We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Relaxing, Friendly & definitely 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect! Relaxing, Friendly & definitely 5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We've been to the Crowneplaza Vilamoura twice this year. Can't say enough good things about it. In fact this time we stayed at the Hilton & actually extended our holiday so we could spend a couple of days at this hotel (it's far superior to the Hilton). We were upgraded by the manager & had the most incredible junior suite with a full frontal sea view. Incredible! (last time we had a side-sea view - which was absolutely lovely. No complaints at all.)

My fiance & I work in the entertainment business, and lead busy social lives. We tend to go away for complete relaxation, exercise & general well-being. We like to go back home recharged & ready to go. This is certainly the place for that!

If you want a relaxing break - like to walk on the beach, enjoy a drink over-looking the sea, enjoy a GOOD Spa (10 Euros = worth every penny! If they gave free access to all the hotel guests it would be too packed!) & very good gym (techno-gym running machines - equipment & space much better than most hotels in Portugal/ Spain) then this is your place!

I don't understand the food reviews. There is PLENTY of variety with the food & breakfasts - & we are picky. One of us is vegetarian.

The staff were unbelievably friendly & helpful. All I can say is if you are decent & polite to people, that's what you get back!

We loved it so much we didn't want to leave. We are already planning our trip back after Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateLondon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Kate,
We are delighted to know that this is your second time in our hotel this year and that your experience at our Hotel was splendid and you were able to enjoy all of the Hotel facilities.
Thank you for your enthusiastic review about the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura after Christmas.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    752
    252
    86
    50
See reviews for
526
1,122
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Booked this hotel for one night as travelling through the area. Booked the 'Romantic' offer for just under £100. Fantastic deal. Gave us junior suite overlooking the sea with a massive balcony. Flowers, fruit and cava delivered to room on arrival. Three course meal brought to room. Breakfast included. Given the price of restaurants in the area, this deal was equivalent to a free room, Excellent hotel with secure parking and free WiFi with our room though I believe you have to pay in other rooms. Only negative, as mentioned in other reviews, no 'egg man' for breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for such great feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our romantic package.
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel in 1985 when it was name "Hotel Atlantis" (pronounced Atlantish". It was a very special hotel then and when I was in Vilamoura in October this year, I looked in at the hotel and it is slighty better than it was back in 1985. There is now the Marina close by, and the some of the rooms of the hotel look over to it, which is beautiful area. I just love Portugal so my perception of the place may be somewhat biased. I just cant help it. The Algarve, and Vilamoura in particular, is now my first choice destination for all of my holidays. It is my first choice as anywhere else pails into insignificance. Viva Vilamoura and all of the Algarve. The only bad thing about it is I always have to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Atlantic/Med Oceans have the best views and seem the best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artytheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura for your recent stay at Vilamoura - Algarve. I am glad to read that your really enjoyed all the refurbishment done.
Looking forward to welcome you soon at our hotel and maybe become your first choice for you holidays.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great hotel with helpful staff
Very nice clean rooms and quiet
great location=5 minutes walk into the marina. In a quiet location.
Close to the beach with a large grassed area for sun bathing
food very good
plenty of parking nearby if you want to drive or hire a car
not many trips available-best one being the zoo
plenty of excellent golf courses very close

Room Tip: overlook the pools or the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Martin D,
Thank you so much for taking your time and give us such great feedback regarding our hotel and facilities.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Firstly this was our honeymoon and i had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to say so and could we have a nice room, when we arrived and checked in the lady on reception was very enthusiastic untill she offered us an upgrade (not the free kind) when we declined she quickly dismissed us of too our room. When we reached the room we discovered that we had actually been given a TWIN room!! (very romantic!) when the porter arrived with the bags i asked him if he could get someone to come and put the beds together to make a double bed, but no-one arrived and i did it myself, however the housekeepers the next day had obviously saw what i had done and then changed the beds properly, this was the ONLY time our sheets were changed in our weeks stay. The room however was lovely and the view of the beach fantastic!! Optional extras were WIFI in the rooms and better TV (all at a cost!!) we had to pay for coffee in the rooms, which i was taken aback by!
The bar area and restaurant were a lovely environment but the free wifi was only available in this area, not accesible from the restaurant or even the outdoor pool, which i class as public areas! you were not allowed to take coffee or food out of the restaurant so if yuo wanted to use the internet with a coffee you had to buy another from the bar (3eoro!)
One day of our holiday was pretty rainy, so thought we might check out the indoor pool, however on finding out you had to pay an extra 15 euro per person to use the pool we decided against it, so off you the bar and a game of pool instead! but again you will pay roughly 9 euro an hour for this privellege!
for the price we paid and a 5 star hotel i thought a lot of this would have been included in the price.

Housekeeping not the best, room was sparkiling when we first got into the room but was not maintained throughout our stay, with hair on the bathroom floor there for several days and balcony not swept, just felt like all they did was make the bed and change the bins, a glass of flat cola sat in our room for 4 days with mould eventually fprming on the top of it!!
all in all a nice hotel but very dissapointed with the "extras"

Room Tip: Bring your credit card you will need it to get any decent service in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariannemaclennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Marianne Maclennan
First of all I would like to apology for the beds misunderstanding as you informed us that it was your honeymoon fortunately that was solved the day after.
Also would like to thank you for your comments regarding the hotel facilities. All comments are taken very seriously and would definitely help us improving your services.
May we have another opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Traveled as a mother and daughter for 1 week and requested a disabled friendly room , we had a good start with our bags being brought to reception but they were not brought to our room :-( we were requested to pay €80.00 deposit for pool towels ( I have never before asked to pay so much and we were told so many people steal our towels) the room was to a good standard with good beds and plenty of space but sadly as with almost all of the seating in the hotel it's VERY LOW not suitable for someone with comprised mobility :-( be bathroom was fitted out to a good standard BUT no anti slip on shower floor. The poll was great joy to use with great sun loungers, also a beautiful covered outdoor area . The food was to say the least hit and miss ( not 5 star standard) but you definitely love the fruit. To sum up I would stay again but on a B&B basis ONLY ( loads for restaurants to explore and most reasonable price)

Room Tip: We stayed in 707 and enjoyed the old marina view without the noise of the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d214ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Apart from the small issues I am glad to read that you would like to stay again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and you really enjoyed the hotel facilities.
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

As already mentioned this is a great short break hotel.
If you after a sun fix away from the uk for a couple of days its perfect. Its not just about golf.

Its been recently decorated as i believe previously it wasnt a crown plaza hotel. It is a high tasteful standard.

We had'nt been to Portugal before and so was all trial and error. So was a winter holiday.
We realised tour operators do not fly to faro in the wintertime. So we had to go it alone .
We had to arrange Monarch flights from Manchester which my daughter sorted i was worried about booking the wrong day and messing it up.
I did book the hotel alone and also the transfer taxi to the hotel . I cheated as i had seen yellowfish transfers .com mentioned lots of times when i did my hotel homework on the tripvadvisor site . Everyone kept mentioning them and saying they were good so i stole the suggestion , they were actually excellent and very punctual.
Vilamoura is small so it doesn't take long to no your way around it. Everything you want is on the doorstep, beach, bars,marina,casino and it isn't a long trip from the airport which is a bonus.
We visited a market one of the days, whilst there wasn't much there it had a nice atmosphere.

Restaurants are good and a nice unrowdy atmosphere in the bars.

This is a perfect location for a short winter break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Mary J,
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura for your recent short break at the Algarve.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,795 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing