We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,760)
Filter reviews
2,760 results
Traveler rating
1,408
888
295
100
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,408
888
295
100
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspirate shipside sea viewglass bathroompool areastar hotellovely hoteljunior suitetea and coffeehalf boardplenty of choiceper dayshort walk to the marinabreakfast and dinnersun loungerssteam roomnespresso machinepool towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,519 - 1,524 of 2,760 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Here now. Beautiful hotel in superb location. Good choice for breakfast. Lovely pool area with extremely long pool for the serious swimmers. Now for minus points: only nespresso coffee machine in room and if you want the pods you have to buy them! Asked for some tea and bag with 2 tea bags and 2 milks arrived so not enough for one in afternoon and one next morning! So bring your own tea & coffee - and a travel kettle! My husband asked for a softer pillow and had to chase after 4 hours. Air conditioning doesn't work so had the window open tonight and have never stayed in such a noisy 5* hotel. Our room is overlooking the casino next door and at 4.30 am there are people shouting, car alarms going off and horns being beeped. Would suggest asking for room on other side. Although a mini bar is shown on website, I wouldn't consider 2 small bottles of water a mini bar!! You also have to pay to use indoor pool and sauna - something which in the uk is free for guests. Would I stay here again? Think I would look at alternative options. If you do stay here there is an amazing restaurant called Colombo - go to end of drive, turn right, up on left in about 100 yds. Fairly expensive but they know about good food and service.

Stayed: March 2014
6  Thank Carole096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Carole,
Thank you for taking your time to post your opinion.
We would like to thank for your comments, it will help us to develop and improve our services in the future.
Your comments will be discussed internally and we will do all efforts to solve the negative points.
Please note that the mini bar can be filled as per request. Also would like to clarify that you have to pay for the use of the spa facilities wich includes swimming pool, vitality pool, hammam, saunda and relaxation rooms.
We expected to have another opportunity to welcome you and to show the improvements made.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel last September and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, the room, the restaurant the staff excellent and the location brilliant. We are now looking to a return next summer but we have an issue with the Pool and the Fat Boys. As many blogs have said all sunbeds were draped with towels by 8am and the only option was the 'Fatboys' on the field behind the pool area, the problem was that they were saturated every morning - it didn't rain at all during our holiday - and it took several hours to dry them out EVERY morning. Apparently the sprinklers were on early every morning to water the grass. It didn't take rocket science to sort this out, but all complaints were made to no avail.This problem and the shortage of sunbeds around the pool area is a deal braker for us need to be sorted for the summer.

Maybe the General Manager can reply to this blog and reassure everyone who had the problems

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rolyatevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to post your review.
I am really glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday.
All the comments that we received are very important for us and do help us to develop our service standards.
The issue regarding the sunbeds and the fat boys is being discussed internally in order to find a better solution for next high season.
Could we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A beautiful hotel located right on the beach. Rooms were great with plenty of space and a good sized balcony. Lovely bathroom but beware the glass walls all around, there is a blind to put down on the shower window!
We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was really good quality buffet-style with plenty of choice. Definitely a meal to look forward to! The pool area was lovely but as we stayed in Dec we didn't venture in..even tho the weather was sunny for our entire stay!
The harbour area is in easy walking distance...about 10/15 mins..where there is a good selection of bars and restaurants. Although a lot (more than half) were closed during our stay and seemed to shut for Dec/Jan. There is a casino next door but with a €5 min bet when we called in we didn't stay long!
I would definitely stay in this relaxing hotel again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Helen D,
Thank you very much for taking your time to post your review.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay with us and that you are thinking to come back again.
Looking foward to welcome you once more at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stylish- the stand out feature was that the bathrooms/showers have a glass wall connecting to the bedroom. I suppose this is attractive for loved up couples!!! (There is a blind if you wish for some privacy).
Good sized pool. Plenty of pool-side beds and a grass area of bean-bags/ towels to sunbathe on. 1 min walk to the beach. BY the casino, and a 3-4 min walk to the beautiful marina.
Only thing I didn't like is that there wasn't a traditional mini-bar in the room. There was a empty fridge... but you needed to order a snack/drink selection of items.

Would definitely stay here again. Pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank live4u4ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to post your review.
All the comments that we received are very important for us and do help us to develop our service standards.
The issue regarding the mini bar is being discussed internally in order to improve our services.
Looking forward to receive your visit again at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night mid of Feb,The room over looked the casino and sea.
We were upgraded as my hubby stays in these hotels alot with his work in the UK.
The room was clean also quiet.The bathroom with the glass wall looking into the bedroom was differant untill we found the blind.
The breakfast is the same in all crown plaza hotels every thing you need for the start of the day.
When we left, The Hotel phoned us we had only left flight tickets, euros ,sterling etc in the safe,
Every thing was at the front desk waiting for us.
A BIG THANK YOU to you and your staff,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Duckpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for taking your time and share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Also I glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews