regularly be found passing through these areas and even standing at the bar drinking.

This does not promote a feeling of a top class hotel, more a cheap package holiday venue.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the Ocean. Even numbered rooms get the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIB-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for your attention and time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. Believe us that all the constructive comments that we receive are very important for us and do helps in improve our services.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel infrastructures and facilities, apart from the issues mentioned.
May we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We do keep returning to this hotel as there is so much about it we do like and hope against hope that the negatives will have improved as the complaints are always the same. The positives, hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The quality and variety of food at breakfast is very good indeed. Rooms are lovely and very well furnished. Reception and pool staff are very friendly and efficient. The negatives are indeed the lack of sun beds at the pool and some of these now need replaced with broken beds and coverless umbrellas and dirty and threadbare mattresses. Pool staff this year were being more vigilant as to whether towels were being left on beds but then not used until later in day and new beds were put on the grassed area which is great. The cats are still there and are so thin and mangy looking it is bit of a put off. Still just one seat on the balcony and coffee machine supplied with no cups or coffee, can't understand this at all. There was an improvement in the attitude of some dining room staff at breakfast, the girl who saw us to our table in the morning was very pleasant and made time for the children. Kevin is by far one of the great waiters, he is pleasant and acknowledges you are there but getting coffee or tea at breakfast is still a nightmare. If you sit outside you are served with a cup of coffee or tea from a pot but the waiters cannot constantly see when this needs replenished, for goodness sake give customers a pot of coffee or tea and take their order as they sit down. A lot of the waiters though do not even acknowledge you and look as if they don't want to be there. It was noticeable this year the amount of cracked crockery there was, particularly the cups, not hygienic to have guests drinking from cracked cups and not what is expected from a supposed 5 star hotel. We do think perhaps we may have to give up and look for an alternative hotel next year as we don't think this will ever reach 5 star so will try either the Lake Resort or the Tivolli, such a pity but after three visits it is obviously not going to improve

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that this was your third time with us. Our clients feedback is very important for us and do helps us on reaching higher standards.
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your last stay and we do welcome any opportunity to improve.
Hope to have the change to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Crown Plaza. Excellent hotel, room was fantastic, we had a junior suite which was well worth the extra money, large lounge, enormous bed plus large flat screen tv, large shower room with glass screen with electric blind which was fun, plus you got to eat a quiet breakfast over looking the pool, staff were always helpful, room was cleaned everyday with new towels, there was also some negative comments about the lack of sun beds, well on our last day i looked out to see 100 additional beds replacing some of the old grubby looking red bean bags so that is a big improvement. The Breakfast was fine and totally adequate for our needs, plenty of choice we had champagne every morning..

Location is also perfect, right on the beach plus a few minutes walk to the marina with all its lovely restaurants, we ate somewhere different every night and never had a bad meal, try them all!

Room Tip: Do choose a junior suite if you can afford it, rooms amazing plus you get a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p10bla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments about the hotel facilities and staff.
We are very pleased to know that your stay with us encountered your expectations.
We at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura are looking forward to welcome you back again.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, room clean spacious with fridge etc, decor modern. Outside area, fabulous big pool with lovely decked area. However all loungers at pool can be ruled out after 7.30am, not ideal if you have a kid who wants to be in the pool much of the day, there is a vast grassy area with loungers and giant beanbags, some don't like them but they are very comfortable, but you can't see pool from this area, backs onto sandy beach and minutes from the marina. Staff helpful and friendly. Pool snack bar overpriced and not great. Kids club and play park suitable for younger kids, very little here for my ten year old, a pay as you go playstation 2 and pool table pay when you finish(very expensive) or table tennis paid by the half hour. The breakfast Is good plenty of fresh fruit, cereal, continental Faye, omelette to order and fried items, can't complain although getting tea can be tricky. Would I return, as a couple definitely, as a family no unless with small kids, spa you pay extra even to use pool, not the norm when you pay for the hotel

Room Tip: We have side sea view, lovely, great for Couples or young families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwilliams15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions.
We do welcome any opportunity to improve.
Hope to have the change to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

You'll see the majority of the reviews previously refer to the lack of sunbeds and some people not particularly partial the to the Fat Boys (large bean bags) well hey presto about 60 new sun loungers appeared on the grass area of the Crowne Plaza on 27th June so you see Management do listen.

I've just returned from a 10 day stay at the Crowne Plaza and this trip being my 5th stay at the hotel - not only have management listened about the sun loungers but they listened before as over the past 5 years little changes have been made year on year and it is improving all the time.

This hotel I really like; it's central, modern, clean, good facilities, very pleasant and helpful staff, REALLY comfortable beds. Ok I know what some people are referring to about the staff in the restaurant but you know what it's a resort hotel with in excess of 300 rooms and say two people per room well that's 600 people for breakfast over a couple of hours - have a little patience. If you stay in a Suite you get to have breakfast outside in the Seafront area and it's just so relaxing out there - worth the little extra.

Go to stay at the Crowne Plaza in Vilamoura, you'll be pleased with the hotel and treat yourself to a Suite - I can't wait to return, again.

Room Tip: Stay in a Suite, "coz you're worth it" - there's little perks to this extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dublin6Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the hotel staff, facilities and services. Our guests comments and suggestions are really important for us and helps us to improve our services.
It’s very rewarding to receive our guests recognition. Also would like to thank you for your preference as this was your 5th visit to our hotel.
We do look forward to welcome you back soon at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night break at the Crown Plaza Vilamoura, this hotel is beautiful would highly recommend it to anyone, we upgraded our room to a junior suite it was beautiful very modern and you get a sea view. The pool area is fantastic decking all round the pool and rattan sun loungers to sunbathe on so comfy, the pool is Hugh!! , we liked the fact that there is a 1 hour sun bed reserve policy so made it fair for everyone. The location of the hotel is fantastic only 10 minute walk to the marina where there is restaurants and bars, there is so many restaurants to pick from all with lovely views. I would recommend My Thai restaurant we ate there twice as food was that good, also prime steakhouse was lovely if you fancy a steak. We will definitely be returning to Vilamoura and staying at Crown Plaza again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Ashlet M,
Thank you so much for sharing your opinion regarding our hotel facilities and services.
Looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Staying about 10 days here in Vilamoura - here's the good the bad and the ugly on the hotel:

Good - location. So close to the marina, walking distance of about 5 to 10 minutes at a strolling pace. The hotel is also situated right on the beach so you can choose either pool or lovely sandy beach depending on which you prefer. We also liked the bean bags tho I read a lot of people do not. Indeed the sun loungers at the pool are snagged very early but it's always possible to get a bean bag and umbrella. Even if they look totally occupied the pool guys do a good job of patrolling and will find you one by reallocating it from someone else who has abandoned theirs. Another plus in this hotel is the rooms - we are on the top floor (11) and have a suite which means the room is split level. Small sitting room below and bedroom upstairs. Two bathrooms and very very quiet, I would definitely recommend these rooms.
And now for the less positive - customer service is shocking. You are made to feel unwelcome and almost like an irritation to the staff. This is most obvious in the restaurant. Some examples: Because we had a suite room we could use the outside restaurant for breakfast which I supposed to open daily at 08.30. The few times I was there at 08.30 the staff are still strolling/standing around arranging it and acting annoyed because you're standing waiting for it to open. It's usually 08.40 before it's open. Not a problem if you're on holiday and not worried about time but irritating if you're on a schedule to catch a flight. Once it is open it's a masterpiece in inefficient, ineffective and downright rude service. Usually there are at least 3 staff members standing around chatting or doing nothing, paying no attention and certainly not checking if guests need tea or coffee etc. If you finally grab their attention or walk to them to ask they grunt or nod in a dismissive way, seeming annoyed that you've interrupted their important task of standing around idle. Stranger still is that they sometimes then spring into life and within a few minutes you have a few of them at your table trying to clear your plates when you are still eating from them.
There's an omelette bar - nice idea but don't bother. It's mega slow and I was treated again like an annoyance because I asked for the egg to be very well cooked (can't have raw eggs). First the woman didn't understand (a large number of staff speak little or no English, or at least pretend not to to avoid serving guests perhaps). When it became clear what I was asking for I was met with dirty looks and grunts. This is the general approach to guests at the bar and restaurant (exception being the small pool bar where the young lads and pool attendants were very helpful).
Regarding the food - that is also not 5 star. We ate at the poolside restaurant a few times as it's so convenient. Mistake. Food selection is ok, service poor as before, and food quality lacking. One occasion we ordered breaded fish for a child - had to send it back as it was still frozen in the middle. Another time I ordered a burger and kindly stressed many times to have it very well cooked. It came out rare so I sent it back. 3 guys sitting near us all sent their food back as it came out stone cold. Bizarre, the restaurant ( and thus kitchen) is not even usually busy. Oh, and did I mention the cats - there are mangy looking cats all around the restaurant. 2 even had a big fight under my table at breakfast.
I could go on with listing examples of why this place is not 5 star. I have to conclude that all of this stems back to how the hotel is managed as it's not isolated incidents but the general status quo. Such a pity that with this great location that management don't sort things out to make the place great and give people an experience to remember. Will try the Hilton or Four Seasons instead if we come back.

Room Tip: Take a top floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jlikestravel199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Jlikestravel199,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $96 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing