We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5star by any means”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Traveled as a mother and daughter for 1 week and requested a disabled friendly room , we had a good start with our bags being brought to reception but they were not brought to our room :-( we were requested to pay €80.00 deposit for pool towels ( I have never before asked to pay so much and we were told so many people steal our towels) the room was to a good standard with good beds and plenty of space but sadly as with almost all of the seating in the hotel it's VERY LOW not suitable for someone with comprised mobility :-( be bathroom was fitted out to a good standard BUT no anti slip on shower floor. The poll was great joy to use with great sun loungers, also a beautiful covered outdoor area . The food was to say the least hit and miss ( not 5 star standard) but you definitely love the fruit. To sum up I would stay again but on a B&B basis ONLY ( loads for restaurants to explore and most reasonable price)

Room Tip: We stayed in 707 and enjoyed the old marina view without the noise of the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d214ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Apart from the small issues I am glad to read that you would like to stay again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and you really enjoyed the hotel facilities.
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,687 - 1,693 of 2,523 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

As already mentioned this is a great short break hotel.
If you after a sun fix away from the uk for a couple of days its perfect. Its not just about golf.

Its been recently decorated as i believe previously it wasnt a crown plaza hotel. It is a high tasteful standard.

We had'nt been to Portugal before and so was all trial and error. So was a winter holiday.
We realised tour operators do not fly to faro in the wintertime. So we had to go it alone .
We had to arrange Monarch flights from Manchester which my daughter sorted i was worried about booking the wrong day and messing it up.
I did book the hotel alone and also the transfer taxi to the hotel . I cheated as i had seen yellowfish transfers .com mentioned lots of times when i did my hotel homework on the tripvadvisor site . Everyone kept mentioning them and saying they were good so i stole the suggestion , they were actually excellent and very punctual.
Vilamoura is small so it doesn't take long to no your way around it. Everything you want is on the doorstep, beach, bars,marina,casino and it isn't a long trip from the airport which is a bonus.
We visited a market one of the days, whilst there wasn't much there it had a nice atmosphere.

Restaurants are good and a nice unrowdy atmosphere in the bars.

This is a perfect location for a short winter break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Mary J,
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura for your recent short break at the Algarve.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from a week golfing in Vilamoura having stayed at Crowne Plaza 5*. We normally stay at Vila Gale Marina 4* but decided on a change.

Our Room was on the sixth floor and had a partial sea view.

Liked:
- Luxurious bedrooms with large comfortable beds.
- Luxurious bathrooms with powerful shower and peculiar glass walls.
- Provision of: Free safety deposit box, fridge, bathrobes, weighing scales (?), flat-screen tv, large quiet ceiling fan, complimentary water.
- Lovely South African lady that shuttled us to and from the golf courses.
- Helpful reception staff (although slightly curious about purpose of so many staff inside front door).

Disliked:
- Refill dispensers used for the one product which served as bodywash / shampoo / soap and no other toiletries provided - not even a basic shower cap.
- No complimentary pens, no alarm-call facility on telephone (yes - very minor whinges)
- Hotel entertainment - well, not very entertaining and bar lacked atmosphere.
- Hotel prices - e.g. €7 for small baileys.
- Breakfast - help yourself from the large bowls provided of very unappetising jams / marmalade / yoghurt / butter.
- Mosquitoes - lots of annoying bites and a night’s sleep lost probably caused by us leaving the balcony door open and not closing the screen provided - can't really blame the hotel here.

All said, we did enjoy our stay at the Crowne Plaza and most probably will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dejavu000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your golfing break and would like to thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
We are aware that there is still room for improvement and do rest assure that we will keep on the good work to achive higher standards.
Hope to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we stayed 10 nights in october i booked the romantic package was well worth the money we stayed on the 10th floor what views fruit and champagne and flowers on arrivial food great and service,s great room big free water every day fresh towels to pool area excellent and the large beanbags on the grass area

Room Tip: rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Mark,
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura for your wife's birthday.
It is very rewarding to receive our guests recognition.
Looking forward to welcome you both again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have never complained about a hotel before: We took this hotel to celebrate a special anniversary, the disappointment started when we checked in, the staff were cold and unhelpful. the room was beautiful, except after 4 days I stripped the bed to make them change the sheets.There was no tea or coffee there was a machine but to get a cup we had to pay 5 euros,
no obvious hotel information about services or dining times. we later discovered through exploring the tV it was online there!!! would have been helpful to be told this. The weather was beautiful so one morning we saw people eating breakfast outside, when I asked if we could sit outside we were told "no only people staying at the front of the hotel could eat there....very disappointing and made me feel like i was the wrong class or unworthy . food wasn't bad average but very little variation so got boring and we went out for dinner local restaurants very good pleasant and helpful, no access to the spa without paying 30 euros per day...so would never feel I would want to go back as it fell flat no atmosphere and while some of the staff were lovely others had a terrible attitude

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theharperfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to clarify that all guests are very important for us, any guest is unworthy. Also the price for a cup of coffee in the room is €2 and the use of the spa facilities is €15 per day per person.
Could we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October, a couple of minor issues with the room, there was no tea making facilities and the air conditioning was non-existant, we ended up sleeping with the patio door open.
But apart from that the staff were friendly, we had a breakfast only and that was excellent, had many varieties of food on offer.
The whole hotel was clean, pool area eas excellent and there were plenty of staff to serve you.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
certainly had a 5star feel about the place and will return

Room Tip: upgrade if you can the front view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitbygeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank for taking your time and gives us such kind feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and also regarding your recommendations.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

spent a lovely week at crown plaza earlier in october.although we were asked to upgrade we didnt.our room was lovely on 8th floor with a fantastic view of quarteria.the balconys are large and private.breakfast was lovely good choice of cereal,breads meat,cheese,boiled,scrambled eggs.bacon and sausage not nice..if you do upgrade you can have smoked salmon,omlettes ect which i think is very unfair,i have stayed in many 5* hotels that include everything for the price.the other moan i have is not being able to take your own drinks in your room to enjoy on the balcony before you go out.we had to sneek it in and then sneek the empties out.on the whole we really enjoyed ourselves the hotel is in a perfect position for the marina and quarteria.the pool area is lovely.we had perfect weather for october.hope you enjoy it as much as us.

Room Tip: higher rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackpoolRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for posting such kind feedback regarding your week stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura,
We do look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,363 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $97 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing