We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night break . Lovely hotel , located by seafront and about 10 minutes walk to marina or 10 minutes walk the other way to quartera. Pool area very nice , breakfast choice and service very good ,, all in all a very nice place for a relaxing break . Marina area very clean and plenty of restaurants and bars ,, also went on local bus to albufeira , takes about half hour and costs around 4 euros

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank garry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Garry,
I am glad to read that you had a relaxing break at our hotel.
Also would like to thank you for sharing your experience.
Looking foward to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,524 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have just returned from a great stay at this hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location set on the beach front and only a 5 minute walk from the main Marina in Vilamoura where the restaurants, bars and shops are located. Upon checkin we were checked-in efficiently and professionally minutes later we were in our room which was very modern and comfortable with a view of the harbour and beach. Free wifi, bottles of water and tea and coffee in the room, very large bed and very quiet, perfect for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a huge buffet with every choice you could image and the bar at night was great with a good atmosphere and happy hour. The restaurant had many choices for evening dinner, with a buffet or A la carte on offer. Very good hotel would recommend to anyone wanting a stay on the Algarve.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bydand75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and services.
It is rewarding to know that all our efforts achieved the guest’s expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura once more.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Modern and nice but the staff wasn't friendly at all. Reception should pay more attention to the guests and less to their computers. At breakfast we always had to ask for coffee. The rooms were very nice, clean and the ladies working there were also very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melima2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Melima2014,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Crowne Plaza for nine nights in early February 2014, the weather was not great but the hotel more than made up for it. Starting with breakfast, what a choice, what a diversity and the staff were ever so helpful and attentive.The hotel location is superb, with fantastic seaviews whatever the weather, the rooms are spacious and relaxing and the staff catered promptely and politely for every request made.You could say nothing is overlooked but the sea with free car parking and PCs provided for the internet.This is a five star hotel with good management and staff, who cater 100% for their guests and we shall return as it was a truly great experience. John

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear John,
Thank you for your enthusiastic review.
It is a pleasure to find out that we exceed your expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you once more at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura Hotel.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Here now. Beautiful hotel in superb location. Good choice for breakfast. Lovely pool area with extremely long pool for the serious swimmers. Now for minus points: only nespresso coffee machine in room and if you want the pods you have to buy them! Asked for some tea and bag with 2 tea bags and 2 milks arrived so not enough for one in afternoon and one next morning! So bring your own tea & coffee - and a travel kettle! My husband asked for a softer pillow and had to chase after 4 hours. Air conditioning doesn't work so had the window open tonight and have never stayed in such a noisy 5* hotel. Our room is overlooking the casino next door and at 4.30 am there are people shouting, car alarms going off and horns being beeped. Would suggest asking for room on other side. Although a mini bar is shown on website, I wouldn't consider 2 small bottles of water a mini bar!! You also have to pay to use indoor pool and sauna - something which in the uk is free for guests. Would I stay here again? Think I would look at alternative options. If you do stay here there is an amazing restaurant called Colombo - go to end of drive, turn right, up on left in about 100 yds. Fairly expensive but they know about good food and service.

Stayed: March 2014
6  Thank Carole096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Carole,
Thank you for taking your time to post your opinion.
We would like to thank for your comments, it will help us to develop and improve our services in the future.
Your comments will be discussed internally and we will do all efforts to solve the negative points.
Please note that the mini bar can be filled as per request. Also would like to clarify that you have to pay for the use of the spa facilities wich includes swimming pool, vitality pool, hammam, saunda and relaxation rooms.
We expected to have another opportunity to welcome you and to show the improvements made.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel last September and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, the room, the restaurant the staff excellent and the location brilliant. We are now looking to a return next summer but we have an issue with the Pool and the Fat Boys. As many blogs have said all sunbeds were draped with towels by 8am and the only option was the 'Fatboys' on the field behind the pool area, the problem was that they were saturated every morning - it didn't rain at all during our holiday - and it took several hours to dry them out EVERY morning. Apparently the sprinklers were on early every morning to water the grass. It didn't take rocket science to sort this out, but all complaints were made to no avail.This problem and the shortage of sunbeds around the pool area is a deal braker for us need to be sorted for the summer.

Maybe the General Manager can reply to this blog and reassure everyone who had the problems

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rolyatevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to post your review.
I am really glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday.
All the comments that we received are very important for us and do help us to develop our service standards.
The issue regarding the sunbeds and the fat boys is being discussed internally in order to find a better solution for next high season.
Could we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A beautiful hotel located right on the beach. Rooms were great with plenty of space and a good sized balcony. Lovely bathroom but beware the glass walls all around, there is a blind to put down on the shower window!
We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was really good quality buffet-style with plenty of choice. Definitely a meal to look forward to! The pool area was lovely but as we stayed in Dec we didn't venture in..even tho the weather was sunny for our entire stay!
The harbour area is in easy walking distance...about 10/15 mins..where there is a good selection of bars and restaurants. Although a lot (more than half) were closed during our stay and seemed to shut for Dec/Jan. There is a casino next door but with a €5 min bet when we called in we didn't stay long!
I would definitely stay in this relaxing hotel again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Helen D,
Thank you very much for taking your time to post your review.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay with us and that you are thinking to come back again.
Looking foward to welcome you once more at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $97 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing